e10/multiprocess mode grayed out in Firefox Dev

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
Post Reply
CaptainFrosty
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: January 17th, 2017, 11:54 am

e10/multiprocess mode grayed out in Firefox Dev

Post by CaptainFrosty »

I'm using Firefox Developer Edition and I'm wondering why I can't enable the e10 mode. I've tried force disabling accessibility. My only guess is that my addons aren't compatible with it. I use quite a few privacy-oriented ones (uBlock, HTTPS Everywhere, BetterPrivacy). Is there a way to tell which addon is causing the issue without going through and disabling them one by one? Any info would be appreciated.
morat
Posts: 6432
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Re: e10/multiprocess mode grayed out in Firefox Dev

Post by morat »

You can check the multiprocessCompatible flags with scratchpad in browser environment.

Instructions:

* open about:config
* set devtools.chrome.enabled to true
* tools > web developer > scratchpad
* environment > browser
* edit > paste (i.e. copy and paste code snippet)
* execute > run

Code: Select all

AddonManager.getAddonsByTypes(["extension"], function (aAddons) {
  var list = [];
  aAddons.forEach(function (aAddon) {
    if (aAddon.hidden == false) {
      list.push(aAddon.name + ", E10 compatible: " +
        (aAddon.multiprocessCompatible ? "Yes" : "No"));
    }
  });
  alert(list.join("\n"));
});
As an example:
DOM Inspector, E10 compatible: No
Greasemonkey, E10 compatible: Yes
UAControl, E10 compatible: No
Tab Mix Plus, E10 compatible: Yes
Custom Buttons, E10 compatible: No
Stylish, E10 compatible: Yes
DN123ABC
Posts: 695
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Re: e10/multiprocess mode grayed out in Firefox Dev

Post by DN123ABC »

Tried this and get:

/*
Exception: ReferenceError: AddonManager is not defined
@Scratchpad/1:1:1
*/
morat
Posts: 6432
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Re: e10/multiprocess mode grayed out in Firefox Dev

Post by morat »

You are running in the content environment, not the browser environment.

http://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs ... er_context

Instructions:

1. open about:config
2. set devtools.chrome.enabled to true
3. tools > web developer > scratchpad
4. environment > browser
5. edit > paste (i.e. copy and paste code snippet)
6. execute > run

Did you forget steps 1, 2 and 4?
Kenny D
Posts: 11
Joined: January 12th, 2017, 9:34 pm

Re: e10/multiprocess mode grayed out in Firefox Dev

Post by Kenny D »

This addon by Mozilla tells you whether your addons are compatible with e10s or not.

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... er/?src=ss
Post Reply