MozillaZine

Pref 'toolkit.telemetry.enabled = true' is marked as locked.

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
streetwolf

User avatar
 
Posts: 2219
Joined: August 21st, 2011, 8:07 am
Location: NJ (USA)

Post Posted November 30th, 2017, 7:51 am

I want to disable this pref but haven't found a way to do it. ](*,) Does anyone know how to unlock it so I can disable it?
Intel Core i7-8700K @ 5GHz | Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 32GB RAM @ 3900MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 11GB | Dual ASUS PA249Q 24" LCDs | 2-512GB Samsung 960 PRO M.2 | 4TB WD Black | 2TB Seagate | Windows 10 Pro x64 | FIOS 1Gb

Lurtz
 
Posts: 307
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 12:25 pm

Post Posted November 30th, 2017, 8:04 am


Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7734
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted November 30th, 2017, 10:26 am

Image

<installation folder>\defaults\pref\autoconfig.js
(or local-settings.js if you prefer)
Code: Select all
//
pref("general.config.filename", "mozilla.cfg");
pref("general.config.obscure_value", 0);

<installation folder>\mozilla.cfg
Code: Select all
lockPref("toolkit.telemetry.enabled", false);

Diorser

User avatar
 
Posts: 934
Joined: June 22nd, 2005, 6:57 am

Post Posted November 30th, 2017, 10:35 am

streetwolf wrote:I want to disable telemetry but haven't found a way to do it.

You use a development build [Firefox/59] which purpose is to provide feedback.
If you don''t want to contribute to development, you can try Firefox 57 which is a official release.

streetwolf

User avatar
 
Posts: 2219
Joined: August 21st, 2011, 8:07 am
Location: NJ (USA)

Post Posted November 30th, 2017, 1:09 pm

Diorser wrote:
streetwolf wrote:I want to disable telemetry but haven't found a way to do it.

You use a development build [Firefox/59] which purpose is to provide feedback.
If you don''t want to contribute to development, you can try Firefox 57 which is a official release.


You are making an assumption without all the facts. I've been having an issue that when I exit out of Fx and then start Fx again it takes about 6 seconds to get into Fx. I ran Process Monitor and it appears it might have been sending data to presumably Mozilla. I wanted to disable the pref just to see if it was the cause.

I have been testing Inbounds and Nightly's for years so don't give me a lecture. All you needed to ask was why I wanted to unlock the pref.
Intel Core i7-8700K @ 5GHz | Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 32GB RAM @ 3900MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 11GB | Dual ASUS PA249Q 24" LCDs | 2-512GB Samsung 960 PRO M.2 | 4TB WD Black | 2TB Seagate | Windows 10 Pro x64 | FIOS 1Gb

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4620
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted November 30th, 2017, 2:06 pm

streetwolf wrote:
Diorser wrote:
streetwolf wrote:I want to disable telemetry but haven't found a way to do it.

You use a development build [Firefox/59] which purpose is to provide feedback.
If you don''t want to contribute to development, you can try Firefox 57 which is a official release.


You are making an assumption without all the facts. I've been having an issue that when I exit out of Fx and then start Fx again it takes about 6 seconds to get into Fx. I ran Process Monitor and it appears it might have been sending data to presumably Mozilla. I wanted to disable the pref just to see if it was the cause.

I have been testing Inbounds and Nightly's for years so don't give me a lecture. All you needed to ask was why I wanted to unlock the pref.


Did you turning off toolkit.telemetry.shutdownPingSender.enabled as I suggested earlier ? No difference in your issue ?

Lurtz
 
Posts: 307
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 12:25 pm

Post Posted November 30th, 2017, 2:20 pm

streetwolf wrote:
Diorser wrote:You are making an assumption without all the facts. I've been having an issue that when I exit out of Fx and then start Fx again it takes about 6 seconds to get into Fx. I ran Process Monitor and it appears it might have been sending data to presumably Mozilla. I wanted to disable the pref just to see if it was the cause.

