MozillaZine

Dead Links

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
pepegot1
 
Posts: 325
Joined: December 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am

Post Posted February 16th, 2018, 9:57 am

In various web sites when I click on a link it fails to open. However, in IE it opens. What gives?
Firefox 59 beta 9

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19041
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted February 16th, 2018, 10:35 am

What does happen when you click these dead links?

Some URLs to the sites with these dead links?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

pepegot1
 
Posts: 325
Joined: December 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am

Post Posted February 16th, 2018, 10:53 am

Links are not dead. They work in IE but, not in FF. I could not open a financial link but, it worked in IE.
Nothing happens at all. I can click away.

Mark12547
 
Posts: 219
Joined: May 13th, 2017, 11:36 am
Location: Oregon, United States, Earth

Post Posted February 16th, 2018, 11:02 am

Can you run Firefox Beta in Safe Mode and see if the links work? If it does, it might be an extension you have installed that is causing issues.

PS: If the links are on a public website, it would be nice to know what they are so others can check and maybe do additional research on what is happening or failing to happen.

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3728
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted February 16th, 2018, 11:10 am

pepegot1 wrote:In various web sites when I click on a link it fails to open. However, in IE it opens. What gives?
Firefox 59 beta 9


Update to 59.0b10 and see if the problem is fixed.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

pepegot1
 
Posts: 325
Joined: December 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am

Post Posted February 17th, 2018, 1:44 pm

Beta 10 did not help. Go to : https://shop.rylo.com/
Click "Rylo for Android (ships early 2018)"
Then, click 'Notify Me" which will not open in FF.
Fortunately, my "Open in IE" still works.

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4674
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted February 17th, 2018, 3:07 pm

pepegot1 wrote:Beta 10 did not help. Go to : https://shop.rylo.com/
Click "Rylo for Android (ships early 2018)"
Then, click 'Notify Me" which will not open in FF.
Fortunately, my "Open in IE" still works.


Are you using Private browsing, or have you enabled Firefox Tracking Protection ? I had to override tracking-protection for the link to work.

pepegot1
 
Posts: 325
Joined: December 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am

Post Posted February 18th, 2018, 10:32 am

I disabled tracking protection and still no soap! Glad I have IE as backup.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3662
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted February 18th, 2018, 1:14 pm

Go to : https://shop.rylo.com/
Click "Rylo for Android (ships early 2018)"

that is no link, thats a content changing script.
reset your profile or go safe-mode - stupid web filetring.

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4674
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted February 18th, 2018, 2:34 pm

pepegot1 wrote:I disabled tracking protection and still no soap! Glad I have IE as backup.


How did you dis-able Tracking Protection ? If you went into options and flipped the pref that is not enough. You have to then 'reload' the site before it 'Button' works, I get a pop-up where I can then enter the information.

If you turn if 'off' for that one site using the 'address/url' bar drop-down on the left 'Disable for this site', once you click that the page will reload as well then it should work unless you have other blocking addons, then they too may need a tweek.

pepegot1
 
Posts: 325
Joined: December 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am

Post Posted February 20th, 2018, 9:08 am

It still does not work and is appearing on other sites.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests