Venkman FloatingViews Drag'n'Drop Update

Composer, ChatZilla and other Mozilla applications, along with Netscape, Galeon, K-Meleon and other products.
wingnut

Venkman FloatingViews Drag'n'Drop Update

Post by wingnut »

Hi
Recently, I was able to pull-off a barebones repair of the drag'n'drop floatingViews system used in Venkman. That system (an identical one, actually) now works again under the new drag'n'drop system (I use FF 3.6.8 atm).

I'm not going to 'make' a version of Venkman that has the fix in it... its not my place to do that. But if anyone replies to this and wants to open-up their venkman.jar/xpi and do the one-hour fix, I'll tell them what I did... right or wrong. WARNING: I'm NOT a pro programmer! I simply modified the .xbl bindings, removed the use of nsDragAndDrop (client.dnd), tweaked the now-dead 'transferData' into being event.dataTransfer for the 4 drag funcs (in both venk-views and viewManager), slid an event.preventDefault() into onDragOver(), and then Venkman's viewManager came alive and handled the rest wonderfully. Client.dnd (an old-school global nsDragAndDrop object)... gets eliminated (is no longer created). Make the floatingView (and tabs) xbl bindings... call directly to the 4 drag/drop funcs on the drag/drop proxy objects... defined in venkman-views. Easy.

In the Venkman views system... you drag around 'vurl's. (Virtual URLs... or View URLs.) Its way cool and easy to work-with. Essentially, fix what is being fed to Venkman's viewManager, and it will all start working again. Need more? Holler on this thread... I'm listening.
GijsK

Re: Venkman FloatingViews Drag'n'Drop Update

Post by GijsK »

Hi,

I'm one of the Venkman peers (people who review its code). :-)

Would you mind either sending me the patch, or if you like, filing a bug in bugzilla (https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/ , Other applications, JavaScript Debugger) and attaching it there?

Thanks!
wingnut

Post by wingnut »