MozillaZine

Google fonts stopped working ?

Discuss how to use and promote Web standards with the Mozilla Gecko engine.
Perduta
 
Posts: 3
Joined: October 18th, 2014, 3:21 pm

Post Posted March 31st, 2018, 5:36 am

I use Google fonts on my website and it works fine with Chrome and Microsoft Edge, but has stopped working with Firefox possibly following Windows 10 automatic update. I upgraded to latest Firefox (57.0) but it still doesn't work with the Google fonts. Has anyone else seen this problem and does it warrant further research I wonder?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 119745
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted March 31st, 2018, 6:05 am

Version 57 is not the latest release version of Firefox. The current release version is 59.0.2 and can be downloaded here -- https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/new/

Moving to Web Development.

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10132
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted March 31st, 2018, 9:07 am

Hi Perduta, could a setting or add-on be blocking Firefox from downloading the fonts?

Check the web console for any messages generated while you load your page. https://developer.mozilla.org/docs/Tools/Web_Console

Among extensions, both NoScript and uBlock Origin can block font downloads.

Perduta
 
Posts: 3
Joined: October 18th, 2014, 3:21 pm

Post Posted May 12th, 2018, 11:18 pm

jscher2000 wrote:Hi Perduta, could a setting or add-on be blocking Firefox from downloading the fonts?

Check the web console for any messages generated while you load your page. https://developer.mozilla.org/docs/Tools/Web_Console

Among extensions, both NoScript and uBlock Origin can block font downloads.


I just want to confirm that the problem has been resolved by removing all my add-ons and extensions and then installing only the ones I actually use. I had hoped to identify the culprit, but it was inconclusive. Thanks for you both for your suggestions. :)

p.s. It is strange that after I did an update explicitly it was still using the older version 57 rather than the actual latest, but probably just me doing something wrong there.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 119745
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted May 13th, 2018, 3:58 am

it was still using the older version 57 rather than the actual latest,

What leads you to say that? Your User Agent String is reporting Firefox version 60.x.

Return to Web Development / Standards Evangelism


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest