MozillaZine

My own Google Map icons are not visible in Firefox 8

Discuss how to use and promote Web standards with the Mozilla Gecko engine.
keith13
 
Posts: 2
Joined: November 10th, 2011, 10:15 pm

Post Posted November 10th, 2011, 10:32 pm

I have many Google Maps on my website( http://walkinginfrance.info/)and they contain both default Google icons and my own icons, each with their own URLs. They work correctly in all other browsers, and Firefox up to FF7.

However, yesterday I loaded Firefox 8. In FF8 the Google default icons are still visible but my own icons are now invisible, but their placeholders are still there. They are still visible in all other browsers. Also, if I now try and add one of my icons to a map, the process seems to work correctly, including a placemark name appearing, but the icon is invisible. The invisible icon is definitely there because you can click the placemark and be taken to the correct position on the map for editing, but the icon is not visible.

To see the problem you need to look at a map in my website eg http://walkinginfrance.info/?page_id=7886 in both FF8 and another browser to see that the Google default icons are visible in both browsers, but my own icons ("Start" and "Finish" in this case) are not visible in FF8.
Last edited by keith13 on November 11th, 2011, 5:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

andi.martin
 
Posts: 2
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 7:06 am

Post Posted November 11th, 2011, 7:08 am

We have the same issue on one of our pages.. http://ourmothertongues.org/LanguageMaps.aspx - worked in every other browser including FF7.

If anyone finds a fix, please let me know!

Thanks.

WLS

User avatar
 
Posts: 2207
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted November 11th, 2011, 7:41 am

andi.martin wrote:We have the same issue on one of our pages.. http://ourmothertongues.org/LanguageMaps.aspx - worked in every other browser including FF7.

If anyone finds a fix, please let me know!

Thanks.


Reloading the page worked for me. Don't know why it didn't render on first load.
Useless to you, is useful to someone else.
AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 4.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Kubuntu 14.10 | KDE 4.14.1

guillaumeDiadao
 
Posts: 3
Joined: November 16th, 2011, 4:07 am

Post Posted November 16th, 2011, 4:12 am

Hi

I have the same problem with my map... on firefox 9.0 :s
Anyone find a tips to fix this bug ?

Thanks

ki11ua
 
Posts: 2
Joined: November 14th, 2007, 6:58 am

Post Posted November 17th, 2011, 1:53 am

Same problem here!
Please fix this problem asap, I've embedded thousands of maps with custom icons!

Mordwin
 
Posts: 653
Joined: June 8th, 2005, 6:10 am

Post Posted November 17th, 2011, 6:25 am

Maybe something to do with this?

guillaumeDiadao
 
Posts: 3
Joined: November 16th, 2011, 4:07 am

Post Posted November 17th, 2011, 6:55 am

Mordwin wrote:Maybe something to do with this?


Thanks to share....
... every body see the problem but there's no solution to fix it yet :(

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39100
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted November 17th, 2011, 7:07 am

Read https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=702578#c2 and fix the cross-origin headers on your server.
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

guillaumeDiadao
 
Posts: 3
Joined: November 16th, 2011, 4:07 am

Post Posted November 17th, 2011, 7:46 am

Thanks trolly ! it works now : with a htaccess file in the same location than my icons.
Great !

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 9586
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted November 17th, 2011, 9:17 am

So was the solution to add a header such as (from: HTTP access control - MDN):

Code: Select all
Access-Control-Allow-Origin: *

If so, what is the syntax for adding that to .htaccess?

Edit: Even if you used a different solution, could you post it? :D

andi.martin
 
Posts: 2
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 7:06 am

Post Posted November 18th, 2011, 8:59 am

Trolly, thanks for your input. That's sorted it.

lookatthosemoose
 
Posts: 1
Joined: November 18th, 2011, 9:00 am

Post Posted November 18th, 2011, 9:02 am

Also, see: http://enable-cors.org for more information regarding how to enable cross origin resource sharing for different servers.

keith13
 
Posts: 2
Joined: November 10th, 2011, 10:15 pm

Post Posted November 19th, 2011, 5:10 pm

Thanks. I followed the instructions in http://enable-cors.org and got my icons back!

nico.mollet
 
Posts: 4
Joined: November 28th, 2011, 4:11 am

Post Posted November 28th, 2011, 4:13 am

Alright FF8 enabled CORS. What about file sharing services like Dropbox where we can't upload .htaccess files to change the "Access-Control-Allow-Origin".

Now Dropbox is pretty useless on Firefox8, should Dropbox change his policy just for Firefox8 ?

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 9586
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted November 28th, 2011, 11:04 am

nico.mollet wrote:Now Dropbox is pretty useless on Firefox8, should Dropbox change his policy just for Firefox8 ?

Could you describe the scenario where Dropbox doesn't work?

Return to Web Development / Standards Evangelism


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests