MozillaZine

click to play and addons using npapi plugin

Discuss building things with or for the Mozilla Platform.
rajesh2013
 
Posts: 7
Joined: October 21st, 2013, 9:04 am

Post Posted October 21st, 2013, 9:11 am

I have a addon that uses npapi plugin in background page ...and because of click to play feature the plugin is not enabled in nightlies as designed..
But i think when the browser detects addons\extension and prompt to activate it ...it should also allow the plugin which it depends on to activate it...

There should be some way to activate when the addon/extension is detected .....

There is also js-ctypes but i don't think there is any benefit or need to rewrite again everything....as its just another native interface...

can this feature\support be added for addons that depend on npapi plugins...

Elbart
 
Posts: 997
Joined: February 21st, 2010, 8:38 am

Post Posted October 24th, 2013, 3:01 am

There's an icon in the location-bar.
gone

rajesh2013
 
Posts: 7
Joined: October 21st, 2013, 9:04 am

Post Posted October 24th, 2013, 4:50 am

Elbart wrote:There's an icon in the location-bar.


in addons, plugin is loaded in background page...which is hidden ....so there is no notification for it....I have to go in plugins and enable it from there to make it work....how will end user know this if he installs my addon..and plus this will be bad....

That icon you are saying will work for normal pages using plugins......
Last edited by rajesh2013 on October 25th, 2013, 1:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

Elbart
 
Posts: 997
Joined: February 21st, 2010, 8:38 am

Post Posted October 24th, 2013, 5:04 am

I don't know what you mean with "addons plugin". What extension or plugin are you talking about?
gone

rajesh2013
 
Posts: 7
Joined: October 21st, 2013, 9:04 am

Post Posted October 24th, 2013, 5:05 am

firefox addon made usign firefox addon sdk....

rajesh2013
 
Posts: 7
Joined: October 21st, 2013, 9:04 am

Post Posted October 24th, 2013, 5:13 am

here is sample addon which does this....
https://github.com/oliverguenther/broadmask-firefox

below is the bg page which loads a npapi plugin......this is how i am also doing
https://github.com/oliverguenther/broad ... round.html

rajesh2013
 
Posts: 7
Joined: October 21st, 2013, 9:04 am

Post Posted October 25th, 2013, 1:16 am

Elbart did you get my point ...any updates on this...
Or can any firefox admin or developer update me on this

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 32021
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted October 25th, 2013, 1:44 am

With the current rendition of Click-to-Play your plugin loading in a background page just ain't gonna work.

Overall, your question isn't appropriate for this Firefox Features forum. It is more of a development question, more suitable in a different forum. Like maybe here: viewforum.php?f=27

I suggest you look for a Mozilla Development discussion where the Firefox developers hang out to discuss Plugin issues.
http://www.mozilla.org/about/forums/#general-development
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

rajesh2013
 
Posts: 7
Joined: October 21st, 2013, 9:04 am

Post Posted October 25th, 2013, 2:10 am

the-edmeister wrote:With the current rendition of Click-to-Play your plugin loading in a background page just ain't gonna work.

Overall, your question isn't appropriate for this Firefox Features forum. It is more of a development question, more suitable in a different forum. Like maybe here: viewforum.php?f=27

I suggest you look for a Mozilla Development discussion where the Firefox developers hang out to discuss Plugin issues.
http://www.mozilla.org/about/forums/#general-development


how can this topic be moved to development directly

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37983
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted October 25th, 2013, 2:13 am

I'll move it there now...
Off to Moz Dev...
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-56.0.1-57.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

rajesh2013
 
Posts: 7
Joined: October 21st, 2013, 9:04 am

Post Posted October 26th, 2013, 3:42 am

Mozilla dev's please comment because its a very important issue which is creating problem to my addon to work for future versions of
Firefox with click to play support....I have to make sure that my addon will work with this feature on....

Return to Mozilla Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests