New version of SM

Discussion of general topics about Seamonkey
spudgun

New version of SM

Post by spudgun »

I have been using Sea monkey for about 25 years now. Love it.

I installed version 2.53.5.1 when it came out and since then noticed that I would get a SM not responding error several times, much more frequent than the older version.

Went to install new version today and got a notice that my windows 7, X64 cannot be used with the newer version.

Bummer. Don''t want to and don't care for the Windows 10 version.

I know my computer is old but any work arounds???
DanRaisch

Re: New version of SM

Post by DanRaisch »

You should be able to run the most current version with that OS but what about hardware? Have you reviewed the minimum system requirements? https://www.seamonkey-project.org/doc/s ... quirements
spudgun

Post by spudgun »

I think the CPU I have in my computer may be the issue.

AMD Athion, II X4 630. Processor 2.80GHZ

Windows 7 home Premium

4 GB ram

500 gb disk

32 bit OS
Justinh

Post by Justinh »

Even on a modern, higher-end machine, SM 2.5x can be sluggish with performance issues. Just so you are aware...
DanRaisch

Post by DanRaisch »

Even on a modern, higher-end machine, SM 2.5x can be sluggish with performance issues. Just so you are aware...
Not seeing that at all, so perhaps you are making too general a statement. Have you tried Safe Mode to rule out issues caused by previously installed extensions?
Frank Lion

Post by Frank Lion »

spudgun wrote:Went to install new version today and got a notice that my windows 7, X64 cannot be used with the newer version.
spudgun wrote:Windows 7 home Premium....32 bit OS
Which is it, x64 or 32bit?

I'm using Win 7 x64 and I can use both the latest x64 or x86 (32 bit) SM versions on it.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)
ElTxolo

Post by ElTxolo »