MozillaZine

tab restore confusion

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
DN123ABC
 
Posts: 424
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Post Posted December 22nd, 2017, 6:42 am

Today, I got this:
"Sorry. We’re having trouble getting your pages back.

We are having trouble restoring your last browsing session. Select Restore Session to try again.

Still not able to restore your session? Sometimes a tab is causing the issue. View previous tabs, remove the checkmark from the tabs you don’t need to recover, and then restore."


with a childish picture of some animal to the left.


Other days, Firefox just opens all the tabs. What determines this behavior?

Is there any way to fix this, so it will act more consistently?

I wish I could get my "Session Manager" extension back again.




Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:58.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/58.0 ID:20171218174357

Adblock Plus development build 3.0.2.1951beta [DISABLED]
Duplicate Tabs Closer 3.1.2
Nightly Tester Tools 4.0pre20170912
NoScript 10.1.6.1rc1 [DISABLED]
Print Selection to PDF 0.1.0
Tab Counter 0.2.1

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9238
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted December 22nd, 2017, 7:07 am

DN123ABC wrote:Is there any way to fix this,
Yeah, install the Fx Release Version with a New Profile and start again.
#KeepFightingMichael

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38424
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted December 22nd, 2017, 7:14 am

Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

DN123ABC
 
Posts: 424
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Post Posted December 22nd, 2017, 7:36 am

mightyglydd wrote:
DN123ABC wrote:Is there any way to fix this,
Yeah, install the Fx Release Version with a New Profile and start again.


I must have missed it. Is there now a "release version" for 58? Looking for a fix for the version I listed. Thanks anyhow.

DN123ABC
 
Posts: 424
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Post Posted December 22nd, 2017, 7:37 am



I tried that already. It either doesn't work, or I don't know how to use it right. If you have a pointer, I'd love to try it.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38424
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted December 22nd, 2017, 7:47 am

I think what MightyG meant was for you to un-install v58 & install the latest Release Version,
which is 57.0.2.
The extension should then function.

AFAIK, the extension saves your sessions but they are not available until you re-open Firefox & check the saved sessions.
All of which can be set in it's Options.

I do not know if it works with v58.
Moving this to the Builds fora.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

DN123ABC
 
Posts: 424
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Post Posted December 22nd, 2017, 8:29 am

Well, the actual intent is to see if anyone else is experiencing this inconsistent behavior.

I might just end up reporting it as a bug.

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9238
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted December 22nd, 2017, 9:09 am

LIMPET235 wrote:I think what MightyG meant was for you to un-install v58 & install the latest Release Version,
which is 57.0.2.

Yep, same answer to this...
viewtopic.php?f=23&t=3036724
#KeepFightingMichael

DN123ABC
 
Posts: 424
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Post Posted December 22nd, 2017, 9:31 am

mightyglydd wrote:
LIMPET235 wrote:I think what MightyG meant was for you to un-install v58 & install the latest Release Version,
which is 57.0.2.

Yep, same answer to this...
viewtopic.php?f=23&t=3036724


Never got a real answer over there, either. Are these two separate problems caused by the same bug?

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9238
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted December 22nd, 2017, 9:36 am

'Bug' as in a screwed up Profile ?..99% likely.
#KeepFightingMichael

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3801
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted December 22nd, 2017, 12:18 pm

NoScript striked again. people never would get it that new NS-X is BS.

DN123ABC
 
Posts: 424
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Post Posted December 22nd, 2017, 1:30 pm

Brummelchen wrote:NoScript striked again. people never would get it that new NS-X is BS.


Except, NoScript is DISABLED right now, so that isn't it.

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43507
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted December 22nd, 2017, 1:34 pm

NoScript is notorious for screwing with profiles and causing problems even when its supposedly disabled the author needs a swift kick
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3801
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted December 22nd, 2017, 1:43 pm

create a new profile and test again. i dont know such issues while using 35 webextensions. but: no ABP and no NS.

DN123ABC
 
Posts: 424
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Post Posted December 22nd, 2017, 9:33 pm

OK, so now it did a 3rd different behavior.

It didn't ask which ones I wanted to get back, nor did it automatically open them as it had in the past. This time, it just LOST ALL TABS.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests