MozillaZine

memory cache

Discussion of general topics about Seamonkey
The.Purple.Hippo

User avatar
 
Posts: 1082
Joined: February 26th, 2007, 4:49 pm
Location: Cartoon Land

Post Posted November 20th, 2009, 12:59 am

in SM 2, what happened to about:cache?device=memory ? Was this removed or changed to something else now?

raj_bhaskar

User avatar
 
Posts: 1890
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 3:50 am
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post Posted November 20th, 2009, 2:48 am

Works for me. I typed "about:cache" and then clicked the "List Cache Entries" in the "memory cache device" which took me to about:cache?device=memory.

The.Purple.Hippo

User avatar
 
Posts: 1082
Joined: February 26th, 2007, 4:49 pm
Location: Cartoon Land

Post Posted November 20th, 2009, 8:40 am

if I type about:cache I get two entries. One for "Disk cache device" which is about:cache?device=disk and the other is "Offline cache device" which takes me to about:cache?device=offline but nothing for memory cache. If I type in about:cache?device=memory then I get a blank page. So, what happened to it? If its gone then where are the favicons stored now?

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted November 20th, 2009, 9:12 am

The.Purple.Hippo wrote:if I type about:cache I get two entries. One for "Disk cache device" which is about:cache?device=disk and the other is "Offline cache device" which takes me to about:cache?device=offline but nothing for memory cache. If I type in about:cache?device=memory then I get a blank page. So, what happened to it? If its gone then where are the favicons stored now?

Go to about:config
Create a new integer preference
browser.cache.memory.capacity
and set it to: -1

Also read: http://www.zolved.com/synapse/view_content/24939/How_to_reduce_the_memory_usage_on_Firefox#mcf

Phil

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 16903
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted November 20th, 2009, 9:17 am

I get all three, Memory, Disk, & Offline. All three open successfully.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

The.Purple.Hippo

User avatar
 
Posts: 1082
Joined: February 26th, 2007, 4:49 pm
Location: Cartoon Land

Post Posted November 20th, 2009, 9:19 am

found it!!!! The memory is cleared everytime you close the program. Thats why there was nothing there when I looked.

Thanks Phil for the info.

4td8s
 
Posts: 551
Joined: June 24th, 2009, 1:07 pm

Post Posted December 2nd, 2009, 8:52 am

Philip Chee wrote:
The.Purple.Hippo wrote:if I type about:cache I get two entries. One for "Disk cache device" which is about:cache?device=disk and the other is "Offline cache device" which takes me to about:cache?device=offline but nothing for memory cache. If I type in about:cache?device=memory then I get a blank page. So, what happened to it? If its gone then where are the favicons stored now?

Go to about:config
Create a new integer preference
browser.cache.memory.capacity
and set it to: -1

Also read: http://www.zolved.com/synapse/view_content/24939/How_to_reduce_the_memory_usage_on_Firefox#mcf

Phil


I can set browser.cache.memory.capacity on both FF and SM to 16Mb or 32Mb since my machines have ample amounts of RAM. I know for a fact that Netscape 8.x/9.x and K-meleon browsers have browser.cache.memory.capacity already implemented from the start.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 26653
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted December 7th, 2009, 4:22 pm

4td8s wrote:I know for a fact that Netscape 8.x/9.x and K-meleon browsers have browser.cache.memory.capacity already implemented from the start.

Nestscape 8.13 was based on Firefox 1.0.5 and Netscape 9.0.0.6 was based on Firefox 2.0.0.12

Return to SeaMonkey General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests