Getting true fullscreen in Mozilla

Discussion of general topics about Seamonkey
Post Reply
User avatar
bdeonline
Moderator
Posts: 1214
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 5:19 am
Location: OK, USA
Contact:

Getting true fullscreen in Mozilla

Post by bdeonline »

Does anyone know how to make mozilla open up in fullscreen by using javascript? Here is the code to make IE do it.

<script>
function fullwin(targeturl){
window.open(targeturl,"","fullscreen,scrollbars")
}
</script>
<form>
<input type="button" onClick="fullwin('http://www.whatever.com')" value="Open window">
</form>

Can it be modified for Mozilla I am trying to go to cross browser, standards compliant. But I cannot figure this one out.

It also wouldn't be bad if Mozilla could do this in the browser and have an auto hide function such is IE for presentations
jedbro
Posts: 1899
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 12:35 pm
Location: Mexico / Boulder Co.
Contact:

Not officially

Post by jedbro »

About the "autohide" feature,
it's not officially implemented
The bug (126718) releated is here; http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=126718
.

Althought a great "extension" as been made for IE Like hide feature.

Check it out here;
http://www.krickelkrackel.de/autohide.htm

(also works in Phoenix)

cheers
--Jed
User avatar
mozDude
Posts: 228
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 1:34 pm
Location: ¢A, u$a

Post by mozDude »

that extension is kinda nice, although it does not really "autohide" the way you would expect it to. It gives you an option to show or hide the toolbar thru a context menu option in FS. It works for now. Especially with phoenix, it is nice since you can combine all the buttons to make just one row by combining the menus, buttons, bookmarks, addrtessbar..

wish there was a shortcut key for showing and hiding the toolbar instead of going thru da menu
User avatar
bdeonline
Moderator
Posts: 1214
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 5:19 am
Location: OK, USA
Contact:

Great Addon

Post by bdeonline »

I like the extension also. Only I wished it didn't pull down the entire page. And do like IE does and float over the content with the menus.
User avatar
alanjstr
Moderator
Posts: 9100
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 4:43 pm
Location: Anywhere but here
Contact:

Re: Getting true fullscreen in Mozilla

Post by alanjstr »

bdeonline wrote:Does anyone know how to make mozilla open up in fullscreen by using javascript? Here is the code to make IE do it.

<script>
function fullwin(targeturl){
window.open(targeturl,"","fullscreen,scrollbars")
}
</script>
<form>
<input type="button" onClick="fullwin('http://www.whatever.com')" value="Open window">
</form>

Can it be modified for Mozilla I am trying to go to cross browser, standards compliant. But I cannot figure this one out.

It also wouldn't be bad if Mozilla could do this in the browser and have an auto hide function such is IE for presentations


What I hate is when pop-up ads use this feature. If it was implemented, I'd surely disable it (of course pop-ups are disabled too).
User avatar
bdeonline
Moderator
Posts: 1214
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 5:19 am
Location: OK, USA
Contact:

Post by bdeonline »

I am trying to use it for presentation not for popups. But I agree I hate it when ads popup in fullscreen.
User avatar
alanjstr
Moderator
Posts: 9100
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 4:43 pm
Location: Anywhere but here
Contact:

Re: Getting true fullscreen in Mozilla

Post by alanjstr »

bdeonline wrote:Does anyone know how to make mozilla open up in fullscreen by using javascript? Here is the code to make IE do it.

Code: Select all

...

Can it be modified for Mozilla I am trying to go to cross browser, standards compliant. But I cannot figure this one out.

It also wouldn't be bad if Mozilla could do this in the browser and have an auto hide function such is IE for presentations


For 'true full-screen' in Phoenix, check out <a href="http://texturizer.net/phoenix/extensions.html#autohide">AutoHide</a> at Phoenix Help.
Post Reply