Rename toolbar icon Thunderbird v102.0 beta3

Discussion about official Mozilla Thunderbird builds
Post Reply
lenny2
Posts: 68
Joined: June 8th, 2022, 3:10 am

Rename toolbar icon Thunderbird v102.0 beta3

Post by lenny2 »

You need to rename the button "Add-ons and Themes" to "Addons". Starting with v102.0 beta3, the code from this post stops working http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... #p14917903

Code: Select all

/* Thunderbird userChrome.css */

@namespace url("http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul");

#button-addons::after {
  content: "Addons";
  display: block;
  margin-left: 4px;
  margin-right: -2px;
}
#button-addons > .toolbarbutton-text {
  display: none !important;
}
Thank for help.
User avatar
WaltS48
Posts: 5141
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Rename toolbar icon Thunderbird v102.0 beta3

Post by WaltS48 »

Who do you mean by you?

The problem with renaming it is, it does take you to "Add-ons and Themes".

Well, the "Add-ons Manager" tab, so I would suggest filing an enhancement bug for Firefox > Preferences to rename it to "Add-ons Manager" since it is shared code.

Maybe you can find one already filed in this bug list.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5
lenny2
Posts: 68
Joined: June 8th, 2022, 3:10 am

Re: Rename toolbar icon Thunderbird v102.0 beta3

Post by lenny2 »

WaltS48 wrote:Well, the "Add-ons Manager" tab, so I would suggest filing an enhancement bug for Firefox > Preferences to rename it to "Add-ons Manager" since it is shared code.
It's not a big deal if the title is inaccurate or not literal. It's just that the other names are very long, and I need to shorten them. In TB v91.*-102.0b2 this code worked fine.
Image
morat
Posts: 6421
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Re: Rename toolbar icon Thunderbird v102.0 beta3

Post by morat »

I tried to install the beta, but the executable doesn't run on Windows 10 32-bit.

Thunderbird Test channel 64-bit only
http://portableapps.com/comment/249704#comment-249704

I can try to guess a fix.

Code: Select all

/* Thunderbird userChrome.css */

@namespace url("http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul");

*|#button-addons::after {
  content: "Addons";
  display: block;
  margin-left: 4px;
  margin-right: -2px;
}
*|#button-addons *|.toolbarbutton-text {
  display: none !important;
}
Remember to set the toolkit.legacyUserProfileCustomizations.stylesheets preference to true, then restart.

The toolbar button id is the same in the release and beta.

Reference
http://searchfox.org/comm-esr91/search?q=button-addons
http://searchfox.org/comm-central/searc ... ton-addons
http://searchfox.org/comm-central/sourc ... ersion.txt

How to get DOM info
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... #p14866214
lenny2
Posts: 68
Joined: June 8th, 2022, 3:10 am

Re: Rename toolbar icon Thunderbird v102.0 beta3

Post by lenny2 »

morat wrote:I can try to guess a fix.
The code has no effect, the name "Add-ons and Themes" is still there. If you remove the *| characters in the first line, the new name is added to the old one. The solution seems to be somewhere quite close.
Image
I download the beta-distributive from the permanent link https://download.mozilla.org/?product=t ... lang=en-US The distributive and the executable are 32-bit. I unzip the distribution and make a native portable.
Image
Thank for help!
morat
Posts: 6421
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Re: Rename toolbar icon Thunderbird v102.0 beta3

Post by morat »

Another guess.

Try this:

Code: Select all

/* Thunderbird userChrome.css */

@namespace url("http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul");

#button-addons::after {
  content: "Addons";
  display: block;
  margin-left: 4px;
  margin-right: -2px;
}
#button-addons label.toolbarbutton-text {
  display: none !important;
}
The label class is the same in the release and beta.

Reference
http://searchfox.org/comm-esr91/source/ ... -button.js
http://searchfox.org/comm-central/sourc ... -button.js
lenny2
Posts: 68
Joined: June 8th, 2022, 3:10 am

Re: Rename toolbar icon Thunderbird v102.0 beta3

Post by lenny2 »

morat wrote:Another guess.

Try this:
Now successfully, this code works =D> Thank you very much for your help!
User avatar
WaltS48
Posts: 5141
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Rename toolbar icon Thunderbird v102.0 beta3

Post by WaltS48 »

lenny2 wrote:
morat wrote:Another guess.

Try this:
Now successfully, this code works =D> Thank you very much for your help!
Happy that works for you.
Why not just use Icons only, as there are tool tips when you hover the icon?
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5
lenny2
Posts: 68
Joined: June 8th, 2022, 3:10 am

Re: Rename toolbar icon Thunderbird v102.0 beta3

Post by lenny2 »

WaltS48 wrote:Why not just use Icons only, as there are tool tips when you hover the icon?
Just for the sake of a nice design. The purpose of the buttons is well known to me, no tooltips are required :)
Post Reply