MozillaZine

Qwant search engine for SeaMonkey

Discussion of general topics about Seamonkey
RrBd
 
Posts: 21
Joined: February 25th, 2015, 1:21 am

Post Posted July 20th, 2016, 11:10 pm

Hi,

Anybody here who can add some relevant experience concerning the Firefox Qwant add-on here in the unofficial blog https://unofficialseamonkeynews.wordpress.com/2016/07/21/qwant-search-engine-for-seamonkey/ (or here in the Forum, of course)?

Best Regards

Rainer Bielefeld
(SeaMonkey QA volunteer)

TPR75
 
Posts: 675
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted July 20th, 2016, 11:53 pm

I don't think it's ready to work with SeaMonkey:
http://vader.joemonster.org/upload/rwx/ ... 7_21_0.png

[-(
Last edited by trolly on July 23rd, 2016, 5:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Images too large.

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8505
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted July 21st, 2016, 2:13 pm

It is not ready for prime time with a Mozilla browser. I also get a blank page. Why would anyone need an extension just to add it to one's search plugins? Why can one not use it from a bookmark (or the search plugin - I tried that too)?
It does work with Safari.
I just tried Qwant Lite. That one does work with SeaMonkey.

RrBd
 
Posts: 21
Joined: February 25th, 2015, 1:21 am

Post Posted July 27th, 2016, 12:04 am

And you are not able to find out why you get a blank page?

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8505
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted July 27th, 2016, 1:24 pm

I have no idea. I am not a networking expert. Qwant Lite works, if I want to use it. Most of the time I use Startpage.

TPR75
 
Posts: 675
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted July 27th, 2016, 2:26 pm

RrBd wrote:And you are not able to find out why you get a blank page?


Probably some (two?) scripts are not working correct. Site with lite version (https://lite.qwant.com/) is working. No plug-in required.

It's late so I'll test it with English version of SM and will post some pictures tomorrow.

TPR75
 
Posts: 675
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted July 28th, 2016, 12:15 pm

Looks like it's fixed because it works with SeaMonkey now.

Needs a lot of work. I don't know how about search engine but UI is a little bit "early experimental":
1) switching between categories erases searched words (not in "lite" version),
2) pictures don't have category "animated",
3) searching by date
4) and so on...
Open Google search site and you'll know what is missing. :wink:

Myhrddin

User avatar
 
Posts: 14
Joined: July 19th, 2016, 10:41 am

Post Posted August 3rd, 2016, 9:41 am

I always go to Qwant using the following link;
https://www.qwant.com/
Have it on my homepage to open in a new tab.
Now, I don't have flash installed, and have told ADBlockPlus to disable on the site, which may be whey it works ok for me.
Just a thought .. could be something you have installed that's interfering with it.?

*homepage = WebTop http://mehrlin.com/
Qwant link is just under the 1st gold column of links

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8505
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted August 3rd, 2016, 9:43 pm

Qwant still does not work for me. I prefer StartPage, so does not matter.

Myhrddin

User avatar
 
Posts: 14
Joined: July 19th, 2016, 10:41 am

Post Posted August 4th, 2016, 4:57 am

Anonymosity wrote:Qwant still does not work for me. I prefer StartPage, so does not matter.


I do now seem to recall that I'd gotten an empty page at some point myself.
StartPage looks interesting and, the main point is that you do have a privacy-based search to use. And, you like it.

While the issue at Qwant could be whether or not you're allowing cookies (seems counter-intuitive) or something else.. I can't recall when or why I'd had a blank page come up or how I fixed it. A good thing to take away from all this could be that a handy way to make sure you've got your permissions, etc. set to your liking on a site is to check them in View / Page Info while you're at one of the site's pages. I have found that to be a nice feature you can pull up when at any site or subdomain to double-check it's setting easily.

Happy Browsing.!
...Carry on.
:) ~Myr

francescobat

User avatar
 
Posts: 12
Joined: January 28th, 2016, 7:57 am

Post Posted August 6th, 2016, 9:37 am

Since few days i am investigating on argument "search engine".
I discovered qwant and it is good and i added it in my bookmarks.
But the problem is another :-(
In many test that i made, i discover a worrying thing: the reals search engine are just these:
1 Google
2 Bing
3 Yandex
4. Baidu
5. Gigablast
The others in background, and often secretly, using google and bing.
In Italy duckduckgo shows bing results, in other places could show google, yandex or baidu.
Startpage shows google custom, qwant i think that use a system like Cuil: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cuil
At this point i think: if i want to use an alternative search engine instead of google or bing, the just real solution is gigablast, but the results are not very satisfactory.
However i want to try it for some searches, if it does not satisfy i can to switch to google also from gigablast search.
Bye
Francesco bat

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8505
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted August 6th, 2016, 10:51 am

So you are saying that Qwant is a metasearch engine, similar to Dogpile. Even if it does use Google, it is not redirecting the links.

francescobat

User avatar
 
Posts: 12
Joined: January 28th, 2016, 7:57 am

Post Posted August 6th, 2016, 11:13 am

Anonymosity wrote:So you are saying that Qwant is a metasearch engine, similar to Dogpile. Even if it does use Google, it is not redirecting the links.


I don't know this, but i found this their article: https://blog.qwant.com/en/qwant-en/
The question is that the results of a search engine is not a simple thing.
Google give results exceptional because a work from many years and enormous capitals.
BIng is managed from Microsoft and for this reason give good results, but nevertheless it can not compete with google despite the great work and the invested capital.
Today an society if create a search engine the result could to be very similar to gigablast because results like a google are impossible, both capital for technology.
So I think it's weird that qwant can achieve a thing like this so simply in few years, when there are yahoo, hotbot etc that after years they have surrended and microsoft after spending millions of dollars, get a good result but still far from google :)
Bye
Francesco bat

Return to SeaMonkey General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest