MozillaZine

Links aren't working, css not recognized.

Discuss how to use and promote Web standards with the Mozilla Gecko engine.
starlight1992
 
Posts: 1
Joined: May 18th, 2015, 7:19 am

Post Posted May 18th, 2015, 7:25 am

Alright so I am working on a website for a company called KBDuct. On the homepage, there are links for the "clamp together video" and "ducting layout planner". These links work in google chrome but not in mozilla or IE. When I inspected these elements within these browsers, the developer tools seem to not even recognize the elements at all. However if I inspect the "download catalog" button, everything seems to pop up in the developer tools. Its really strange. Some help would be greatly appreciated.


Website: www.KBDuct.com

Programming Language: PHP

If you need to see any of my coding let me know.

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39904
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted May 18th, 2015, 11:55 am

Works for me.
But there is a major error. All three links are contained by a div with the same id. This can not be.

All divs below have the id "catalog".

Code: Select all
<div id="catalog">
<a href="http://www.kbduct.com/ducting-components-catalog-order/"><p>DOWNLOAD CATALOG <img src="http://www.kbduct.com/img/download_icon.png"></p></a>
</div>
<div id="catalog">
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X_tbdgGVGrU&amp;feature=youtu.be" target="_blank"><p>CLAMP TOGETHER VIDEO </p></a>
</div>
<div id="catalog">
<a href="http://www.kbduct.com/ducting-layout-planner" target="_blank"><p>DUCTING LAYOUT PLANNER</p></a>
</div>
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10538
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted May 18th, 2015, 6:30 pm

Depending on the shape and size of the window, div#slideup_cont can block some or all of those elements. Unlike (older versions of) IE, Firefox does not pass clicks through transparent elements higher in the z-order.

To see what I mean, open Firefox's web console (Ctrl+Shift+k) and run this code, then close the console, resize the window and watch what happens:

Code: Select all
document.getElementById("slideup_cont").style.backgroundColor="#000";


Ideally the z-order of the blocked buttons would be higher than the (black) box but lower than the elements that slide up from the footer. You may need to experiment a bit.

Return to Web Development / Standards Evangelism


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest