MozillaZine

Spacing Issues With Tables

Discuss how to use and promote Web standards with the Mozilla Gecko engine.
matrix23
 
Posts: 2
Joined: February 26th, 2007, 5:36 am

Post Posted February 26th, 2007, 5:41 am

Here's an example page on a site that I'm building: http://www.walfins.co.uk/acatalog/Fox_7_.html

It has various tables in it and I'm trying to get the spacing in the tables to display as they would in IE. Can anyone tell me why Firefox adds extra space when displaying tables and how can I correct this? I have tried various formatting and CSS options but none so far have worked.

Many Thanks

GN85
 
Posts: 69
Joined: October 20th, 2006, 10:06 am

Post Posted February 26th, 2007, 8:35 am

matrix23 this is more of an HTML question, it's not a flaw in Firefox that's causing your problem.

I think it's the paragraphs in your table cells that are creating these spaces. This also happens with divs too, and I think that changing your paragraph margins and/or paddings to 0px may solve your problem.

PS: if you post on any forum seeking for help regarding your html code, at least clean it up a little and make it readable. I'm not too sure many people would be willing to help you when your whole web page is coded in 1 line.

matrix23
 
Posts: 2
Joined: February 26th, 2007, 5:36 am

Post Posted February 26th, 2007, 9:09 am

Thanks for your reply.

Regarding your comment about cleaning up the code: the code is generated by the Actinic e-commerce software that I use. I have no control over that. If you are using Firefox you can go to View | Wrap Long Lines to make it easier to read.

PS: If you're going to reply to any more of my posts at least try to be a bit less rude. I don't think anyone really wants help in that manner.

The Ex Omega
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted February 26th, 2007, 12:06 pm

matrix23 wrote:Thanks for your reply.

Regarding your comment about cleaning up the code: the code is generated by the Actinic e-commerce software that I use. I have no control over that. If you are using Firefox you can go to View | Wrap Long Lines to make it easier to read.

PS: If you're going to reply to any more of my posts at least try to be a bit less rude. I don't think anyone really wants help in that manner.


He is not being rude, and this thread is in the wrong section. HTML/Web Dev issues goes in the Web Development/Evangelism board: http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewforum.php?f=25

Dartman
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 11995
Joined: February 9th, 2006, 9:43 pm

Post Posted February 26th, 2007, 1:26 pm

Moving to Web Development.
Alcohol and Calculus don't mix. Never drink and derive.

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10232
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted February 26th, 2007, 3:12 pm

What GN85 is suggesting is that you create an explicit rule to suppress top margins where you want them suppressed, rather than relying on IE's doing that for you. Example that you could tailor to your needs (for <p> and <h3> elements inside a table cell):

Code: Select all
td p, td h3 {margin-top:0}

GN85
 
Posts: 69
Joined: October 20th, 2006, 10:06 am

Post Posted February 26th, 2007, 3:52 pm

matrix23 wrote:Thanks for your reply.

Regarding your comment about cleaning up the code: the code is generated by the Actinic e-commerce software that I use. I have no control over that. If you are using Firefox you can go to View | Wrap Long Lines to make it easier to read.

PS: If you're going to reply to any more of my posts at least try to be a bit less rude. I don't think anyone really wants help in that manner.

Sorry man, just trying to be helpful, but yeah I can see why you got offended. Perhaps adding a smiley or two would have made my post seem more friendly :P

Return to Web Development / Standards Evangelism


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest