MozillaZine

The first official 20180618 builds are out

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
Josa
 
Posts: 3405
Joined: July 28th, 2009, 4:52 pm

Post Posted June 17th, 2018, 2:30 pm

Previous Nightly Builds thread 20180617

The first official 20180618 NIGHTLY builds are out
.The Official Firefox 61 RC 1 builds are not yet out

Previous NIGHTLY: 20180617 (Fx 62.0a1)
Previous BETA: 20180615 (Fx 61.0b14)

Mozilla Inbound Builds
Treeherder
Release Notes: NIGHTLY | BETA
Changelogs: NIGHTLY | BETA


Fixed:
    NIGHTLY +3
  1. #1440022 [Core:DOM: Push Notifications]-Support "global broadcast"/real time updates API [Uns][]
  2. #1469220 [Core:Layout: Web Painting]-Backout changesets which are related to animations landed in bug 1468182 [Uns][]
  3. #1468108 [Core:Networking]-HttpChannelParent::OnDataAvailable can jank the main thread when NS_ReadInputStreamToBuffer blocks on a lock (for buffer stealing?) [Uns][[qf][necko-triaged]]

    Partial Landings/Diagnostic Patches:
    None

    Beta 14 -> RC 1 Changelog +2
  1. #1462742 [Core:Layout: Web Painting]-Crash in AssertUniqueItem on devices with touch screens [Win][]
  2. #1468830 [Toolkit:WebExtensions: Untriaged]-onBeforeRedirect with "responseHeaders" throws exception on internal/upgrade redirects [Uns][]

Nightly 62 fixes since 20180507 (Gecko 61) ~1541
Beta 61 fixes since 20180312 (Gecko 60) ~2770

Nightly Blog
Release Calendar
Release Tracking
MozRegression Guide
Last edited by Josa on June 20th, 2018, 8:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Are You A Wiiizard?
 
Posts: 323
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 4:27 am

Post Posted June 17th, 2018, 3:12 pm

Hmm... @_chaser_ why aren't you getting served VP9? Do you use H264ify extension? Anyways I tested Youtube H264 at just 1080p60 and am getting dropped frames, there's definitely an issue there. That said, VP9 can't run on my low end hardware at 4k60 without dropped frames...

EDIT: Oh wait, if that is a stream it won't be vp9.

EDIT2: https://gaming.youtube.com/ Crashed my tab (Bug 1461204 i think) :?

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4685
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted June 17th, 2018, 3:43 pm

Are You A Wiiizard? wrote:Hmm... @_chaser_ why aren't you getting served VP9? Do you use H264ify extension? Anyways I tested Youtube H264 at just 1080p60 and am getting dropped frames, there's definitely an issue there. That said, VP9 can't run on my low end hardware at 4k60 without dropped frames...

EDIT: Oh wait, if that is a stream it won't be vp9.

EDIT2: https://gaming.youtube.com/ Crashed my tab (Bug 1461204 i think) :?

Crash just loading site or playing any video ? NO crash here just loading the site. win64 Win10, webrender not enabled.

Are You A Wiiizard?
 
Posts: 323
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 4:27 am

Post Posted June 17th, 2018, 5:19 pm

TheVisitor wrote:
Are You A Wiiizard? wrote:Hmm... @_chaser_ why aren't you getting served VP9? Do you use H264ify extension? Anyways I tested Youtube H264 at just 1080p60 and am getting dropped frames, there's definitely an issue there. That said, VP9 can't run on my low end hardware at 4k60 without dropped frames...

EDIT: Oh wait, if that is a stream it won't be vp9.

EDIT2: https://gaming.youtube.com/ Crashed my tab (Bug 1461204 i think) :?

Crash just loading site or playing any video ? NO crash here just loading the site. win64 Win10, webrender not enabled.


It happened once when first loading the site and clicking the popup crap that said something about "get started".

_chaser_
 
Posts: 7
Joined: March 12th, 2018, 7:57 am

Post Posted June 17th, 2018, 11:52 pm

Are You A Wiiizard? wrote:Hmm... @_chaser_ why aren't you getting served VP9?...

Because youtube switched to a codec AVC1(H264).

Do you use H264ify extension?

Not using.

Are You A Wiiizard?
 
Posts: 323
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 4:27 am

Post Posted June 18th, 2018, 5:40 am

_chaser_ wrote:Because youtube switched to a codec AVC1(H264).

