MozillaZine

[SOLVED] FF does not show text on page..IE and Chrome does

Discuss how to use and promote Web standards with the Mozilla Gecko engine.
Starlite
 
Posts: 291
Joined: March 22nd, 2004, 5:56 pm
Location: Sydney Oz

Post Posted September 27th, 2015, 3:37 pm

Hi,

I have latest FF 41 with Win 7 Pro 32 although the problem has been with previous FF versions as well.

I am creating a Joomla site and whilst I can see certain text on the site with Chrome and IE, I do not see it with FF.

Any ideas why this could be?

Thanks.

I will PM the link if needed.

oz
Last edited by Starlite on September 27th, 2015, 8:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 118402
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted September 27th, 2015, 3:59 pm

Moving to Web Development.

Can you post the URL to the site so folks can see what you are seeing?

Starlite
 
Posts: 291
Joined: March 22nd, 2004, 5:56 pm
Location: Sydney Oz

Post Posted September 27th, 2015, 4:56 pm

Sure..

Site being created now.. still unpublished..

Firefox can't read white text when home page boxes are hovered over... Chrome and IE do see it.

they all click to page okay.. It's just the hovering.

Edit... took link out ...
Last edited by Starlite on September 27th, 2015, 8:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted September 27th, 2015, 5:20 pm

Clear your cache... for development you should have cache disabled anyway. I'm assuming you are talking about the white text in the hover menus? Works fine for me.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43367
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted September 27th, 2015, 6:32 pm

Works for me as well.
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

Starlite
 
Posts: 291
Joined: March 22nd, 2004, 5:56 pm
Location: Sydney Oz

Post Posted September 27th, 2015, 7:55 pm

Thanks guys,

Okay cleared cache etc., and still no different.

I will try safe mode and see what happens.

Starlite
 
Posts: 291
Joined: March 22nd, 2004, 5:56 pm
Location: Sydney Oz

Post Posted September 27th, 2015, 8:00 pm

No still the same..

Also turned off HDW acceleration..

What else could it be then ?

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10077
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted September 27th, 2015, 8:20 pm

Does the transition happen on your Firefox at all, i.e., can you see the background color and little circular icon at the bottom?

Starlite
 
Posts: 291
Joined: March 22nd, 2004, 5:56 pm
Location: Sydney Oz

Post Posted September 27th, 2015, 8:30 pm

Ah haaa. found it !

Not sure what you meant by the little icon.. looked on IE, chrome and FF and couldn't see anything.

Anyway I zoomed out and then saw the text.

Text must have been too big for it.

Anyway cool now.

Thanks for the help.

I will remove the link now.

Return to Web Development / Standards Evangelism


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests