MozillaZine


YouTube now broken with SeaMonkey?

Discussion of general topics about Seamonkey
raj_bhaskar

User avatar
 
Posts: 1912
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 3:50 am
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post Posted December 31st, 2020, 5:20 am

As of the last few days, when I go direct to http://www.youtube.com, I just get the outline of a page, with grey boxes instead of videos (this is 2.53.5.1). I tried in a fresh profile, in case it was something to do with my extensions, but got the same. Does anyone else see this? Is there any workaround?

If I load a video directly, I can see the actual video, but none of the page around it.

robobox

User avatar
 
Posts: 21
Joined: November 19th, 2018, 8:37 am
Location: The United States

Post Posted December 31st, 2020, 6:01 am

YouTube works fine for me on Linux x64; perhaps it's a codec issue?
- sincerely, robobox

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 124778
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted December 31st, 2020, 6:06 am

Not seeing any such problem running SeaMonkey 2.53.5.1 under Win 10. Perhaps it's an issue with SeaMonkey under Windows 7.

raj_bhaskar

User avatar
 
Posts: 1912
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 3:50 am
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post Posted December 31st, 2020, 8:58 am

Good point. I checked on a Win10 machine and it worked fine. This is what I see on my home Win7 machine:

Image

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20678
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 31st, 2020, 9:29 am

Test in Safe Mode.
Test in a new, clean Profile.
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 21015
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted December 31st, 2020, 10:21 am

raj_bhaskar wrote:This is what I see on my home Win7 machine:

Image

I'm on Win7 and YT is working fine.

Usually that YT problem you're seeing is a result of #1. Non-default UA string. #2. Hiding images for that site #3. Cookies settings. #4. Extension or theme problem.

You sure you tried a true clean profile, i.e. a new profile with NO extensions or themes and no Options settings changed? If so, could be your anti-virus or a hosts file, but both seem pretty unlikely.
Metal Lion SeaMonkey Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

raj_bhaskar

User avatar
 
Posts: 1912
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 3:50 am
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post Posted December 31st, 2020, 11:26 am

@Frank Lion: Looks like you're right. I created a brand new profile and tried that and YT was okay there. I guess I must have made some changes to my usual test profile.

Ah, played around a bit and remembered that for another site (the WebTrees family tree webapp), I had enabled the prefs dom.webcomponents.customelements.enabled and dom.webcomponents.enabled.

Turning those off again resolved the problem with YT.

Thanks all for your help.

Return to SeaMonkey General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest