MozillaZine

Changes in Firefox 57

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20429
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted March 2nd, 2017, 5:53 pm

I'd better recuse myself from this thread, before I make it even more off-topic. :)
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38786
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted March 2nd, 2017, 11:09 pm

Hi rebop,
You asked...
Have not looked at Maxthon in many years. Has anyone here?


I have it installed but have not used it much.
Navigating around is a tad strange, but it seems to function O.K.
Why not just try it out?
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

rebop
 
Posts: 21
Joined: February 1st, 2015, 2:47 pm

Post Posted March 3rd, 2017, 4:44 am

LIMPET235 wrote:Hi rebop,

I have it installed but have not used it much.
Navigating around is a tad strange, but it seems to function O.K.
Why not just try it out?


Time. And I have just installed, configured and uninstalled three other browsers :)

Once upon a long time ago I was a Beta tester for Maxthon. I should go have another look.

~Bob

Virtual_ManPL

User avatar
 
Posts: 2002
Joined: July 24th, 2008, 5:52 am

Post Posted March 3rd, 2017, 4:59 am

Nice reading about Maxthon is here - “I will be very surprised if this comes to light”, viz uninstall Maxthon ( It's in Polish language, so translate it to yours by translator ;) )
or you could also read official report from here - https://exatel.pl/advisory/maxthonreporten.pdf

tl;dr - using Maxthon isn't safe

rebop
 
Posts: 21
Joined: February 1st, 2015, 2:47 pm

Post Posted March 3rd, 2017, 9:57 am

WOW! Thanks for that and saving me a lot of time and angst.

~Bob

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38786
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted March 3rd, 2017, 11:08 am

As I mentioned, I rarely used Maxthon, maybe twice, plus it was the Portable, zipped version.
Now gone to the Knacker's Yard.
Ta muchly for the heads-up.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

GHM113

User avatar
 
Posts: 691
Joined: December 16th, 2015, 3:59 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post Posted March 6th, 2017, 2:17 am

Mozilla has just audited Tab Mix Plus in order to figure out what part of it functionality is possible to implement using WebExtensions. I won't even comment anything, just open the attachment to this comment and enjoy :lol:
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1333837#c9
Sorry for my poor English.

juliusCaesar
 
Posts: 9
Joined: February 11th, 2015, 9:34 am

Post Posted March 10th, 2017, 4:58 pm

GHM113 wrote:Mozilla has just audited Tab Mix Plus in order to figure out what part of it functionality is possible to implement using WebExtensions. I won't even comment anything, just open the attachment to this comment and enjoy :lol:
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1333837#c9


Ah very nice. :lol:
Mozilla is shooting itself in the foot here. Can't really understand why they would make this switch without providing similar functionality through webextensions. Too bad, I like firefox as it is right now but it seems I'll have to start looking for something else.

rebop
 
Posts: 21
Joined: February 1st, 2015, 2:47 pm

Post Posted March 10th, 2017, 5:51 pm

Let us know what you find. I'm in the same spot.

Mouse5
 
Posts: 1330
Joined: April 11th, 2014, 7:34 pm
Location: Sydney Australia

Post Posted March 10th, 2017, 6:06 pm

rebop wrote:Let us know what you find. I'm in the same spot.

no need to worry just yet, just use Firefox 52 ESR Branch , you wont need to worry bout it till 59 or do what Frank Lion is doing for the last 2 years, just use Seamonley

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9540
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted March 10th, 2017, 6:15 pm

That's Firefox DMW, :P no point prolonging the agony, cancer requires immediate treatment.
#KeepFightingMichael

Mouse5
 
Posts: 1330
Joined: April 11th, 2014, 7:34 pm
Location: Sydney Australia

Post Posted March 10th, 2017, 6:25 pm

mightyglydd wrote:That's Firefox DMW, :P no point prolonging the agony, cancer requires immediate treatment.

im looking at Ditchiing Firefox Soon myself for a Linux only Browser ( Epiphany 3.24 ) i can see what the Devs of that Browser are doing. i think you'll see Linux Distro's may make that Browser the Default Browser if/when firefox takes a Dive

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9540
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted March 10th, 2017, 6:38 pm

FWIW, Slimjet's rather addictive IMIO, it's a greyhound fast, (Vivaldi is a slug (here) in comparison) somewhat customizable, has some neat features and uses waaaaaay less memory than any other browser I'm trying.
Works great on my Puppy Linux 'stick in wallet' OS's too.
See if your distro has it. I got mine from the great Pup Forum, they have a some real human beings over there.
#KeepFightingMichael

Mouse5
 
Posts: 1330
Joined: April 11th, 2014, 7:34 pm
Location: Sydney Australia

Post Posted March 10th, 2017, 6:56 pm

mightyglydd wrote:FWIW, Slimjet's rather addictive IMIO, it's a greyhound fast, (Vivaldi is a slug (here) in comparison) somewhat customizable, has some neat features and uses waaaaaay less memory than any other browser I'm trying.
Works great on my Puppy Linux 'stick in wallet' OS's too.
See if your distro has it. I got mine from the great Pup Forum, they have a some real human beings over there.

just looked an i didnt see it. looks like from the Feature list, it uses Chromium Base ?

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9540
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted March 10th, 2017, 7:03 pm

-Arch- wrote: it uses Chromium Base ?

FAQ's. https://www.slimjet.com/en/faq.php
#KeepFightingMichael

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: SLK350 and 2 guests