I don't think this has to do with telemetry: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1420594

streetwolf

User avatar
 
Posts: 2219
Joined: August 21st, 2011, 8:07 am
Location: NJ (USA)

Post Posted November 30th, 2017, 2:59 pm

Lurtz wrote:
streetwolf wrote:
Diorser wrote:You are making an assumption without all the facts. I've been having an issue that when I exit out of Fx and then start Fx again it takes about 6 seconds to get into Fx. I ran Process Monitor and it appears it might have been sending data to presumably Mozilla. I wanted to disable the pref just to see if it was the cause.

I don't think this has to do with telemetry: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1420594


Thanks for the link. I updated the bug report pointing to mine which is https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1420995
Intel Core i7-8700K @ 5GHz | Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 32GB RAM @ 3900MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 11GB | Dual ASUS PA249Q 24" LCDs | 2-512GB Samsung 960 PRO M.2 | 4TB WD Black | 2TB Seagate | Windows 10 Pro x64 | FIOS 1Gb

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 19888
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted November 30th, 2017, 4:04 pm

streetwolf wrote: All you needed to ask was why I wanted to unlock the pref.

Told him!
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

al_9x
 
Posts: 205
Joined: October 17th, 2005, 1:33 am

Post Posted January 20th, 2018, 2:00 pm

Gingerbread Man wrote:Image

<installation folder>\defaults\pref\autoconfig.js
(or local-settings.js if you prefer)
Code: Select all
//
pref("general.config.filename", "mozilla.cfg");
pref("general.config.obscure_value", 0);

<installation folder>\mozilla.cfg
Code: Select all
lockPref("toolkit.telemetry.enabled", false);


This does not work in dev edition 59. Is it still supposed to or did they deliberately disable this capability?

Aris

User avatar
 
Posts: 3151
Joined: February 27th, 2011, 10:14 am

Post Posted January 23rd, 2018, 5:24 pm

According to Mozilla it is enough to set datareporting.healthreport.uploadEnabled to false to completely disable telemetry.

See https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1422689#c1

On Firefox Desktop starting with 58 toolkit.telemetry.enabled is locked to "true" on beta, aurora, and nightly channels (as well as unofficial builds with the 'default' channel). It is locked to "false" in all other cases.

This, rather unstraighforwardly, does not mean Telemetry is enabled. This means that, if telemetry is enabled, we collect somewhat more information. More details about our unfortunately-confusing Telemetry preferences can be found in the docs[1] and in the bug tree rooted at bug 1406390.

To disable Telemetry, uncheck the box in about:preferences labelled "Allow Firefox to send technical and interaction data to Mozilla". That will disable all data collection from Firefox to Mozilla via Telemetry. The corresponding about:config pref is `datareporting.healthreport.uploadEnabled`

We plan on straightening out the confusion caused by these historical naming artefacts next year (->2018).

[1]: https://firefox-source-docs.mozilla.org ... ences.html

al_9x
 
Posts: 205
Joined: October 17th, 2005, 1:33 am

Post Posted January 23rd, 2018, 9:32 pm

except toolkit.telemetry.unified changes the meaning of datareporting.healthreport.uploadEnabled and others in ways that are not clearly documented

toolkit.telemetry.unified

This controls whether unified behavior is enabled. If true:

Telemetry is always enabled and recording base data.
Telemetry will send additional main pings.


We're so lucky to be able to choose our telemetry flavor, I bet Chrome just has a single monolithic telemetry.

datareporting.healthreport.uploadEnabled

If unified is true, this controls whether we send Telemetry data. If unified is false, we don’t use this value.


And if unified is false?

datareporting.policy.dataSubmissionEnabled

This is the data submission master kill switch. If disabled, no policy is shown or upload takes place, ever.


Look, another master switch, naturally, because the previous master switch is sometimes ignored.

It's really not hard to have a single pref that completely disables telemetry (both collection and transmission) and never changes (in name or meaning). There is no good excuse for this mess.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ver Greeneyes and 3 guests