MozillaZine


don't switch when search from context menu

Discussion of general topics about Seamonkey
Justinh
 
Posts: 286
Joined: November 13th, 2004, 7:03 pm
Location: Alabama

Post Posted March 10th, 2020, 5:02 pm

I was using SM 2.49 x86, where I could select some text on a page -> RMB -> Search and a new tab would open for the search but SM would not switch to that tab. I set that option years ago and it has worked nicely.

I just installed 2.53 x64 (using the same SM profile) and now when I search SM switches to the new tab. I can't find the option to toggle this off. Where is it?

Vexille
 
Posts: 2
Joined: May 2nd, 2017, 12:43 pm

Post Posted March 11th, 2020, 12:30 am

This is the value that controls this:
Code: Select all
browser.search.context.loadInBackground

In Firefox turning it to true works, but not in the Seamonkey.
It's probably a bug.
Last edited by Vexille on March 11th, 2020, 2:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

TPR75
 
Posts: 989
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted March 11th, 2020, 12:43 am

Justinh wrote:I was using SM 2.49 x86, where I could select some text on a page -> RMB -> Search and a new tab would open for the search but SM would not switch to that tab. I set that option years ago and it has worked nicely.

I just installed 2.53 x64 (using the same SM profile) and now when I search SM switches to the new tab. I can't find the option to toggle this off. Where is it?


It's not about search, it's about opening new tabs in front instead of background. To change it type "about:config" in address bar and then search for:
Code: Select all
browser.tabs.loadBookmarksInBackground

... and switch it to "true" (e.g. by double clicking LMB). Not default settings are marked with bold font.

Another setting:
Code: Select all
browser.tabs.loadInBackground

... by default should be set to "true".

Above will help for single new tab but when user will open group (folder) of bookmarks then SeaMonkey 2.53.1 will automatically switch to first bookmark from such group (folder). I hope it can be changed next release.

Vexille
 
Posts: 2
Joined: May 2nd, 2017, 12:43 pm

Post Posted March 11th, 2020, 2:50 am

I have all this background things switch to true, but still searching from context menu switches focus to search result tab.

TPR75
 
Posts: 989
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted March 11th, 2020, 4:09 am

Vexille wrote:I have all this background things switch to true, but still searching from context menu switches focus to search result tab.


True. So... we must wait for devs to change it by adding new preference - who wants old behavior will be able to change it. I hope so...

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20935
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted March 11th, 2020, 4:36 am

The Context Search extension, which can search with any of your search engines, opens its results in the background.

It needs to go through the Convertor to work with SM, and then works very well.

https://github.com/benbasson/contextsearch
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

Justinh
 
Posts: 286
Joined: November 13th, 2004, 7:03 pm
Location: Alabama

Post Posted March 11th, 2020, 6:24 pm

Thanks. Yep, looks like a bug, as browser.tabs.loadInBackground is not honored now.

Fx's preference name certainly is more user-friendly. Either browser should have a switch in Preferences.

Return to SeaMonkey General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest