MozillaZine

I can't send mails with TB with smtp.sbcglobal.yahoo.com

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Thunderbird
ionut_y
 
Posts: 18
Joined: November 6th, 2006, 4:26 am

Post Posted November 6th, 2006, 5:56 am

I have TB 1.5.7
Extensions : Webmail 1.0.13
Webmail - Yahoo 1.1.8


Windows xp sp2
Avg Free

I can receive mails,but when I send, TB is asking me for the password over and over ....

SMTP server : smtp.sbcglobal.yahoo.com
Port : 25
User name <myname>@yahoo.com


Many Thanks !!!!

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122912
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted November 6th, 2006, 9:08 am

SBC/AT&T Yahoo have changed something. See if this topic helps you. http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=483000

ionut_y
 
Posts: 18
Joined: November 6th, 2006, 4:26 am

Post Posted November 7th, 2006, 11:04 am

Daifne wrote:SBC/AT&T Yahoo have changed something. See if this topic helps you. http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=483000


Thanks for your answer.


No...i've tried a lot of things ...nothing but :

Enter your password for <user>@yahoo.com on smtp.sbcglobal.yahoo.com

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122912
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted November 7th, 2006, 3:09 pm

The user name you need is the sbcglobal user name, not the Yahoo user name. It should end with @sbcglobal.net

BTW, you do not need the webmail extension for SBCGlobal Yahoo. That is only needed for the free USA Yahoo accounts.

ionut_y
 
Posts: 18
Joined: November 6th, 2006, 4:26 am

Post Posted November 7th, 2006, 11:05 pm

Daifne wrote:The user name you need is the sbcglobal user name, not the Yahoo user name. It should end with @sbcglobal.net

BTW, you do not need the webmail extension for SBCGlobal Yahoo. That is only needed for the free USA Yahoo accounts.


Thanks for aswer.

My account is a free one.

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122912
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted November 7th, 2006, 11:10 pm

So you have both the SBCGlobal Yahoo and a free Yahoo account? Either way, you still need to use the SBCGlobal user name with the SBCGlobal SMTP server.

ionut_y
 
Posts: 18
Joined: November 6th, 2006, 4:26 am

Post Posted November 7th, 2006, 11:41 pm

Daifne wrote:So you have both the SBCGlobal Yahoo and a free Yahoo account? Either way, you still need to use the SBCGlobal user name with the SBCGlobal SMTP server.



No, I have only a free Yahoo account.

Thanks !

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122912
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted November 7th, 2006, 11:47 pm

Then why are you using the SBCGlobal SMTP server?
ionut_y wrote:SMTP server : smtp.sbcglobal.yahoo.com


Who is your ISP then?

ionut_y
 
Posts: 18
Joined: November 6th, 2006, 4:26 am

Post Posted November 8th, 2006, 12:27 am

Daifne wrote:Then why are you using the SBCGlobal SMTP server?
ionut_y wrote:SMTP server : smtp.sbcglobal.yahoo.com


Who is your ISP then?


I didn't know how to configure SMTP server for yahoo free account and I found some info on this forum,so how can i configure for a yahoo free account.

Thanks !

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122912
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted November 8th, 2006, 8:27 am

Who is your ISP then?

ionut_y
 
Posts: 18
Joined: November 6th, 2006, 4:26 am

Post Posted November 8th, 2006, 10:39 am

Daifne wrote:Who is your ISP then?


My Internet Service Provider is Romtelecom Roumania

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122912
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted November 8th, 2006, 10:41 am

Use their SMTP server. That's the best way.

ionut_y
 
Posts: 18
Joined: November 6th, 2006, 4:26 am

Post Posted November 8th, 2006, 11:29 pm

Daifne wrote:Use their SMTP server. That's the best way.


No, it doesn't work...i will use my browser to access and send mails.Thanks for help !!!

ionut_y
 
Posts: 18
Joined: November 6th, 2006, 4:26 am

Post Posted November 9th, 2006, 2:52 am

ionut_y wrote:
Daifne wrote:Use their SMTP server. That's the best way.


No, it doesn't work...i will use my browser to access and send mails.Thanks for help !!!


I don't give up...... so it is possible to use my free account with another smtp but yahoo? I don't have account on my provider.

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122912
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted November 9th, 2006, 9:32 am

Yes it is.

Return to Thunderbird General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests