MozillaZine

Thunderbird "Beta" 64 Bit Builds

Discussion about official Mozilla Thunderbird builds
DN123ABC
 
Posts: 560
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Post Posted February 26th, 2020, 7:33 pm

Does anybody else want to see 64 bit builds come out?

Why do they not seem to want to do this?

I know there are some builds available, but it does not automatically install these on 64 bit machines by default.

Why is that?

Is there a list of bugs left that is preventing this from happening?

Thanks.

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 44167
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted February 26th, 2020, 7:46 pm

Probably just lack of resource's and or manpower maybe open the hinges on the old wallet and make a donation
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

Snake4
 
Posts: 976
Joined: December 27th, 2017, 4:03 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted February 26th, 2020, 8:40 pm

DN123ABC wrote:Does anybody else want to see 64 bit builds come out?

Why do they not seem to want to do this?

I know there are some builds available, but it does not automatically install these on 64 bit machines by default.

Why is that?

Is there a list of bugs left that is preventing this from happening?

Thanks.

try this to start the ball rolling https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/home/ then start writing some patches , goodluck

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 4427
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted February 27th, 2020, 11:02 am

Because you need to download and install the 64-bit versions from beta release.

I uninstalled my 32-bit version, then downloaded and installed a 64-bit version and that keeps updating and using the same profile.

What am I not understanding? :?: :?: :?:
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

Snake4
 
Posts: 976
Joined: December 27th, 2017, 4:03 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted February 27th, 2020, 2:45 pm

might as well Close the thread, he the OP of the thread keps asking this over an over again. , just go through his posts

DN123ABC
 
Posts: 560
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Post Posted February 28th, 2020, 10:54 am

WaltS48 wrote:Because you need to download and install the 64-bit versions from beta release.

I uninstalled my 32-bit version, then downloaded and installed a 64-bit version and that keeps updating and using the same profile.

What am I not understanding? :?: :?: :?:


What you are not understanding is that Thunderbird does not offer to upgrade automatically to 64 bit. The way it currently is, requires someone to come here and find out that those builds exist and to then go seek them out. What I am talking about is to have this process happen automatically with no end user intervention.

DN123ABC
 
Posts: 560
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Post Posted February 28th, 2020, 10:55 am

Rabbit4 wrote:might as well Close the thread, he the OP of the thread keps asking this over an over again. , just go through his posts


What the hell? The problem is that the inadequate condition continues to exist. What the heck is your problem?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123693
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted February 28th, 2020, 11:30 am

OK, enough. Locking this thread because the answer was given. There is no automatic update from 32bit to 64bit. Unfortunately the OP to acceptable this. Nothing we can do about that.

Return to Thunderbird Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests