MozillaZine


iWeb shadows in Firefox 5 don't work

Discuss how to use and promote Web standards with the Mozilla Gecko engine.
dwg7
 
Posts: 2
Joined: June 29th, 2011, 6:58 pm

Post Posted June 29th, 2011, 7:10 pm

Updated to Firefox 5 when it came out and everything worked fine. Did the latest security update a week ago and all web sites created with iWeb and shadows are all screwed up. Went back to Firefox 4 and all is well again but anyone using v. 5 isn't going to like anyone's web sites with iWeb shadows. Anyone have any ideas besides redoing all the web sites and putting a banner on the top of each web site telling people not to upgrade to Firefox 5?

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39851
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted June 30th, 2011, 3:16 am

URL to check?
Screen shots?
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

dwg7
 
Posts: 2
Joined: June 29th, 2011, 6:58 pm

Post Posted June 30th, 2011, 6:02 am

Trolly,
Can't send screen shots because I went back to Firefox 4 so everything looks fine.
http://www.starryinteractive.com/Digita ... tions.html
http://www.wawillc.com/Home.html

lifecaredotbz
 
Posts: 1
Joined: June 30th, 2011, 8:55 am

Post Posted June 30th, 2011, 10:50 am

I have a similar problem which has just started with Firefox 5. Heavy black boxes surround all my buttons. It looks fine on Safari - desktop, iPad, iPhone. This page is made using iWeb. Is this a bug - because I have no idea how to tell iWeb to fix it. http://www.lifecare.bz

pirillo101
 
Posts: 2
Joined: June 30th, 2011, 12:53 pm

Post Posted June 30th, 2011, 12:57 pm

I have the same problem , these sites had made with iweb

http://www.whiteline-music.net
http://www.robertomazzanti.it

They works perfectly with Explorer (any version) , Chrome , Safari and Firefox 4
but Firefox 5 has a bug

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53670
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted June 30th, 2011, 9:35 pm

Looks like a bug to me as well.
Only Firefox 5 has that problem
Firefox 3.6.x and Aurora (Firefox 6) and Nightly (Firefox 7) do not show those thick black borders.

Works:
ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/f ... a-central/ (20110324144535)
Doesn't work:
ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/f ... a-central/ (20110325030426)

http://hg.mozilla.org/mozilla-central/p ... 1c2f95f781

Doesn't work:
ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/f ... a-central/ (20110613030722)
Works:
ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/f ... a-central/ (20110614031407)

http://hg.mozilla.org/mozilla-central/p ... 0127d32405

EDIT:
Filed Bug 668742 – [REGRESSION] Thick black borders around images that use text shadow created by iWeb, only in Firefox 5, not in Firefox 3, 4, 6, 7
Last edited by dickvl on July 1st, 2011, 12:47 am, edited 3 times in total.

rcyge
 
Posts: 2
Joined: June 30th, 2011, 3:45 pm

Post Posted June 30th, 2011, 9:47 pm

OK, I have the same issue with the shadows in my iWeb built site that don't display properly - same black boxes! So, is Mozilla going to do anything to remedy this? Or do we have to redesign our sites without shadows??!!

Ridiculous - why can't they leave alone what works? There's enough challenges getting sites to work on all browsers... son't need new variables!

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 11609
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted June 30th, 2011, 11:04 pm

A new version of Firefox (6.0) will be out in about 8 weeks. Not sure whether 5.0 will get any fixes before then.

Mordwin
 
Posts: 653
Joined: June 8th, 2005, 6:10 am

Post Posted July 1st, 2011, 4:45 am

Unlikely unless there's a serious security issue, and even then chances are it will only be that that is fixed.

This seems to be the main bug : https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=662898 which is resolved fixed, so the issue will likely have to be lived with until FF6 is out (looks like some test failures caused it to just miss FF5...)

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53670
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted July 1st, 2011, 8:24 am

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=662898#c18
Boris Zbarsky (:bz) 2011-07-01 07:36:37 PDT

> Can we expect any improvement in a Firefox 5 update or do we need to wait until > Firefox 6 is released?

Most likely the latter. That should happen in mid-August....

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 11609
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted July 1st, 2011, 12:10 pm

Does iWeb let you add script to a page? You could try a workaround like this for the duration:

Code: Select all
<script type="text/javscript">
function iWebunshadow(){
  var cnv, i, img;
  cnv = document.querySelectorAll("canvas");
  for (i=0; i<cnv.length; i++){
    if (cnv[i].parentNode.className.indexOf("shadow")>-1){
      img = cnv[i].parentNode.querySelector("img");
      if (img) img.style.opacity = "1";
      cnv[i].style.display = "none";
    }
  }
}
if(navigator.userAgent.indexOf("Firefox/5.0")>-1){
  // for Fx5, strip iWeb image shadow canvases starting in 2 seconds
  window.setTimeout(iWebunshadow,2000);
}
</script>


This bookmarklet version (for testing) omits the setTimeout:

Code: Select all
javascript:if(navigator.userAgent.indexOf("Firefox/5.0")>-1){var cnv, i, img; cnv = document.querySelectorAll("canvas");for (i=0; i<cnv.length; i++){if (cnv[i].parentNode.className.indexOf("shadow")>-1){img = cnv[i].parentNode.querySelector("img"); if (img) img.style.opacity = "1";cnv[i].style.display = "none";}}} void 0;

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39851
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted July 1st, 2011, 12:46 pm

Greasemonkey?
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

Frenzie

User avatar
 
Posts: 2135
Joined: May 5th, 2004, 10:40 am
Location: Belgium

Post Posted July 2nd, 2011, 1:41 am

Code: Select all
  // for Fx5, strip iWeb image shadow canvases starting in 2 seconds
  window.setTimeout(iWebunshadow,2000);

Wouldn't it make more sense to go wtih DOMContentLoaded?
Intelligent alien life does exist, otherwise they would have contacted us.

leslyejoy
 
Posts: 7
Joined: June 27th, 2011, 2:24 pm

Post Posted July 2nd, 2011, 7:36 pm

I am having same problem. Tried jscher2000's fix, it removed the black box in Firefox but also the shadow in Safari, which was working fine. Is there any point to doing this rather than just getting rid of the shadow in the iWeb design?

Frenzie

User avatar
 
Posts: 2135
Joined: May 5th, 2004, 10:40 am
Location: Belgium

Post Posted July 3rd, 2011, 2:18 am

leslyejoy wrote:it removed the black box in Firefox but also the shadow in Safari, which was working fine

Huh, so if you type
Code: Select all
javascript:alert(navigator.userAgent.indexOf("Firefox/5.0"))

into the addressbar it's something different than -1 in Safari? O_o
Intelligent alien life does exist, otherwise they would have contacted us.

Return to Web Development / Standards Evangelism


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests