MozillaZine

post Linux builds here :)

Discussion about official Mozilla Thunderbird builds
michel v

User avatar
 
Posts: 145
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 8:54 am
Location: Corsica

Post Posted April 3rd, 2003, 11:18 am

There is a demand for Linux builds of Minotaur, and it deserves to be fulfilled. :)
So if you have a working build of Minotaur on your Linux distribution, and can host it somewhere, post it here!

--
Here's my modest contribution: a RedHat 8 build of Minotaur.
http://aleia.free.fr/stuff/minotaur-20030403.tar.bz2

Here are the options that I used in .mozconfig:
# sh
# Build configuration script
#
# See http://www.mozilla.org/build/unix.html for build instructions.
#

# Options for 'configure' (same as command-line options).

ac_add_options --enable-crypto
ac_add_options --disable-mathml
ac_add_options --disable-installer
ac_add_options --disable-activex
ac_add_options --disable-tests
ac_add_options --enable-extensions=wallet
ac_add_options --enable-xft
ac_add_options --enable-optimize=-O2
export MOZ_MINOTAUR=1
mk_add_options MOZ_MINOTAUR=1
mk_add_options MOZ_OBJDIR=@TOPSRCDIR@/obj-@CONFIG_GUESS@
ac_add_options --enable-xterm-updates
ac_add_options --disable-debug

Franck
 
Posts: 54
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 11:56 am

Post Posted April 6th, 2003, 4:42 am

Thanks for this build :)

After untar the build I'm unable to start Minotaur :
$: /home/franck/bin/minotaur-bin
error while loading shared libraries: libmozjs.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
What am I missing ?

Running Mozilla 1.3 on RH 8.0

michel v

User avatar
 
Posts: 145
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 8:54 am
Location: Corsica

Post Posted April 6th, 2003, 9:18 am

Hmm, have you tried this?
export MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME=/path/to/phoenix/bin

Franck
 
Posts: 54
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 11:56 am

Post Posted April 6th, 2003, 10:43 am

Yes,
I've also tried to copy the phoenix libmozjs.so into /home/franck/bin
Both with the same result :(

whiprush

User avatar
 
Posts: 66
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 10:06 pm

Post Posted April 6th, 2003, 10:59 am

Just wanted to add that the first linux build for Minotaur works in Debian Sid as well.

Now we need XFT2 builds! :D

nrthomas
 
Posts: 1988
Joined: February 9th, 2003, 3:25 pm

Post Posted April 6th, 2003, 2:35 pm

Franck:

Don't you want to run minotaur instead of minotaur-bin ? That's a script that sets up all the environment variables for you then kicks off minotaur-bin.

This works the same way for mozilla and phoenix.

Franck
 
Posts: 54
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 11:56 am

Post Posted April 6th, 2003, 10:04 pm

Thanks CrazyFred !
It seems I was blind ;)

johnKFT
 
Posts: 66
Joined: November 23rd, 2002, 5:32 pm
Location: NW Scotland

Post Posted April 11th, 2003, 4:55 pm

I had the same problem, but when I call minotaur up comes Composer!! Exporting the path makes no difference. Any ideas? I looked inside minotaur and could not see any reference to Composer.

michel v

User avatar
 
Posts: 145
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 8:54 am
Location: Corsica

Post Posted April 11th, 2003, 5:00 pm

Was your original Mozilla profile set to open Composer when you'd launch Mozilla?

Spewey
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 5799
Joined: January 25th, 2003, 2:06 pm
Location: St. Paul, MinnesĀ°ta

Post Posted April 11th, 2003, 8:35 pm

Cool hack! You got Composer to open up? DEWD!

johnKFT
 
Posts: 66
Joined: November 23rd, 2002, 5:32 pm
Location: NW Scotland

Post Posted April 12th, 2003, 2:28 am

Thanks Michel, that was the problem. I had a look in my ~/.mozilla/default/p9irrhad.sit/prefs.js and found this line:

user_pref("general.startup.editor", true);

I changed it to:

user_pref("general.startup.mail", true);

and 'bingo' up came Minotaur. This may be of interest to anyone wanting a standalone Composer.

Incidentally, one of the main reasons for changing from Galeon to Phoenix was to avoid having to have Mozilla. Can Minotaur be run without it? If I uninstall Mozilla completely (program and ~/.mozilla), putting all my plugins directly into Phoenix, will the Minotaur standalone build work?

cdn

User avatar
 
Posts: 999
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 5:47 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted April 12th, 2003, 3:54 am

don't remove .mozilla just yet,

afaik there are no trunk builds of minotaur for linux (yet),

and because of this, minotaur isn't (yet) using .minotaur (or whatever) to store profiles

if you do delete .mozilla, you will probably need to start minotaur with:

$ minotaur -P

which will then create a new ~/.mozilla directory

Return to Thunderbird Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests