MozillaZine

Importing?

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Thunderbird
badger

User avatar
 
Posts: 123
Joined: January 21st, 2003, 3:37 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Post Posted April 1st, 2003, 1:45 pm

Has anyone gotten import to work? I get no response when I select the menu item.

Help page says it is supposed to work (or implies it anyway)..

badger

Nostromo

User avatar
 
Posts: 144
Joined: December 3rd, 2002, 5:50 am
Location: UK

Post Posted April 2nd, 2003, 2:55 am

Hi Badger.
I have just downloaded and tried Minotaur yesterday, because I would love to move away from Eudora, too.
The first thing that I have tried was the import function, but I had the same result :(
Hope that someone overthere (hey devs.. can you hear me?) will fix that soon..
Nostromo.

tve
Moderator
 
Posts: 3275
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 12:07 pm
Location: Federal Republic of Germany

Post Posted April 2nd, 2003, 3:13 am

yeah, I need that too.. but its not even 0.1 and doesnt even have its own Profile (uses Mozilla profile), so I'm not too worried yet ;)
<i>Latest Firefox Trunk & Thunderbird 1.0</i>

badger

User avatar
 
Posts: 123
Joined: January 21st, 2003, 3:37 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Post Posted April 2nd, 2003, 10:29 am

yeah, I figured as much, (and I did catch a note on the Min to-do list was to fix the import dialog not coming up yet...)

I was just hoping there was a simple trick to get it working.

since it based off of Moz mail it is amazingly functional.

badger

michel v

User avatar
 
Posts: 145
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 8:54 am
Location: Corsica

Post Posted April 2nd, 2003, 2:39 pm

Well, a simple workaround is to use Mozilla Mail to do the Import, and then switch to Minotaur. :)

badger

User avatar
 
Posts: 123
Joined: January 21st, 2003, 3:37 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Post Posted April 2nd, 2003, 3:34 pm

michel v wrote:Well, a simple workaround is to use Mozilla Mail to do the Import, and then switch to Minotaur. :)

so I can install mozilla, do all my setup and then launch minatour and it will just work?

with the new regime coming will everything just work ? for example, is the new moz browser going to just pick up all the settings etc that I have for my phx .5?

Spewey
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 5799
Joined: January 25th, 2003, 2:06 pm
Location: St. Paul, MinnesĀ°ta

Post Posted April 2nd, 2003, 3:40 pm

badger wrote:with the new regime coming will everything just work ?


regimechange! don't be a regimesupporter!

Fuzzle
 
Posts: 101
Joined: November 16th, 2002, 2:03 pm

Post Posted April 6th, 2003, 8:05 am

last night i grabbed Minny, and this morning I used moz to import my addy book. Yes it works, flawlessly, in fact.

mscott

User avatar
 
Posts: 2516
Joined: April 2nd, 2003, 4:10 pm
Location: Thunderbird Research Center, CA

Post Posted April 6th, 2003, 3:40 pm

In the builds up on ftp.mozilla.org, there is a bug where the import dialog isn't coming up. I've fixed this on the work I'm doing to land on the trunk. Once I come out with the first minotaur trunk build you should see this fixed.

If I spin up new minotaur builds from the 0.1 alpha branch, I'll make sure I put the import fix in it too.

Return to Thunderbird General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests