MozillaZine

Nightly Troubleshooting Information

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
patfla
 
Posts: 187
Joined: July 3rd, 2004, 3:26 pm
Location: SF E Bay CA US

Post Posted February 25th, 2012, 1:15 pm

I'm getting lots of hangs in the Windows 64 bit nightlies as of a week or so ago. "Not responding" in the title bar. Eventually returns - doesn't crash - but goes a way sometimes for quite a while.

Adblock Plus 2.0.3
Default 13.0a1
DOM Inspector 2.0.10 [DISABLED]
HP Smart Web Printing 4.60 [DISABLED]
Java(TM) Platform SE 6 U18 6.0.180.7
Nightly Tester Tools 3.2.1.1
S3 Firefox Organizer(S3Fox) 0.6
Shockwave Flash 11.1.102.62
Showcase 0.9.5.8 [DISABLED]
Spam Free Search Bar 1.0 [DISABLED]
Tab Counter 1.9.2 [DISABLED]
Tab Mix Plus 0.4.0pre.120207a

KWierso
 
Posts: 8822
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Post Posted February 25th, 2012, 1:44 pm

patfla wrote:I'm getting lots of hangs in the Windows 64 bit nightlies as of a week or so ago. "Not responding" in the title bar. Eventually returns - doesn't crash - but goes a way sometimes for quite a while.

Adblock Plus 2.0.3
Default 13.0a1
DOM Inspector 2.0.10 [DISABLED]
HP Smart Web Printing 4.60 [DISABLED]
Java(TM) Platform SE 6 U18 6.0.180.7
Nightly Tester Tools 3.2.1.1
S3 Firefox Organizer(S3Fox) 0.6
Shockwave Flash 11.1.102.62
Showcase 0.9.5.8 [DISABLED]
Spam Free Search Bar 1.0 [DISABLED]
Tab Counter 1.9.2 [DISABLED]
Tab Mix Plus 0.4.0pre.120207a

If you look in your Firefox profile folder, how big is sessionstore.js?

patfla
 
Posts: 187
Joined: July 3rd, 2004, 3:26 pm
Location: SF E Bay CA US

Post Posted February 25th, 2012, 3:35 pm

Hi - sessionstore.js is 113,182 bytes which strikes me as not that large (?).

Fwiw, the biggest file in the top-level directory of the profile is places.sqlite which is 10 MB.

I might note that I run Diskeeper which is supposed to defragment my drives and help performance but sometimes I wonder.

KWierso
 
Posts: 8822
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Post Posted February 25th, 2012, 3:38 pm

Does it hang in safe mode?

patfla
 
Posts: 187
Joined: July 3rd, 2004, 3:26 pm
Location: SF E Bay CA US

Post Posted February 25th, 2012, 3:58 pm

I'll give it a try.

ChillerBaggins

User avatar
 
Posts: 46
Joined: August 19th, 2007, 12:43 pm
Location: Western Australia

Post Posted March 1st, 2012, 10:37 pm

.
Nightly 13.0a1 (2012-03-01) x64
.
Installed with Firefox latest on WINDOWS 8 CONSUMER PREVIEW x64 **crashes** if you try to -->download any file ... :-k
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
example try | -->
Windows 8 Codecs 1.01 Official Download For Windows 8 Codecs | |
Author: Shark007
Date: 2012-03-01
http://majorgeeks.com/Windows_8_Codecs_d7587.html

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

*Worked OK on previous Win 8 Developer Preview.. x64 =D>

At present I have no other choice (could get Chrome) than using Internet Explorer 10 to download

Nightly won't let Firefox start but I need it installed as MOZBACKUP will only select --> FF - Thunderbird - Portable
|::|windows 8 consumer preview x64|+|intel dh67bl b3 mobo|+|sandy bridge i7 2600 lga1155|+|ocz ssd sata III 120gb vertex drive|+|16gb ddr3 ram|:|

KWierso
 
Posts: 8822
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Post Posted March 1st, 2012, 10:41 pm

ChillerBaggins wrote:.
Nightly 13.0a1 (2012-03-01) x64
.
Installed with Firefox latest on WINDOWS 8 CONSUMER PREVIEW x64 **crashes** if you try to -->download any file ... :-k
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
example try | -->
Windows 8 Codecs 1.01 Official Download For Windows 8 Codecs | |
Author: Shark007
Date: 2012-03-01
http://majorgeeks.com/Windows_8_Codecs_d7587.html

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

*Worked OK on previous Win 8 Developer Preview.. x64 =D>

At present I have no other choice (could get Chrome) than using Internet Explorer 10 to download

Nightly won't let Firefox start but I need it installed as MOZBACKUP will only select --> FF - Thunderbird - Portable

That should be fixed in tomorrow's Nightly update: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=2437103

Seamaiden

User avatar
 
Posts: 40
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 3:52 pm
Location: Fresno, CA

Post Posted April 22nd, 2012, 9:19 pm

Nightly 14.0a1
Windows XP

Nightly is incompatible with the downloadhelper extension. The add-on installs, but Nightly crashes when you right-click on a toolbar and select Customize.

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 9137
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted April 22nd, 2012, 9:40 pm

Seamaiden wrote:Nightly 14.0a1
Windows XP

Nightly is incompatible with the downloadhelper extension. The add-on installs, but Nightly crashes when you right-click on a toolbar and select Customize.

You might have it backward. Video downloadhelper is not compatible with Nightly!
Contact > http://www.downloadhelper.net/support-expert.php
Bill Gates is a very rich man today... and do you want to know why? The answer is one word: versions. ~ Dave Barry

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 42103
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Aus

Post Posted April 23rd, 2012, 6:29 am

You don't actually know who Seamaiden or her history or background is do you?
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 25755
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted April 23rd, 2012, 4:02 pm

malliz wrote:You don't actually know who Seamaiden or her history or background is do you?

Not likely and may have missed the clues in her signature. Her account here was older as it was one of the about 1983 accounts (that I could figure) that were lost in Oct 2007 due to a database crash.
(*.mozillaZine.org is not Mozilla!)
The Complaint Department at Mozilla (current complaints) (<It is not a real complaint site but for jokes/testing of bugzilla).
The Complaint department link is borked until unknown time.

Omega X

User avatar
 
Posts: 7473
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 2:38 pm
Location: A Parallel Dimension...

Post Posted April 24th, 2012, 11:55 am

I thought that was due to upgrading phpBB?
Latest: Firefox/40.0.2 *ESR/38.2.0 - Mobile/40.0 - Thunderbird/38.2.0 - SeaMonkey/2.33.1
Nightly: Nightly/43.0 - Mobile/43.0 - Daily/43.0 - SeaMonkey/2.35a1

tester3
 
Posts: 2
Joined: May 2nd, 2012, 6:37 am

Post Posted May 2nd, 2012, 8:01 am

Nightly 15.0a1 (2012-05-01), the roll over menu popup type objects do not expand anymore.
I manage Cisco Call Manager, the latest patch somehow broke how java based navigation menus work.

I can't find an example on the web but I have a screenshot that shows the trouble, I have include a snippet of page source so someone can examine this... Basically the drop down arrow is not rendered and hovering on the button doesn't cause the menu to expand. So the code below would put a system button and a drop down arrow next to it and hovering on it would popup a menu.

<ul id="udm" class="udm">
<li id="system"><h3><a id="SystemButton" class="navButton" class="nohref" tabindex="10">System</a></h3>
<ul style="width:20em">
<li><a href="/ccmadmin/serverFindList.do" tabindex="11" >Server</a></li>
<li><a href="/ccmadmin/ccmFindList.do" tabindex="11" >Cisco Unified CM</a></li>
<li><a href="/ccmadmin/ccmGroupFindList.do" tabindex="11" >Cisco Unified CM Group</a></li>
.
.
.

Just patched to today's release and it is still broke :(

KWierso
 
Posts: 8822
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Post Posted May 2nd, 2012, 1:30 pm

tester3 wrote:Nightly 15.0a1 (2012-05-01), the roll over menu popup type objects do not expand anymore.
I manage Cisco Call Manager, the latest patch somehow broke how java based navigation menus work.

I can't find an example on the web but I have a screenshot that shows the trouble, I have include a snippet of page source so someone can examine this... Basically the drop down arrow is not rendered and hovering on the button doesn't cause the menu to expand. So the code below would put a system button and a drop down arrow next to it and hovering on it would popup a menu.

<ul id="udm" class="udm">
<li id="system"><h3><a id="SystemButton" class="navButton" class="nohref" tabindex="10">System</a></h3>
<ul style="width:20em">
<li><a href="/ccmadmin/serverFindList.do" tabindex="11" >Server</a></li>
<li><a href="/ccmadmin/ccmFindList.do" tabindex="11" >Cisco Unified CM</a></li>
<li><a href="/ccmadmin/ccmGroupFindList.do" tabindex="11" >Cisco Unified CM Group</a></li>
.
.
.

Just patched to today's release and it is still broke :(

Maybe the UA string change that dropped the build date breaks things?

tester3
 
Posts: 2
Joined: May 2nd, 2012, 6:37 am

Post Posted May 4th, 2012, 12:26 pm

KWierso wrote: Maybe the UA string change that dropped the build date breaks things?


Is there anything that I could do to help troubleshoot this? I don't how that could affect roll over buttons.

TIA,
Joe

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests