MozillaZine

The first official 20170909 builds are out

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
flaneurb
 
Posts: 605
Joined: December 10th, 2011, 3:50 am

Post Posted September 9th, 2017, 7:06 pm

bjherbison wrote:... Clicking the gear in the upper right and unchecking Highlights would seem to be a simpler and more reliable approach.

True :)

ashleylai87
 
Posts: 130
Joined: December 13th, 2013, 7:40 pm

Post Posted September 9th, 2017, 8:18 pm

The Highlight seems to be....very creepy...is there no way permanently hide it with no "gear" appearing? I don't want someone to check the menu inside the "gear" and view my top sites for pete sake!!

All I want is blank new tab and blank home, is that really hard to implement, mozilla?

Sigh.......

flaneurb
 
Posts: 605
Joined: December 10th, 2011, 3:50 am

Post Posted September 9th, 2017, 8:56 pm

It may not be a good idea to allow unsupervised access to one's computer. I'm not sure that Mozilla needs to take such things into account.

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 10430
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted September 9th, 2017, 8:56 pm

in about:config > Try browser.newtab.url > about:blank for the new tab
the other can be set in your home page settings dropdown
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is you never know if they are genuine" ...Abraham Lincoln

Edds

User avatar
 
Posts: 321
Joined: July 21st, 2010, 1:13 pm
Location: SVK

Post Posted September 9th, 2017, 11:48 pm

SLK350 wrote:Something weird is going on with my bookmarks toolbar. Just noticed that when it's full of bookmarks it becomes taller. If I remove a bookmark and not using the entire width it's more narrow. If you know what I mean.

perhaps https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1389966
Filed month ago, already has 5 duplicates, but still no activity... don't know why it is a P4
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8 Ghz + Noctua NH-D15 | 16GB DDR4 3200Mhz Corsair | MSI Z370 GAMING PRO CARBON | MSI GTX 1080 GAMING X @ 2.1/11.0Ghz
Toshiba DT 2TB | Samsung 850 EVO 500GB | Super Flower 650W GOLD 90+ | W10 x64 Pro v1709 | Fractal Define R4 Black | DELL U2515H 1440p
Phone: LG G4 Android 6.0

flaneurb
 
Posts: 605
Joined: December 10th, 2011, 3:50 am

Post Posted September 10th, 2017, 12:12 am

JayhawksRock wrote:in about:config > Try browser.newtab.url > about:blank for the new tab...

browser.newtab.url doesn't appear for me in Fx 57's about:config.

Mouse5
 
Posts: 1322
Joined: April 11th, 2014, 7:34 pm
Location: Sydney Australia

Post Posted September 10th, 2017, 12:24 am

Edds wrote:
SLK350 wrote:Something weird is going on with my bookmarks toolbar. Just noticed that when it's full of bookmarks it becomes taller. If I remove a bookmark and not using the entire width it's more narrow. If you know what I mean.

perhaps https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1389966
Filed month ago, already has 5 duplicates, but still no activity... don't know why it is a P4

they wont fix that before 57 is released, IMO its not a priority Bug to fix, as long as they fix it before the next ESR thats ok

ashleylai87
 
Posts: 130
Joined: December 13th, 2013, 7:40 pm

Post Posted September 10th, 2017, 12:25 am

JayhawksRock wrote:in about:config > Try browser.newtab.url > about:blank for the new tab
the other can be set in your home page settings dropdown


flaneurb wrote:
JayhawksRock wrote:in about:config > Try browser.newtab.url > about:blank for the new tab...

browser.newtab.url doesn't appear for me in Fx 57's about:config.


Because that preference was removed in Firefox 41.
Otherwise, I wouldn't complain.
In the past, I use CTR extension to restore blank tab behaviour, but upcoming FF57 will cause CTR to stop working.

Mouse5
 
Posts: 1322
Joined: April 11th, 2014, 7:34 pm
Location: Sydney Australia

Post Posted September 10th, 2017, 12:27 am

ashleylai87 wrote:
JayhawksRock wrote:in about:config > Try browser.newtab.url > about:blank for the new tab
the other can be set in your home page settings dropdown


flaneurb wrote:
JayhawksRock wrote:in about:config > Try browser.newtab.url > about:blank for the new tab...

browser.newtab.url doesn't appear for me in Fx 57's about:config.


Because that preference was removed in Firefox 41.
Otherwise, I wouldn't complain.
In the past, I use CTR extension to restore blank tab behaviour, but upcoming FF57 will cause CTR to stop working.

just Add that string/booleen if its gone

The Tinsmith
 
Posts: 707
Joined: December 24th, 2011, 10:29 am

Post Posted September 10th, 2017, 5:15 am


Virtual_ManPL

User avatar
 
Posts: 1913
Joined: July 24th, 2008, 5:52 am

Post Posted September 10th, 2017, 5:31 am

Jayhawksock wrote:in about:config > Try browser.newtab.url > about:blank for the new tab
the other can be set in your home page settings dropdown
ICQ5 wrote:just Add that string/booleen if its gone
This won't change anything, as preference was removed, not hidden.
Virtualfox persona

Are you ready for deprecation of XUL & XBL & XPCOM extensions? Not?! Try Firefox ESR

Aris

User avatar
 
Posts: 3070
Joined: February 27th, 2011, 10:14 am

Post Posted September 10th, 2017, 1:44 pm

ashleylai87 wrote:...

Because that preference was removed in Firefox 41.
Otherwise, I wouldn't complain.
In the past, I use CTR extension to restore blank tab behaviour, but upcoming FF57 will cause CTR to stop working.


This add-on should help: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/firefo ... -override/
Customize Firefox 57+ UI || Classic Theme Restorer (Fx 29-56) || Classic Toolbar Buttons || CustomizeMyBird

How to use legacy add-ons after Firefox 57 release? Switch to Firefox 52 ESR or move to Waterfox browser or Basilisk browser.

Josa
 
Posts: 2709
Joined: July 28th, 2009, 4:52 pm

Post Posted September 10th, 2017, 1:46 pm


Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], streetwolf, WildcatRay and 5 guests