MozillaZine

FF-3b3 - turning off virus scanner

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
ehume

User avatar
 
Posts: 6743
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 12:33 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ, USA

Post Posted January 9th, 2008, 6:27 pm

I use AVG. Until fx3 started scanning the dl's, I never saw this behavior before.

Really, there ought to be a UI pref to turn it off, since most av apps check dl's automatically.
Firefox: Sic transit gloria mundi.

Racer
 
Posts: 6108
Joined: November 18th, 2002, 11:07 am

Post Posted January 10th, 2008, 12:06 pm

It looks like the related bugs are:
bug 103487 - use of default anti-virus scanner when downloading email and executables
bug 393792 - Add UI for antivirus scanner

393792 was marked WONTFIX, probably because it asked for the ability to manually specify an alternate scanner. I suggest someone file a bug that only requests a pref to disable the scanner, and see what happens.

ckjnigel
 
Posts: 285
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 12:37 am

Post Posted January 10th, 2008, 11:25 pm

Racer wrote:It looks like the related bugs are:
bug 103487 - use of default anti-virus scanner when downloading email and executables
bug 393792 - Add UI for antivirus scanner

393792 was marked WONTFIX, probably because it asked for the ability to manually specify an alternate scanner. I suggest someone file a bug that only requests a pref to disable the scanner, and see what happens.


Is everybody quite sure that there isn't already an undocumented about:config setting to turn off that AV scan?

pikaunforgiven
 
Posts: 1004
Joined: May 9th, 2005, 9:58 am
Location: um that place, the one with the stuff

Post Posted January 11th, 2008, 12:11 am

yep quite sure, if it were added at one point it would be in a bugzilla bug somewhere. devs generally dont add new functionality without a corresponding bug.

Fuziwuzi

User avatar
 
Posts: 234
Joined: November 28th, 2007, 8:33 am
Location: Atlanta, Georgia USA

Post Posted January 11th, 2008, 5:33 am

As noted in my previous posts on this topic, the scans were never a problem for me because they happened so quickly I didn't notice them. That is, until yesterday's build. With that build and this one (2008011005), now the scans are very noticeable and take a considerable (relatively) amount of time. If I wanted my browser to initiate a virus scan, I'd install an extension to do that, there should be a way to turn it off without having to dig into my registry. Who is developing this thing now, Steve Balmer? :-)
Win7-64 Ultimate, Core2Duo E6700, 2GB PC3200 DDR ram, ATI HD4650 graphics.

Eygte450

User avatar
 
Posts: 179
Joined: July 20th, 2006, 12:52 pm

Post Posted January 11th, 2008, 10:32 pm

Here, in Vista 32bits with NOD32 v3, downloading XAMPP exe installer, the result was terrible, almost 50s for scanning and my FX got unstable and irresponsible all that time.

Athlon X2 3600+, 1GB DDR2, HD 7200rpm

pikaunforgiven
 
Posts: 1004
Joined: May 9th, 2005, 9:58 am
Location: um that place, the one with the stuff

Post Posted January 12th, 2008, 1:54 am

yikes, how big is the XAMPP.exe installer? that would be brutal for me.

Fuziwuzi

User avatar
 
Posts: 234
Joined: November 28th, 2007, 8:33 am
Location: Atlanta, Georgia USA

Post Posted January 12th, 2008, 7:07 am

I downloaded the nightly lightning.xpi, which is only 980k, and the resulting virus scan took 93 seconds. That is absurd. As a test, I manually scanned it with AVG (my installed AV ap) and it only took about 3 seconds. So why does the call from Minefield take so much longer now?

They have GOT to make a way to turn this off, if this gets out like this, at least for techie people (who make up a large portion of the FF user base I think), this will be death.

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9b3pre) Gecko/2008011105 Firefox/3.0b3pre ID:2008011105
Win7-64 Ultimate, Core2Duo E6700, 2GB PC3200 DDR ram, ATI HD4650 graphics.

ehume

User avatar
 
Posts: 6743
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 12:33 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ, USA

Post Posted January 12th, 2008, 12:51 pm

I filed Bug #412094 for a pref to shut down these duplicative scans.
Firefox: Sic transit gloria mundi.

Recall

User avatar
 
Posts: 1686
Joined: November 7th, 2004, 11:07 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post Posted January 12th, 2008, 1:33 pm

Just a FYI, I made a post about a serious issue with NOD32 and both official and nightly builds of firefox. It is currently being looked in to and will be fixed.

http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=197235
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-GB; rv:1.9) Gecko/2008051206 Firefox/3.0

ehume

User avatar
 
Posts: 6743
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 12:33 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ, USA

Post Posted January 12th, 2008, 2:02 pm

Were you using fx2 or fx3?
Firefox: Sic transit gloria mundi.

Recall

User avatar
 
Posts: 1686
Joined: November 7th, 2004, 11:07 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post Posted January 12th, 2008, 2:04 pm

ehume wrote:Were you using fx2 or fx3?


Tried with both, of course I could not install with FF3 due to incompatibility.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-GB; rv:1.9) Gecko/2008051206 Firefox/3.0

Alan Baxter
 
Posts: 4419
Joined: May 30th, 2005, 2:01 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Post Posted January 12th, 2008, 2:27 pm

ehume wrote:I filed Bug #412094 for a pref to shut down these duplicative scans.

Nice try, ehume. It took less than two hours for Matthias Versen to mark it as a duplicate of bug 393792, which has been marked as WONTFIX. At least we now have an official Mozilla response to our concerns. Thank goodness for third-party downloaders.

Matti
 
Posts: 13
Joined: November 30th, 2002, 6:48 pm

Post Posted January 12th, 2008, 2:52 pm

"At least we now have an official Mozilla response"
I'm not official, I'm just a bug triager doing this for many years.

bug 393792 comment #0:
"In my opinion we need UI to disable antivirus scanning and also allow the user
to select a scanner" , that's the reason why i marked it as dupe.

bug 407657 would be better IMHO but also marked wontfix

Note:
I don't like this <censored> at all because every ******* Antivirus Software comes with a background scanner which slows down the whole system (that's the reason why I don't have an antivirus scanner installed, does anyone know a virus scanner that can I install without installing x windows background services).
I'm also a seamonkey user but I have Firefox for bugzilal triage (crashing it :-) ) installed

Stifu

User avatar
 
Posts: 984
Joined: July 13th, 2007, 8:02 am

Post Posted January 12th, 2008, 3:05 pm

Technically, it wasn't a dupe of 393792...

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest