SeaMonkey 2.39 has been released!

Discussion of general topics about Seamonkey
rsx11m

Post by rsx11m »

Official announcement and release notes: Security fixes:
  • The list of known vulnerabilities hasn't been updated for SeaMonkey 2.39 yet. For reference, the Firefox 42 release lists 18 fixed security issues, 3 of which were critical.
Known issue:
  • If you use SeaMonkey 2.39 with Lightning, 4.4b2 (the most current for this version) is missing icons on the main toolbar. You can still "guess" them when hovering over their location and wait for the tooltip to show up.
rsx11m

Re: SeaMonkey 2.39 has been released!

Post by rsx11m »

ndebord wrote:
rsx11m wrote:
ndebord wrote:... Is it a matter of money to buy hardware for SeaMonkey?
therube is right, Windows builds are coming from the loaner machine, Linux and Mac OSX from the regular Mozilla builders. Mozilla is supposed to provide infrastructure support to SeaMonkey. ...
FWIW, I am a grant writer. Has anybody considered KickStarter, etc.?
I'm not sure what the legal situation is here. Mozilla still owns the name "SeaMonkey" afaik, thus continuing this as a crowd-funding project may not necessarily be easy. Also, given that the current Gecko code is used (which would still be possible as an entirely community-run project without any formal ties to Mozilla), much of the effort will still be to account for API changes on their end and to fix breakages which Firefox "likes" to introduce.
Zerebralus

Post by Zerebralus »

thx got it :-)

last but not least some words from ewong: https://blog.seamonkey-project.org/2015 ... 39-is-out/

:-)
James

Post by James »

The en-US 64-bit Linux contrib build of SeaMonkey 2.39 Release seems to work fine.
Frank Lion

Post by Frank Lion »

rsx11m wrote:I'm not sure what the legal situation is here. Mozilla still owns the name "SeaMonkey" afaik, thus continuing this as a crowd-funding project may not necessarily be easy.
rsx11m,