MozillaZine


Thunderbird v102 fails to auto update

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
Niloc
 
Posts: 5
Joined: March 5th, 2007, 11:05 pm

Post Posted August 6th, 2022, 9:50 pm

My operating system is Windows Pro 10 64-bit operating system and until earlier this year Thunderbird had always launched the x86, 32-bit version. I have always allowed any updates to be installed when prompted.
However, I choose to install product version 102.0 file version 102.0.0.0 when it became available in about June 2022.
Question 1. Why do the updates NOT download when available? I have to download the newer update and manually re-install it.
Question 2. What should I do with the x86, 32-bit version? Thunderbird is not offering updates after I installed product 102.0. Should I delete the 32-bit version, or leave it as is, just in case it could be required sometime in the future?
Thanks.

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 49389
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted August 6th, 2022, 11:40 pm

What is tools -> settings -> general -> Thunderbird updates -> "allow Thunderbird to" set to?

I've automatically updated so far to 102.1.1.

Try using help -> about Thunderbird. In the past that updated Thunderbird if a update was available regardless of your update settings.

You could download the latest setup program from thunderbird.net and install 102.1.1 over the existing 32-bit installation. AFAIK there is no benefit to having the 32-bit version nowadays if you have a x64 version of Windows. There were some bugs that were triggered by whether Thunderbird was installed in Program Files or Program Files (x86) but AFAIK they've been fixed for a good while. By installing in the current installation directory you avoid problems using your existing profile due to the "dedicated profile per installation" feature they added in version 78.

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/de ... stallation

The only reason I know of for 102 not to at least ask you if you want to update is if you disabled checking for updates using either the windows registry, a policies.json file, or deleted the updater.exe utility in the installation directory. It doesn't sound like you did any of those.

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 49389
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted August 6th, 2022, 11:43 pm

Moved from Thunderbird General to Thunderbird Support.

morat
 
Posts: 5300
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted August 7th, 2022, 4:24 am

Here is how to check for active policies like DisableAppUpdate or ManualAppUpdateOnly in the about:policies page.

Menu Bar > Help > More Troubleshooting Information

Click "Active" or "Inactive" or "Error" link next to "Enterprise Policies" to open the about:policies page.

reft
 
Posts: 127
Joined: March 11th, 2003, 1:07 pm

Post Posted August 11th, 2022, 4:47 am

102.1.2

Tried clicking "Inactive" (in my case) next to "Enterprise Policies" as suggested. Nothing happens.

morat
 
Posts: 5300
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted August 11th, 2022, 5:03 am

Okay. The link is enabled for "Active", but not for "Inactive".

Use the Error Console utility to open the about:policies page.

Menu Bar > Tools > Developer Tools > Error Console (ctrl+shift+j)

Code: Select all
openContentTab("about:policies", "tab");

More info: viewtopic.php?f=39&t=3075977

reft
 
Posts: 127
Joined: March 11th, 2003, 1:07 pm

Post Posted August 11th, 2022, 7:59 am

I don't know what I am supposed to do once I have done Menu Bar > Tools > Developer Tools > Error Console (ctrl+shift+j). What do I do with the quoted code? Thanks.

morat
 
Posts: 5300
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted August 11th, 2022, 8:23 am

Instructions:

* open error console
* paste code into error console
* press enter

You can also add numbers. Type 1+2, then press enter to show 3.

reft
 
Posts: 127
Joined: March 11th, 2003, 1:07 pm

Post Posted August 11th, 2022, 9:12 am

Okay done that. I get a load of output. I am not a developer. I don't know what this means or what I'm supposed to do with it. I can't see anything mentioning DisableAppUpdate or ManualAppUpdateOnly.

morat
 
Posts: 5300
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted August 11th, 2022, 11:20 am

If the policies are inactive, then there are no active policies that could cause the failure to auto update.

P.S.

I can see a list of policies in the documentation vertical tab.

Screenshot
http://imgur.com/a/pFYFqZa

morat
 
Posts: 5300
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted August 20th, 2022, 5:49 am

tanstaafl wrote:The only reason I know of for 102 not to at least ask you if you want to update is if you disabled checking for updates using either the windows registry, a policies.json file, or deleted the updater.exe utility in the installation directory.

You can also set the app.update.channel preference to a nonexistent channel in one of the following files.

* <profile folder>\prefs.js
* <profile folder>\user.js
* <installation folder>\defaults\pref\channel-prefs.js

More info: viewtopic.php?p=14936864#p14936864

LIMPET235 says the app.update.channel method still works in Firefox 99.

Personally, I don't recommend unofficial methods to turn off auto update since users often forgot how to undo the unofficial methods. The official method has a "Updates disabled by the system administrator" message in the Thunderbird Updates settings and About Thunderbird window. The unofficial methods don't change the UI.

Help articles written by Mozilla:

Best practices for installing and updating Firefox
http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/bes ... ng-firefox

Managing Firefox Updates
http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/man ... ox-updates

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests