MozillaZine

Search in address bar after DNS lookup fails

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
CrendKing

User avatar
 
Posts: 37
Joined: October 10th, 2008, 12:45 pm

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 1:06 am

Hello. I'm using Firefox 58 beta. I wonder if I can configure Firefox to have the similar behavior as Chrome.

In Firefox, if I type in a non-domain-like keyword such as "hello world" in address bar, it directly uses search engine. If the keyword is domain-like such as "a.b", it tries DNS lookup. If lookup fails, I get error page "Hmm. We’re having trouble finding that site."

In Chrome, for the latter case, Chrome first tries to lookup in DNS. If fails, instead of give me error page, it automatically redirects to search engine with that keyword.

I know some nameservers have the search fallback feature, e.g. Level 3 and OpenDNS, but I use Google DNS.

And I do not want to use the search engine "keyword". Typing a prefix every time I do search is just too tedious.

Thanks!

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37721
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 1:15 am

Moving to Firefox Builds...
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-56.0.1-57.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests