MozillaZine

Change in Adblock Plus?

Discussion of general topics about Seamonkey
Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8490
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted November 14th, 2015, 11:34 am

I have noticed that I am unable to do anything with my customized filter list in Adblock Plus these days, except delete items. I used to be able to edit items and add new ones, but that no longer works. What is going on with that? Is it something that got changed about the extension's behaviour, or a change in SeaMonkey? I now have to edit patterns.ini in the adblockplus folder in the profile to make a change in my customized blocklist.

TPR75
 
Posts: 659
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted November 14th, 2015, 12:05 pm

Anonymosity wrote:I have noticed that I am unable to do anything with my customized filter list in Adblock Plus these days, except delete items.


Did you tried "F2" when filter is selected? It allows to edit it.

EDIT: Ah, sorry! Apple computer... #-o

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8490
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted November 14th, 2015, 12:35 pm

F2 does not help. Try typing anything, and the view changes to the other pane.

barbaz
 
Posts: 1680
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Post Posted November 14th, 2015, 2:57 pm

Is this issue Mac OS X specific?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!

TPR75
 
Posts: 659
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted November 15th, 2015, 1:52 am

Anonymosity wrote:F2 does not help. Try typing anything, and the view changes to the other pane.


Damn! You're right! Sorry I didn't tried to write anything after pressing F2... ](*,)

barbaz wrote:Is this issue Mac OS X specific?


Nope! It looks like ADB+ 2.6.11 is broken. Version 2.6.10 works correct (earlier than that will not work with SM 2.39).

Or it's some "specific" bug in SeaMonkey 2.39... :-k

EDIT: There is workaround. We can enable editing by pressing F2 key or just double click with LMB and PASTE text (and hit Enter to apply). When editing is enabled we can delete using Backspace or Delete keys (arrow keys are working).

Looks like hitting letter keys enables "shortcuts". ADB+ "forgot" that enabling editing of filters should disable "shortcuts".

barbaz
 
Posts: 1680
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Post Posted November 15th, 2015, 7:02 am

I don't see any changes that would do that... maybe I'm missing something though.
https://hg.adblockplus.org/adblockplus/log/1f9d0888cf7e

TPR75 wrote:Or it's some "specific" bug in SeaMonkey 2.39... :-k

Could be wrong but I don't think so somehow, especially that ABP 2.6.10 working fine.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!

TPR75
 
Posts: 659
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted November 15th, 2015, 9:01 am

barbaz wrote:
TPR75 wrote:Or it's some "specific" bug in SeaMonkey 2.39... :-k

Could be wrong but I don't think so somehow, especially that ABP 2.6.10 working fine.


Well... I can't force SeaManokey 2.39 Portable to work with "-no-remote" switch while 2.38 was working correct. But normal/installed SeaMonkey 2.39 works correct with mentioned switch (and with "P" for other "test" profile). Looks like some "specific" bug... :-k

EDIT: Or maybe this?
https://hg.adblockplus.org/adblockplus/rev/1f9d0888cf7e

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8490
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted November 15th, 2015, 2:43 pm

Someone at a newsgroup found a workaround. Toggle accessibility.typeaheadfind to false, and the add and edit work again in Adblock Plus.

TPR75
 
Posts: 659
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted November 15th, 2015, 11:43 pm

Anonymosity wrote:Someone at a newsgroup found a workaround. Toggle accessibility.typeaheadfind to false, and the add and edit work again in Adblock Plus.


Function accessibility.typeaheadfind is far more important (at least for me) than editing filters in ADB+ so I'll stick with "mouse&paste" method until it'll be fixed.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18560
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted November 16th, 2015, 9:29 am

"F2" when filter is selected? It allows to edit it

Its failing is quite an ugly bug.

FF has the same failing, though it defaults accessibility.typeaheadfind to 'false', so one is less likely to run into the issue.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

TPR75
 
Posts: 659
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted November 25th, 2015, 2:59 pm

Anonymosity wrote:Someone at a newsgroup found a workaround. Toggle accessibility.typeaheadfind to false, and the add and edit work again in Adblock Plus.


ADB+ v2.6.13 is fixed already.

Return to SeaMonkey General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests