Need help w/ Netscape 7.2 Mail Alert

Closed Forum
BretMan

Need help w/ Netscape 7.2 Mail Alert

Post by BretMan »

Yesterday morning I booted my system up out of sleep mode w/ no problems, checked my email by downloading a couple and sending a couple replies. Then out of the blue I get this Alert:"An error occurred with the POP3 mail server. Mail server mail.bellsouth.net responded:" I got it once for each of my 5 email addresses. I searched your threads for this alert and it didn't come up specifically.

I checked my email preferences settings with my records and they seem ok. I also logged on the the email server via FF and that looks ok with a couple expected messages waiting for me to open.

It's probably some common minor glitch that you guys may know about but I thought to ask before I make things worse - I'm not an expert user. Maybe a re-install is in order? If so, or any other idea, what's the best way to resolve this issue?

Many thanks,
Bret
BretMan

Post by BretMan »

I forgot to mention the obvious, for clarification, that since when I got this alert, I can't access my email from the ISP, not does it ask for my usual passwords to access my mailboxes.
Bret

Windows 10 Pro, TB v38.5, FF v60.9.esr
couldabeen

Post by couldabeen »

Ask here http://www.ufaq.org/
It is the Netscape forum for Netscape questions.
Free Your Mind, And Your A$$ Will Follow - Funkadelic, 1970
BretMan

Post by BretMan »

That's Couldabeen.

I did post the question there and am still waiting. I got this idea, which is that I happened to have backed up my C drive the day before, when it was working ok. If you know which is the likely problem folder/file maybe I can replace it with the uncorrupted backed up one. If that's the case, which would it be?
Bret

couldabeen

Post by couldabeen »

Have you contacted bellsouth to see if they are having a problem with POP?

Response from the UFAQ is here.
http://www.ufaq.org/modules.php?name=Fo ... 6869#24899
BretMan

Post by BretMan »