MozillaZine

Can't access some sites?

Closed Forum
rlswine
 
Posts: 8
Joined: July 21st, 2003, 10:50 am

Post Posted July 22nd, 2003, 7:37 am

Mozilla Firebird newbie!!
Some web sites won't load completely. See accompanying url (which I access with IE on a daily basis) with apparent explanation. What can I do to access with Firebird?

http://www.flipdog.com/index.html (Has explanation?)
http://www.flipdog.com/js/loc.html;jses ... stid=52204 (This one only loads partially!)
Last edited by rlswine on July 22nd, 2003, 7:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

nosebleed
Moderator
 
Posts: 2427
Joined: February 22nd, 2003, 9:25 am
Location: Chesapeake, VA, USA

Post Posted July 22nd, 2003, 7:41 am

That's the stupid webmaster who did that. The best way to access such site in Firebird is via UA spoofing. Another idea is to email the webmaster as to why they do not support Firebird. Believe me, there are tons of sites that block Mozilla!

jareha

User avatar
 
Posts: 697
Joined: April 13th, 2003, 6:32 pm
Location: Austin, Texas

Post Posted July 22nd, 2003, 7:46 am

As for UA spoofing, which nosebleed mentioned, try either the <a href="http://www.texturizer.net/firebird/extensions.html#User%20Agent%20Toolbar%20Widget">User Agent Toolbar Widget</a> or the <a href="http://www.texturizer.net/firebird/extensions.html#User%20Agent%20Switcher">User Agent Switcher</a>.

<< Jonathan
<a href="http://www.deftone.com/blogzilla/">Blogzilla - A Blog About Mozilla</a>
Apple iBook / Mac OS X 10.4.9 / 1GHz G4 1.12GB
Mozilla Firefox 2.0.0.4 (2007-05-15) / Thunderbird 2.0.0.4 (2007-06-04)

rlswine
 
Posts: 8
Joined: July 21st, 2003, 10:50 am

Post Posted July 22nd, 2003, 7:48 am

>The best way to access such site in Firebird is via UA spoofing.<
Please exlpaine "UA spoofing".

nosebleed
Moderator
 
Posts: 2427
Joined: February 22nd, 2003, 9:25 am
Location: Chesapeake, VA, USA

Post Posted July 22nd, 2003, 7:49 am

rlswine wrote:>The best way to access such site in Firebird is via UA spoofing.<
Please exlpaine "UA spoofing".


Your web browser uses a UA string so that websites can identify it. UA spoofing changes your string so that your web browser is disguised as another.

e.g. You can disguise Firebird 0.6 as IE 6.0.

rlswine
 
Posts: 8
Joined: July 21st, 2003, 10:50 am

Post Posted July 22nd, 2003, 8:02 am

>e.g. You can disguise Firebird 0.6 as IE 6.0.<
How is this accomplished? Please be somewhat explicit. I'm new to Mozilla and Firebird.

nosebleed
Moderator
 
Posts: 2427
Joined: February 22nd, 2003, 9:25 am
Location: Chesapeake, VA, USA

Post Posted July 22nd, 2003, 8:05 am

Try one of the extensions jareha mentioned above. :)

old Neil Parks
Moderator
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted July 22nd, 2003, 9:41 am

nosebleed wrote:... The best way to access such site in Firebird is via UA spoofing. ...


That's a workaround, but it isn't the "best" way. Your other suggestion (email the web designer) is a better way.

old Neil Parks
Moderator
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted July 22nd, 2003, 9:51 am

Tried to access the flipdog site using other UA strings and kept running into the same problems as the orig poster. Home page says I need to downgrade to NS between 4.01 and 4.79. That's even if UA Switcher claims to be NS 4.8!

And the second link loads only partially.

Source view shows lots of browser-specific, version-specific code (e.g., looks for IE3, IE4, IE5, etc.) It is (IMNSHO) a ridiculous design.

rlswine
 
Posts: 8
Joined: July 21st, 2003, 10:50 am

Post Posted July 22nd, 2003, 11:27 am

I'm the original "poster". I downloaded and installed each of the UA spoofing extensions. Still no access to the "flipdog" site. (See also post from Neil Parks above - Same results with "all" of the alternate "spoofing" protocols.)
I have also sent an e-mail to FlipDog indicating my disappointment and chagrine over not being able to access their site with Mozilla Firebird. I have not received any response from their support team.

Thank you all for your interest.

Incidentally, how often is a scenario like this going to occur should I choose Mozilla to be my browser of choice. Nosebleed above indicated >Believe me, there are tons of sites that block Mozilla!< How true is that?

nosebleed
Moderator
 
Posts: 2427
Joined: February 22nd, 2003, 9:25 am
Location: Chesapeake, VA, USA

Post Posted July 22nd, 2003, 11:30 am

rlswine wrote:Incidentally, how often is a scenario like this going to occur should I choose Mozilla to be my browser of choice. Nosebleed above indicated >Believe me, there are tons of sites that block Mozilla!< How true is that?


http://toastytech.com/good/badsitelist.html

jareha

User avatar
 
Posts: 697
Joined: April 13th, 2003, 6:32 pm
Location: Austin, Texas

Post Posted July 22nd, 2003, 11:33 am

rlswine wrote:Incidentally, how often is a scenario like this going to occur should I choose Mozilla to be my browser of choice. Nosebleed above indicated >Believe me, there are tons of sites that block Mozilla!< How true is that?

This will happen from time to time. Don't be too dismayed.

I surf the web for countless hours every day, but only happen upon such a site once every week or so. When I do, I email the webmaster and then open the page (grudgingly) in Internet Explorer. Such is the life for <a href="http://www.webstandards.org/">Web Standards</a> supporting, loyal Mozillites.

<< Jonathan
<a href="http://www.deftone.com/blogzilla/">Blogzilla - A Blog About Mozilla</a>
Apple iBook / Mac OS X 10.4.9 / 1GHz G4 1.12GB
Mozilla Firefox 2.0.0.4 (2007-05-15) / Thunderbird 2.0.0.4 (2007-06-04)

chrisgeleven

User avatar
 
Posts: 3116
Joined: November 8th, 2002, 6:55 pm
Location: Manchester, NH USA

Post Posted July 22nd, 2003, 11:39 am

In my experience this problem is very infrequent and is getting better all the time. I visit a lot of web sites too. Usually the problem has to do with bad rendering (misplaced table, bad formatting, etc) then anything that prevents use of the web site. The content is usually still accessable and usable.

Most businesses are smart enough to realize how much 5% of their visitors could effect their profits that the extra effort (which is usually pretty small) is worth it.

rlswine
 
Posts: 8
Joined: July 21st, 2003, 10:50 am

Post Posted July 22nd, 2003, 12:11 pm

I guess that "beginners luck" has to play into my experience. I don't generally "surf" a great deal, but do have specific sites which I visit regularly. None but the one which prompted this thread have been affected thus far. I'll remain hopeful. I would like to effectively reduce my reliance on and support of MS products.

scragz

User avatar
 
Posts: 2914
Joined: February 8th, 2003, 2:38 am
Location: San Diego, US

Post Posted July 22nd, 2003, 4:54 pm

Another thing you can do is check if it's a known tech evangelism bug by searching bugzilla and reporting it if necessary. Usually the best thing to do is to contact the person who maintains the site.

Return to Miscellaneous Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests