Will they ever fix the RAM hog thing?

Discussion of general topics about Seamonkey
Melissa2009B

Will they ever fix the RAM hog thing?

Post by Melissa2009B »

Please bear with me - I'm a novice as far as code and all - don't know a thing.

But if I leave SeaMonkey running on my Win 7 PC ( Asus Essentio with 8 GB RAM ) it starts creeping up into using 450-500 megs of RAM, sometimes approaching 1 GB, and when it gets up to about 500, it starts seriously slowing down my PC and I have to close it and restart.

I'm wondering if part of this is due to my Bookmarks file, which I think is about 90 megs by now, after all these years.

But are they ever going to fix this?
Melissa
barbaz

Re: Will they ever fix the RAM hog thing?

Post by barbaz »

You're running a long-outdated version of SeaMonkey.. what makes you so sure "they" haven't already fix it?

If upgrading to SeaMonkey 2.39 (if you can) doesn't seem to help, does the problem occur in a clean profile?
Melissa2009B

Post by Melissa2009B »

It's always been my understanding that software releases ranged from big ( entire version updates, like V 2 to V3 ) to miniscule ( 2.32 to 2.39 ) and SM always seems to be doing what appear to be miniscule ones, so I don't download huge files for that. Am I wrong?
Melissa
DanRaisch

Post by DanRaisch »

It's also very much dependent on what pages you are viewing when this is happening. And 500MB is not a great deal of RAM for a browser given the content of many web pages these days. With 8GB of RAM you should not be having problems with only 500MB in use for browsing.
Melissa2009B

Post by Melissa2009B »

All I know is that when it gets up there, the PC starts slowing, and when it gets over 500, things start really slowing.

I just upped it to 2.39.
Last edited by Melissa2009B on January 17th, 2016, 11:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
Melissa
barbaz

Post by barbaz »