It shouldn't be using H264 for anything but streams. Check media.webm.enabled preference in about:config and try enabling it if it's disabled.

_chaser_
 
Posts: 7
Joined: March 12th, 2018, 7:57 am

Post Posted June 18th, 2018, 6:16 am

Are You A Wiiizard? wrote:
_chaser_ wrote:Because youtube switched to a codec AVC1(H264).

It shouldn't be using H264 for anything but streams. Check media.webm.enabled preference in about:config and try enabling it if it's disabled.

Well, so the thread drops on YouTube in 720p and 1080p 60fps. I tried with a new profile, also lag.
media.webm.enabled - true(default)

*translated into Google

Are You A Wiiizard?
 
Posts: 323
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 4:27 am

Post Posted June 18th, 2018, 9:11 am

_chaser_ wrote:media.webm.enabled - true(default)

What about media.wmf.vp9.enabled ?

_chaser_
 
Posts: 7
Joined: March 12th, 2018, 7:57 am

Post Posted June 18th, 2018, 9:29 am

Are You A Wiiizard? wrote:
_chaser_ wrote:media.webm.enabled - true(default)

What about media.wmf.vp9.enabled ?

Also, the default setting is true.

Lurtz
 
Posts: 352
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 12:25 pm

Post Posted June 19th, 2018, 4:35 am

https://mozillagfx.wordpress.com/2018/0 ... letter-20/
Newsletter number twenty is here, delayed again by a combination of days off and the bi-annual Mozilla AllHands which took place last week in San Francisco.
A big highlight in the WebRender side is the work on porting all primitives to the brush system approaching completion. Individually, porting each primitive doesn’t sound like much but with all of the pieces coming together:

-Most complex primitives can be segmented, moving a lot of pixels to the opaque pass and using intermediate targets to render the tricky parts.
-The majority of the alpha pass is now using the brush image shader which greatly improves batching. We generate about 2 to 3 times less draw calls on average now than a month ago.

This translates into noticeable performance imporvements on a lot of very complex pages. The most outstanding remaining performance issues are now caused by the CPU fallback which we are working on moving off of the critical path, so things are looking very promiscing especially with the mountain of other performance improvements we are currently holding off on to concentrate on correctness.

Speaking of fixing correctness issues, as usual we can see from the lists below that there is also a lot of progress in this area.

Orangutan100
 
Posts: 51
Joined: July 9th, 2015, 11:56 am

Post Posted June 19th, 2018, 5:27 am

It appears that my add-ons are losing their "link" to AMO. So what happens is that the add-ons continue working perfectly fine, but at about:addons, they are all missing their AMO ratings, and some of them are missing their author names, icons etc. if they weren't included in their manifest. I would assume this also breaks their updating.

I noticed this yesterday for the first time. Manual installation of the add-ons from AMO on top of the existing 'orphaned' add-ons had seemed to make things work (even across restarts) but now the issue is back again. I'm on 62.0a1 (2018-06-18), Windows 10. Don't have CCleaner or any external program interfering.

Anybody else seeing this?

Edit: filed 1469743
Last edited by Orangutan100 on June 19th, 2018, 6:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3763
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted June 19th, 2018, 8:48 am

The Official 61.0rc1 is out!

Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:61.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/61.0 ID:20180618212916 Version 61.0
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

Mouse4
 
Posts: 239
Joined: December 27th, 2017, 4:03 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted June 19th, 2018, 4:34 pm

thought there was gonna be a Beta15, RC Link Here https://archive.mozilla.org/pub/firefox ... andidates/

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3763
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted June 19th, 2018, 6:09 pm

Mouse4 wrote:thought there was gonna be a Beta15, RC Link Here https://archive.mozilla.org/pub/firefox ... andidates/


Beta15 was for mobile.

https://wiki.mozilla.org/Firefox/Channe ... ule_Update

Firefox 62.0b1 Dev Edition is out!
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

Fanolian
 
Posts: 819
Joined: February 21st, 2011, 10:14 am

Post Posted June 20th, 2018, 3:06 am

https://groups.google.com/forum/#!msg/m ... c3E-c1BgAJ
In bug 1452645 [1] we are planning to remove the "Load this bookmark in sidebar" feature.
...
Extensions are able to open pages in the sidebar, ... hence, they could add very similar functionality.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests