MozillaZine

[Branch] Firefox 2.0.0.1 fixlist (NOW RELEASED)

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
szhorvat
 
Posts: 208
Joined: November 3rd, 2005, 12:42 pm

Post Posted December 4th, 2006, 4:45 am

szhorvat wrote:and bug 361180.

Starting with the 20061202 build, no more problems with this bug.

rickst29
 
Posts: 182
Joined: January 22nd, 2003, 10:45 pm

Post Posted December 4th, 2006, 11:26 pm

This one seems to work OK on Linux:
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.8.1.1pre) Gecko/20061204 BonEcho/2.0.0.1pre - Build ID: 2006120404

But, for testing purposes, it's a TOTAL MESS to use a 'BonEcho' User Agent/Build ID.

I restored FF2.0 and, using the 'User Agent Switcher' extension, copied it's 'Default' UA properties into a new UA (which I named 'FIrefox 2.0'). I'm running with this UA string:
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.8.1) Gecko/20061010 Firefox/2.0 - Build ID: 2006120404

(note resulting weird date mismatch between old 'Gecko' and current 'Build ID'.)

I assume that this will avoid A LOT of problems of the type 'inspected the UA and it's not Firefox'. But I have a question: When 2.0.0.1 is released, what will the REAL UA string look like? (except for the date, it should be predictable now.) I'd prefer to test with that String, of course.
Make a fire FOR a man, he'll be warm for the rest of the night. Set a man ON fire, he'll be warm for the rest of his life!

pal-moz
 
Posts: 5937
Joined: September 23rd, 2005, 5:40 pm
Location: Tokyo , Japan

Post Posted December 4th, 2006, 11:52 pm

rickst29 wrote:When 2.0.0.1 is released, what will the REAL UA string look like? (except for the date, it should be predictable now.) I'd prefer to test with that String, of course.


(1) 2.0.0.1 will be released on 14. Dec.
http://wiki.mozilla.org/Firefox:1.5.0.9 ... l_Schedule

(2) 2.0.0.1 UA is like this.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:<b>1.8.1.1</b>) Gecko/20061204 Firefox/<b>2.0.0.1</b>

AteUte52

User avatar
 
Posts: 1511
Joined: June 19th, 2004, 5:30 am
Location: Finland

Post Posted December 5th, 2006, 1:29 am

Just wondering..

Is there somewhere a simple explanation what this patch
"#360493 [Firefox:Password Manager]-Cross-Site Forms + Password Manager = Security Failure [All]"
did change? Other than there is now more sites, where PM does not work..:-(

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.1) Gecko/20061204 Firefox/2.0.0.1 - Build ID: 2006120418

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19856
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted December 5th, 2006, 7:14 am

There's a pref you can set to avoid the rigamrole that rickst29 went through. If you take a look in about:config, you should be able to find general.useragent.extra.firefox. In the pre 2.0.0.1 build, just change the BonEcho to Firefox.

This setting gets saved in your profile, so if you change it and then change builds, you need to remember to change it back to default or whatever it is you need to change it to.

This DOES alter the UA passed to websites. I know this because the styled buttons and module movement on my.yahoo pages does not work with the default BonEcho/2.0.1pre that the build comes with, but does work when I change it to Firefox/2.0.1pre.

Hope that helps.
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

Sephirot

User avatar
 
Posts: 247
Joined: June 15th, 2004, 7:56 am

Post Posted December 5th, 2006, 11:48 am

AteUte52 wrote:Just wondering..

Is there somewhere a simple explanation what this patch
"#360493 [Firefox:Password Manager]-Cross-Site Forms + Password Manager = Security Failure [All]"
did change? Other than there is now more sites, where PM does not work..:-(

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.1) Gecko/20061204 Firefox/2.0.0.1 - Build ID: 2006120418

Actually it did not changed that much ... unless you set the new pref signon.prefillForms to false.
Than you will have to manually select the name/login and than the password will be filled in. This would be the same like having more than one saved username for this form.

IMO it's useless to save the action host as an additional key to check before autofilling, because this can be changed afterwards (before submitting). I think disabling the automatic form fill is the only solution that will work, because other things would require to forbid changes to the action of a form (with a password field) via JavaScript and this can break websites.
Author of Bookmarks Menu Button, Autoclose Bookmark&History Folders and more

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; de; rv:1.9.2.19pre) Gecko/20110701 Firefox/3.6.19pre <-- build with MS VC++ 2010 SP1 and PGO on Win 7 x64

AteUte52

User avatar
 
Posts: 1511
Joined: June 19th, 2004, 5:30 am
Location: Finland

Post Posted December 5th, 2006, 1:43 pm

@Sephirot

So I thought... Mostly works like it did before. I have noticed only one site so far, where PM is not autofilling like it used to...
That new pref was news to me though.

Thank You for the info!

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.1) Gecko/20061204 Firefox/2.0.0.1 - Build ID: 2006120418

stymiee

User avatar
 
Posts: 52
Joined: March 7th, 2004, 9:38 am

Post Posted December 5th, 2006, 2:46 pm

Is there an ETA for the release of 2.0.0.1? The cut/copy/paste bug drives me insane!

Sephirot

User avatar
 
Posts: 247
Joined: June 15th, 2004, 7:56 am

Post Posted December 5th, 2006, 3:00 pm

stymiee wrote:Is there an ETA for the release of 2.0.0.1? The cut/copy/paste bug drives me insane!
scroll a fews line up ;)

according to http://wiki.mozilla.org/Firefox:1.5.0.9 ... l_Schedule it's planed to release it in 9 days
Author of Bookmarks Menu Button, Autoclose Bookmark&History Folders and more

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; de; rv:1.9.2.19pre) Gecko/20110701 Firefox/3.6.19pre <-- build with MS VC++ 2010 SP1 and PGO on Win 7 x64

chob
 
Posts: 4283
Joined: May 17th, 2003, 12:05 pm
Location: London, UK

Post Posted December 5th, 2006, 3:05 pm

Sephirot wrote:
stymiee wrote:Is there an ETA for the release of 2.0.0.1? The cut/copy/paste bug drives me insane!
scroll a fews line up ;)

according to http://wiki.mozilla.org/Firefox:1.5.0.9 ... l_Schedule it's planed to release it in 9 days

This date is not set in stone, so please don't be surprised if it slips a bit. Also, there's a chance that the bug that fixes the cut/copy/paste bug might also fix the apostrophe-brings-up-the-find-bar-when-caret-in-text-area bug too! That'd be sweet.

kliu0x52

User avatar
 
Posts: 569
Joined: October 18th, 2006, 2:23 pm
Location: .us

Post Posted December 5th, 2006, 3:39 pm

Looks like a RC of 2.0.0.1 is now in the nightlies dir...
http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/ ... dates/rc1/
My addons: NoRedirect | QuickDrag | URL Flipper | TabSubmit
Developers: Make sure to test your addons for RTL compatibility!

genec
 
Posts: 128
Joined: July 13th, 2004, 8:57 pm

Post Posted December 6th, 2006, 11:30 am

Site does not display correctly - http://www.adobe.com/
Put cursor over header - menu pops down but is 'under' the image (flash?)).

A new bug?


g

chob
 
Posts: 4283
Joined: May 17th, 2003, 12:05 pm
Location: London, UK

Post Posted December 6th, 2006, 11:47 am

WFM in
- Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.8.0.8) Gecko/20061025 Firefox/1.5.0.8
- Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.8.1.1) Gecko/20061206 BonEcho/2.0.0.1 ID:2006120603
Please make sure you're on the latest version of flash, and try in firefox's safemode.
Also, what version are you testing with? (Help > About and copy&paste the user agent string). Thanks!

genec
 
Posts: 128
Joined: July 13th, 2004, 8:57 pm

Post Posted December 6th, 2006, 11:59 am

genec wrote:Site does not display correctly - http://www.adobe.com/
Put cursor over header - menu pops down but is 'under' the image (flash?)).

A new bug?


g


Filed a bugzilla on this:

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=362988

genec
 
Posts: 128
Joined: July 13th, 2004, 8:57 pm

Post Posted December 6th, 2006, 12:02 pm

I am testing with this mornings build on linux

Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.8.1.1) Gecko/20061206 Firefox/2.0.0.1 ID:2006120606

(I did change the UA string in prefs as in earlier post from BonEcho to Firefox as too many sites are totally broken with bonecho in there).

Flash is:

File name: libflashplayer.so
Shockwave Flash 9.0 d78

g

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests