MozillaZine

Test Build of the New Win32 Installer Now Available

Discussion about official Mozilla Thunderbird builds
Athropos

User avatar
 
Posts: 238
Joined: October 17th, 2003, 11:04 am
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland

Post Posted March 16th, 2004, 12:29 am

I don't know if this has been reported, but this version often leave the Thunderbird process in memory. When I exit, the window disappears as usually, but I often get the profile manager when I want to launch it later, and I found that the process was still there. It happens perhaps 1 time out of 4. I've got an IMAP account, perhaps it is the source of the problem?
I'm using this build under WinXP...

TechFan
 
Posts: 88
Joined: September 6th, 2003, 10:03 pm

Post Posted March 16th, 2004, 3:02 am

Just a little plug for the get all button functionality. I have to confess, I think that is something OE has right. . .by default the check button checks all account (that are enabled). . .plus it less you choose to check just one specific one (lists them all out). . .and even lets you just choose to send all (if you don't send immediately) or receive all separately. I miss those options.

AlexIhrig
 
Posts: 239
Joined: May 23rd, 2003, 5:47 am
Location: Germany

Post Posted March 16th, 2004, 3:14 am

TechFan wrote:Just a little plug for the get all button functionality. I have to confess, I think that is something OE has right. . .by default the check button checks all account (that are enabled). . .plus it less you choose to check just one specific one (lists them all out). . .and even lets you just choose to send all (if you don't send immediately) or receive all separately. I miss those options.


Use the extension MagicSLR:
http://thunderbird.diepause.de/download ... dex-en.php
Thunderbird Mail DE: http://www.thunderbird-mail.de
Enigmail OpenPGP [de]: http://enigmail.thunderbird-mail.de/

sasquatch
 
Posts: 6022
Joined: November 25th, 2003, 8:56 am

Post Posted March 16th, 2004, 8:04 am

Any ideas on my win NT question a few posts back?

sasquatch
 
Posts: 6022
Joined: November 25th, 2003, 8:56 am

Post Posted March 16th, 2004, 9:38 am

A new thing I just noticed. When I click on the email notifications for this forum (all mozillazine forums), I used to have it open a Firefox window, and then after reading, I'd come back to Thunderbird, and click the next link which would replace the current window. Now it is starting a new window for each clicked link.

Please note I also ran the "official" 03152004 nightly installer of Firefox last night, so that might be a part of the problem. Just a heads up that something changed for me somewhere.

sasquatch
 
Posts: 6022
Joined: November 25th, 2003, 8:56 am

Post Posted March 16th, 2004, 9:40 am

sasquatch wrote:A new thing I just noticed. When I click on the email notifications for this forum (all mozillazine forums), I used to have it open a Firefox window, and then after reading, I'd come back to Thunderbird, and click the next link which would replace the current window. Now it is starting a new window for each clicked link.

Please note I also ran the "official" 03152004 nightly installer of Firefox last night, so that might be a part of the problem. Just a heads up that something changed for me somewhere.


Of course, as soon as I sent this, it started working properly again.

:roll:

kepardue
 
Posts: 140
Joined: May 14th, 2003, 9:43 am

Post Posted March 16th, 2004, 10:05 am

Admittedly being lazy without looking through this thread... when trying to install the latest nightly via installer (doing a custom install selecting the Offline extension), I get <i>three</i> icons installed onto my desktop, and an error message that said something to the effect of "OFFLINE Extension Does Not Exist", at which point the installer just sat there like a dumb dino. Doing the install again yielded better results... the three icons were replaced with just one icon, and the offline extension seemed to install (though it isn't showing up in my extensions list). Weird.

As an aside, the text alignment in the Extensions portion seems all wonky. See screenshot.
<img src="http://www.taylormadecom.com/test/mozilla-thunderbird-extensi.png">

Ken

Installing on Windows XP, Athlon XP 2700+, 480MB Ram

Greg K Nicholson

User avatar
 
Posts: 1328
Joined: September 28th, 2003, 8:58 am

Post Posted March 16th, 2004, 10:09 am

ckjnigel wrote:I think that in the column of mail and newsgroup accounts is the place to put RSS feeds.
Agreed :)

Kylotan
 
Posts: 478
Joined: July 21st, 2003, 4:45 am
Location: Nottingham, UK

Post Posted March 16th, 2004, 10:13 am

The Forumzilla extension does that already, doesn't it?

kepardue
 
Posts: 140
Joined: May 14th, 2003, 9:43 am

Post Posted March 16th, 2004, 10:33 am

In case nobody is aware (or if it's just me)... clicking on the Ger New Extensions button loads the extensions page INSIDE the options dialogue. On the off chance that it <i>is</i> supposed to be this way, all of the text appears mangled.

Screenshot:
<img src="http://www.taylormadecom.com/test/mozilla-tb-ext-load-in-wind.png">

Ken

mscott

User avatar
 
Posts: 2516
Joined: April 2nd, 2003, 4:10 pm
Location: Thunderbird Research Center, CA

Post Posted March 16th, 2004, 11:09 am

kepardue wrote:In case nobody is aware (or if it's just me)... clicking on the Ger New Extensions button loads the extensions page INSIDE the options dialogue. On the off chance that it <i>is</i> supposed to be this way, all of the text appears mangled.

Screenshot:

Ken


This usually happens when your OS no longer knows what your default browser is. Go to firefox or whatever your browser is and reset it as the default browser app.
Thunderbirds are Go!

djst
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 2826
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 1:34 am
Location: Sweden

Post Posted March 16th, 2004, 11:21 am

Wouldn't it be better if it displayed an error message instead of displaying the page inline? Is this considered a bug or is it intentional behavior?

jedbro

User avatar
 
Posts: 1899
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 12:35 pm
Location: Mexico / Boulder Co.

Post Posted March 16th, 2004, 11:43 am

kepardue wrote:Screenshot:
<img src="http://www.taylormadecom.com/test/mozilla-tb-ext-load-in-wind.png">
Ken

That is really cool :)
Can you click on an extension and install it?

Greg K Nicholson

User avatar
 
Posts: 1328
Joined: September 28th, 2003, 8:58 am

Post Posted March 16th, 2004, 12:28 pm

Perhaps Tb should always open the page in the contents area?

timmyk0
 
Posts: 7
Joined: March 16th, 2004, 12:29 pm

Post Posted March 16th, 2004, 12:30 pm

Athropos wrote:I don't know if this has been reported, but this version often leave the Thunderbird process in memory. When I exit, the window disappears as usually, but I often get the profile manager when I want to launch it later, and I found that the process was still there. It happens perhaps 1 time out of 4. I've got an IMAP account, perhaps it is the source of the problem?
I'm using this build under WinXP...


Yeah. i have the same problem.
I will open Thunderbird and it will close fine sometimes but then others i close it and try to open it later and it wont open because it is already open in memory. So i end the thunderbird.exe process and it works. But that is the only problem i have, everything else works fine. thanks

Return to Thunderbird Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests