Embedded audio player and mouseover sound in FF2

Discuss how to use and promote Web standards with the Mozilla Gecko engine.
andycarlsson

Embedded audio player and mouseover sound in FF2

Post by andycarlsson »

I live in China, where I work as a teacher.

Last year I was putting together a site which included sound to help some of my students.

I needed to use an embedded player which would work in both IE and FF, not using Flash or any special plugins, because due to the internet restrictions where I live for some reason Flash very rarely works and you cant download and install plugins very easily.

So, eventually I found and used the two bits of code in the page the link for which is pasted below and everything was fine, the embedded player and the mouseover sound both worked fine in FF and IE.

However, I took some time off due to illness, and now when I have started working on the site again I find that although the code still works fine in IE it doesn't work with FF2.

I would be really really grateful if somebody could suggest some ajustments to the code so that once again I can make both the embedded player and the mouseover sound work in FF and IE.

Here is the link to a page which has the two bits of code on :

http://www.sweetlingo.com/soundpage.html

Thanks for your help
jscher2000

Post by jscher2000 »

Do you have a backup? Most of your <embed> tag is missing:

Code: Select all

<object classid="CLSID:6BF52A52-394A-11d3-B153-00C04F79FAA6" 
  codebase="http://activex.microsoft.com/activex/controls/mplayer/en/nsmp2inf.cab#Version=5,1,52,701"
  standby="Loading Microsoft Windows Media Player components..."
  type="application/x-oleobject" height="1" width="1">
    <param name="url" value="sountest2.mp3">
    <param name="uiMode" value="full">
    <param name="autoStart" value="true">
    <param name="loop" value="true">
    <embed type="application/x-mplayer2"><br>
</object>