MozillaZine


Beta / Open non-e10s window

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
joeg

User avatar
 
Posts: 2619
Joined: October 10th, 2003, 12:37 pm
Location: How can you be in two places at once, when you're not anywhere at all?

Post Posted March 29th, 2017, 4:19 am

Under "File" in the menu bar, Nightly offers the option "Open non-e10s window". Beta doesn't.

Is there a way to open a non-e10s window in Beta besides disabling e10s?

Thanks.
Although every day is Judgment Day, I nonetheless feel like a room without a roof.

Alice0775
 
Posts: 2769
Joined: October 26th, 2007, 11:25 pm

Post Posted March 29th, 2017, 5:08 am

Execute the following command from Browser Console.
Code: Select all
OpenBrowserWindow({remote: false});

joeg

User avatar
 
Posts: 2619
Joined: October 10th, 2003, 12:37 pm
Location: How can you be in two places at once, when you're not anywhere at all?

Post Posted March 29th, 2017, 6:02 am

Alice0775 wrote:Execute the following command from Browser Console.
Code: Select all
OpenBrowserWindow({remote: false});
Thank you very much, but for some weird reason, there's no place to enter the command.
Image

And I've just discovered something else: With e10s turned off, my Fx won't open a local image file!!!! #-o :( :shock:
Although every day is Judgment Day, I nonetheless feel like a room without a roof.

Alice0775
 
Posts: 2769
Joined: October 26th, 2007, 11:25 pm

Post Posted March 29th, 2017, 6:33 am

set devtools.chrome.enabled = true in about:config

joeg

User avatar
 
Posts: 2619
Joined: October 10th, 2003, 12:37 pm
Location: How can you be in two places at once, when you're not anywhere at all?

Post Posted March 29th, 2017, 6:50 am

Alice0775 wrote:set devtools.chrome.enabled = true in about:config
Thanks very much.

It works - but I have to confess that I could think of easier ways to get things done.

Does anyone have an idea if / when the item that's now in Nightly (File -> Open non-e10s window) will be added to Beta and eventually to the releases?

Thanks again for your help, Alice.
Although every day is Judgment Day, I nonetheless feel like a room without a roof.

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 4680
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted March 29th, 2017, 6:56 am

AFAIK it's not going to be added to Beta or eventually to the release.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

joeg

User avatar
 
Posts: 2619
Joined: October 10th, 2003, 12:37 pm
Location: How can you be in two places at once, when you're not anywhere at all?

Post Posted March 29th, 2017, 6:58 am

WaltS48 wrote:AFAIK it's not going to be added to Beta or eventually to the release.
OK, thanks.
Although every day is Judgment Day, I nonetheless feel like a room without a roof.

GHM113

User avatar
 
Posts: 698
Joined: December 16th, 2015, 3:59 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post Posted March 30th, 2017, 12:32 am

Interesting info about WebRender from someone who seems to be a Firefox dev:
https://www.reddit.com/r/rust/comments/ ... re_is_how/
Don't expect great performance at this point. The approach we are taking is to start with doing all of the rendering in gecko, then copy the rendered content in an image and pass it to webrender, which is extremely slow. Then, we integrate each rendering feature (sold color, borders, gradients, text, etc.) one after the other so that it is rendered in WebRender instead of Gecko. This means that as long as we haven't converted the majority of these items, we go through this unbearably slow process of copying a lot of pixels around.

That said, the migration of the various display item types to be processed by WebRender instead of Gecko is advancing at a good pace.


WaltS48 wrote:Update: I just asked on IRC and was informed that 53.0b7 for desktop hasn't been released yet.
Yes, I know it can be found at the link Josa posted in the first post.
I will be clicking Help > About Firefox every 5 seconds until I get the update.

I understand you very well. That's me when I come home and Nightly update is not available: http://i.imgur.com/iYrfCzd.gif
Sorry for my poor English.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests