MozillaZine

Beta stopped at 57, go on?

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
DN123ABC
 
Posts: 394
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Post Posted January 21st, 2018, 9:13 pm

WaltS48 wrote:
DN123ABC wrote:Yeah, but didn't it still say "RC" with the name, so at least you would know? I seem to recall it also said which "channel" you were on. When did that change, and why?


I don't recall it ever indicating it was a "RC" with the name.

My Help > about:firefox still indicates I am currently on the beta update channel, so does about:support aka Help > Troubleshooting Information.

Version: 58.0
Build ID: 20180118215408
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:58.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/58.0
Update Channel: beta


I did not know to look at Help > Troubleshooting Information. Doing so gives me a different experience than you have. I used to be on "beta channel" (for first 57, and more recently, 58). Somehow, on its own, Firefox changed me to "release channel".

See here:
Application Basics
Name Firefox
Version 58.0
Build ID 20180118215408
Update History
Update Channel release
User Agent Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:58.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/58.0
OS Windows_NT 6.1

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9186
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted January 22nd, 2018, 6:31 am

#KeepFightingMichael

DN123ABC
 
Posts: 394
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Post Posted January 24th, 2018, 5:38 pm

Well, I ended up downloading a newer "beta" version again. It did not really make too much of a speed difference, maybe a little. So, I still don't know what broke.

One thing, though, is that amazon.com is not displaying correctly any more. Things are spaced all over the place. Again, this is with no extensions on.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18785
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted January 24th, 2018, 5:54 pm

Clear cache & cookies.
Try in a new, clean Profile.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Mouse4
 
Posts: 162
Joined: December 27th, 2017, 4:03 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted January 24th, 2018, 6:27 pm

DN123ABC wrote:Well, I ended up downloading a newer "beta" version again. It did not really make too much of a speed difference, maybe a little. So, I still don't know what broke.

One thing, though, is that amazon.com is not displaying correctly any more. Things are spaced all over the place. Again, this is with no extensions on.

Displays correctly for me in 58, New Profile, ifile a Bug about the preoblems, we cant fix it here, . try in Safe Mode
Last edited by Mouse4 on January 24th, 2018, 7:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9186
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted January 24th, 2018, 6:38 pm

therube wrote:Try in a new, clean Profile.

Image
#KeepFightingMichael

The Tinsmith
 
Posts: 821
Joined: December 24th, 2011, 10:29 am

Post Posted January 24th, 2018, 6:53 pm

Well, I ended up downloading a newer "beta" version again.


I have not used 'beta's' for some months but IIRC it was always at least Wednesday but more often Thursday before the 'old' beta updated to the 'new' beta.

The major 'effort' was on the release and possible problems.A phased update. Not everyone gets the release on Tuesday and some later on Thursday.

The word is "patience" :-)

Mouse4
 
Posts: 162
Joined: December 27th, 2017, 4:03 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted January 24th, 2018, 7:01 pm

why use Beta's if you cant fix things yaself, same with Nightlies.
Last edited by Mouse4 on January 24th, 2018, 7:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

The Tinsmith
 
Posts: 821
Joined: December 24th, 2011, 10:29 am

Post Posted January 24th, 2018, 7:09 pm

Mouse4 wrote:ywhy use Beta's if you cant fix things yaself, same with Nightlies.



I don't understand your comment.

DN123ABC
 
Posts: 394
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Post Posted January 24th, 2018, 8:00 pm

.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3515
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted January 25th, 2018, 1:33 am

why use Beta's if you cant fix things yaself, same with Nightlies.

+1

@Tinsmith - betas and nightly are not supposed for regular users as those still contains bugs they can not resolve. only when some recommend to use a beta to fix a special problem.
if some uses elsewhere he need to know about and not to complain afterwards.
myself is running v58/59/60 - but separated profiles i never will mix up, and if, only up - from final to final. also experienced i am not aware what betas or nightly can mess up that such a profile will behave buggy in a previous final. and as i stated here before - it is not always firefox, in most cases a quirked system is causing culprits, or some questionable security software. this is a firefox forum so i think we are not responsible for quirked systems - if there are long lasting issues like here if defintely is a user made problem or system made. he thinks he is mighty, but he aint.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests