Feature Request: Tag Inheritance

Discussion of features in Mozilla Thunderbird
Sputeen

Feature Request: Tag Inheritance

Post by Sputeen »

Hi guys -

Total newbie here, so please excuse any faux pas.

I'm lucky enough to be a work-at-home contractor, so I get to choose what software I run on my PC and have been enjoying the delights of Thunderbird and Lightning.

One thing gets me though - I'm a HUGE user of email tags - very handy. But it does become a chore having to individually tag every email that arrives.

Thunderbird is smart enough to be able to group emails into threads - is there a way to get it to also assign the tags of the previous emails in the thread, to the new email? Or maybe a button to say "use the same tags as the previous email in this thread".

It's a real grind when the emails are flooding in, and the mails in the thread have around six different tags. And of course, the tag drop-down disappears each time you select a tag - so it's not as if you can select around six tags in one go, and "assign all these please". It has to be done one at a time, unless I'm missing something.

If there's something out there that would make life easier in this respect, I'd be glad to know about it.

Regards

Sputeen
tanstaafl

Re: Feature Request: Tag Inheritance

Post by tanstaafl »

I'm not aware of anything to do that. I suspect its because most people assign only a few tags to most messages. I suggest you think about whether a Notes add-on such as Xnotes++ could be used to reduce the granularity of your tags.