MozillaZine

0.6 Release Candidate 2 Builds Now Available

Discussion about official Mozilla Thunderbird builds
Levin

User avatar
 
Posts: 71
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 1:42 pm
Location: Montréal

Post Posted May 1st, 2004, 9:18 pm

gerbig wrote:Check http://texturizer.net/thunderbird/faq.html#q2.2 for instructions. Basically, you just need to copy everything from your User/Library/Mozilla folder to the Thunderbird folder. When I migrated from Mozilla 1.6 I don't think I had to do step 3 (edit prefs.js), but I'm not sure about that. Good luck with Thunderbird!


Thanks for the information. However, I would like to use a built-in Import function. Will this be available in 0.7?

Thanks.

gerbig
 
Posts: 54
Joined: January 23rd, 2003, 4:37 pm

Post Posted May 2nd, 2004, 12:53 am

Levin wrote:However, I would like to use a built-in Import function. Will this be available in 0.7?

There is a bug on this, but I have no idea what priority it has. I can't imagine it would be very difficult to implement. Firefox has code to move profile stuff from the Phoenix folder to the Firefox folder, this code would be very similar.
http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=215306

Fasse

User avatar
 
Posts: 76
Joined: August 25th, 2003, 11:03 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post Posted May 2nd, 2004, 12:58 am

@Mscott:

What' about the uninstaller ?

If I uninstall Mozilla Thunderbird 0.6 than Mozilla Firebird isn't longer my default browser.

Noam
 
Posts: 35
Joined: July 29th, 2003, 2:01 am

Post Posted May 2nd, 2004, 1:02 am

Did anyone try the calander extension with the new build?

I want to try it, but hesitate since I am using the calander extension which is know to be
sensitive to version changes.

mscott

User avatar
 
Posts: 2516
Joined: April 2nd, 2003, 4:10 pm
Location: Thunderbird Research Center, CA

Post Posted May 2nd, 2004, 1:12 am

Fasse wrote:@Mscott:

What' about the uninstaller ?

If I uninstall Mozilla Thunderbird 0.6 than Mozilla Firebird isn't longer my default browser.


I haven't been able to reproduce that behavior yet. I'll fix it once I see it :)
Thunderbirds are Go!

Pail
 
Posts: 21
Joined: September 26th, 2003, 3:48 pm

Post Posted May 2nd, 2004, 1:32 am

Options is working nicely for me.

The installer does not remove reference to TB 0.5+ from the Add/Remove menu. You need to un-install 0.5, then install 0.6.

revan69
 
Posts: 6
Joined: April 22nd, 2004, 7:55 am

Post Posted May 2nd, 2004, 3:01 am

hi,

what about an option to specify individual character encoding settings (f.e. UTF-8 ) for each entry in adress book that can differ from the default?

would be nice =)

John Liebson
 
Posts: 6491
Joined: July 29th, 2003, 1:09 pm

Post Posted May 2nd, 2004, 4:22 am

Moonwolf wrote:
John Liebson wrote:Anyone else find that Easy Get Mail Button 0.1 does not work with version 0.6+ (20040501), Windows XP Home?

I've just replied to your email. It's still working fine for me on Win2k, and it's such a basic extension that I don't really see what would kill it short of a change to the overlay system.
Having said that, I just noticed you said 0.6+, and the branch build calls itself 0.6. Have you installed the trunk build?
Edit: Just seen a message from Ben Goodger in the extensions forum which says the installation system is changing from Firefox 0.9/Thunderbird 0.7. If you're using a trunk build that's probably what's gone wrong.

It is possible, although I thought that I selected a 0.6 branch release when I downloaded yesterday's version. There's no 02 May/latest 0.6 as yet, so I'll try to replace the version in use later today, see what happens, and get back to you.

Steffen

User avatar
 
Posts: 524
Joined: May 10th, 2003, 3:17 pm
Location: Munich

Post Posted May 2nd, 2004, 4:31 am

mscott wrote:What's New In RC2:
<ol><li>Linux GTK2/XFT bits now have the official branding. Thanks to Kevin for generating the xpm's and to MozJF for helping me test the changes.</ol>

But where are the icons that used to be in thunderbird/icons? We shouldn't ship 0.6 without icons.

Smokey
 
Posts: 274
Joined: December 3rd, 2002, 5:56 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted May 2nd, 2004, 5:54 am

Noam wrote:Did anyone try the calander extension with the new build?

I want to try it, but hesitate since I am using the calander extension which is know to be
sensitive to version changes.


you could try sunbird instead. granted it doesn't get updated as often, but you won't have to worry about any conflicts with version changes
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7) Gecko/20040616 Firefox/0.9 (MOOX-AV)

John Liebson
 
Posts: 6491
Joined: July 29th, 2003, 1:09 pm

Post Posted May 2nd, 2004, 5:56 am

Moonwolf wrote:
John Liebson wrote:Anyone else find that Easy Get Mail Button 0.1 does not work with version 0.6+ (20040501), Windows XP Home?

I've just replied to your email. It's still working fine for me on Win2k, and it's such a basic extension that I don't really see what would kill it short of a change to the overlay system.
Having said that, I just noticed you said 0.6+, and the branch build calls itself 0.6. Have you installed the trunk build?
Edit: Just seen a message from Ben Goodger in the extensions forum which says the installation system is changing from Firefox 0.9/Thunderbird 0.7. If you're using a trunk build that's probably what's gone wrong.

Thanks. I just downloaded and installed version 0.6 (20040502), and, yes, Easy Get Mail Button 0.1 works fine.

Looks to me as though when I downloaded yesterday's latest 0.6, the ftp server gave me the trunk release instead. As I would never mak such a mistook, it had to be the ftp server's fault.....

Julas

User avatar
 
Posts: 74
Joined: May 20th, 2003, 1:00 pm
Location: behind your back ;p

Post Posted May 2nd, 2004, 8:08 am

Tools->Run Filters on Folder isn't available in newsgroups... Is this a bug or I'm doing something wrong?
Juliusz 'Julas' Gonera
Website said: "Use Internet Explorer 5 or better". So I used Mozilla.

radgie
 
Posts: 348
Joined: October 25th, 2003, 4:08 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

Post Posted May 2nd, 2004, 8:21 am

Anyone else find that Easy Get Mail Button 0.1 does not work with version 0.6+ (20040501), Windows XP Home?


Working fine on Windoze XP Profesional. Only problem I've come across so far is that the Toggle Preview Pane extension doesn't seem to want to work. Mind you I had this on a previous build and it may be that the extension needs updating. :|
May We Live In Interesting Times
To Wives And Sweethearts. And Shall Never The Two Meet

Tokugawa
 
Posts: 10
Joined: April 27th, 2004, 9:33 am

Post Posted May 2nd, 2004, 10:37 am

What about bug 228512?

deep_sky
 
Posts: 105
Joined: February 5th, 2003, 5:05 pm

Post Posted May 2nd, 2004, 11:04 am

For some reason it still says version .5, even though the date is correct. I see people referencing .6 or .6+, or even .5+, but I am not getting that. Is there something wrong with my install or is the version number just plain incorrect?

Return to Thunderbird Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest