MozillaZine

&^%$* Microsoft - Updated me to Win10 overnight

Discuss various technical topics not related to Mozilla.
TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4550
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted April 10th, 2016, 3:10 am

MS updated me to Win10 overnight WITHOUT MY PERMISSION ! Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37986
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted April 10th, 2016, 3:16 am

Yep. They really need to keep their stuff to themselves.....until wanted.

You can always roll back....I'm told, but did you back-up beforehand?

Go to grc.com & look for "Never10."
Bit late, I know, but it may help in the future for any other PC's you or friends may have.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-56.0.1-57.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4550
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted April 10th, 2016, 3:24 am

LIMPET235 wrote:Yep. They really need to keep their stuff to themselves.....until wanted.

You can always roll back....I'm told, but did you back-up beforehand?

Go to grc.com & look for "Never10."
Bit late, I know, but it may help in the future for any other PC's you or friends may have.


Thanks Limpet - I guess I'll just leave it... taking a look around, and 'thankfully' it seems all my 'stuff' is working.. *sigh of relief* :)

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37986
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted April 10th, 2016, 3:37 am

No probs...
I don't know how security conscious you are or if you're even worried about it, but take a gander at all the "Settings/Options"
that you can turn off, in the hope that "they" will not be able to gather too much personal info.

Just a NB:
Avast, in their wisdom, (Yeah right!), recently silently installed, along with their "normal" update/s,
a new browser for all to rejoice over & sing praises about.

Pity that they did not ask first.

A new shortcut just appeared on everyone's desktop.

They couldn't get rid of it quickly enough.
Big kerfuffle in their Support Fora over it.

Idiots!
It's a security program, not a browser or app updater or ???
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-56.0.1-57.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4550
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted April 10th, 2016, 3:40 am

LIMPET235 wrote:No probs...
I don't know how security conscious you are or if you're even worried about it, but take a gander at all the "Settings/Options"
that you can turn off, in the hope that "they" will not be able to gather too much personal info.

Just a NB:
Avast, in their wisdom, (Yeah right!), recently silently installed, along with their "normal" update/s,
a new browser for all to rejoice over & sing praises about.

Pity that they did not ask first.

A new shortcut just appeared on everyone's desktop.

They couldn't get rid of it quickly enough.
Big kerfuffle in their Support Fora over it.

Idiots!
It's a security program, not a browser or app updater or ???


Wow, when are these idiots going to decide we need an upgrade on our system, and ship us a new PC LMAO!

Ngamer01

User avatar
 
Posts: 1020
Joined: November 3rd, 2007, 8:37 am
Location: Louisiana

Post Posted April 10th, 2016, 10:15 am

I'd like to add for anyone on Windows 10, you can disable auto-updates from Microsoft by turning on Metered Connection in the Advanced Options under Settings -> Network & Internet -> Wi-Fi.

Of course applications on your computer may ignore this setting (like for example AVG ignores your update settings and automatically updates AVG programs when they issue critical updates). There's also the chance Microsoft could override this setting one day though.

morat
 
Posts: 2582
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted April 11th, 2016, 7:30 am

TheVisitor wrote:WITHOUT MY PERMISSION

I hope someone sues Microsoft.

Windows 10 Users May Pursue Class Action Against Microsoft
http://www.valuewalk.com/2015/11/window ... microsoft/

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11760
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted April 11th, 2016, 11:52 am

Better read the EULA before you call an attorney, they probably have rights to your third Grandchild on your brother Sid's side of the family.

I realize a great many people need Microsoft for work but shouldn't this be raising flags in the US Commerce department or the FBI or somebody in government?

jefboyardee

User avatar
 
Posts: 154
Joined: August 31st, 2013, 9:22 pm

Post Posted April 13th, 2016, 6:29 am

A utility for fast, free, and simple Windows 10 uninstallation

https://neosmart.net/blog/2016/fast-fre ... l-utility/

...haven't tried it, just passing along.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37986
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted April 13th, 2016, 6:54 am

I forgot to add the link to Never10,
so here it is.
Once run, you'll never have to worry about those damn annoying
"Upgrade to WIN10" nags.
Linky > https://www.grc.com/never10.htm
All the Info is on the page & Steve has updated it to v1.3.
This will remove all of the "already installed" WIN10 files.....all 6 + Gig of them.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-56.0.1-57.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Virtual_ManPL

User avatar
 
Posts: 1923
Joined: July 24th, 2008, 5:52 am

Post Posted April 13th, 2016, 11:47 am

Nice script for Windows 7 to remove offending spyware, malware, nagware and adware updates, patches, services and tasks updating to Windows 8.2 BOTNET edition - WindowsLies/BlockWindows · GitHub.
Just download RAW BlockWindows.bat, DisableGWX.reg and DisableWiFiSense.reg

You can do that manually by hand - Fix Windows 7/8.1 privacy

Nice software are also Never10 and GWX Control Panel
Virtualfox persona

Are you ready for deprecation of XUL & XBL & XPCOM extensions? Not?! Try Firefox ESR

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4550
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted April 13th, 2016, 12:10 pm

And I'm back with a NEW PC, after yesterday's updates - the system failed to boot, the MBR was corrupted - probably because when they forced the update they had no clue I had windows on a non-standard location, i.e. NOT 'C' drive, and it was a dual boot system... *sigh*

Oh, well... back to rebuilding things... BLEH!

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11760
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted April 14th, 2016, 6:31 am

Did you try and recover using the kick out in Grub for recovery?

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4550
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted April 14th, 2016, 4:56 pm

Grumpus wrote:Did you try and recover using the kick out in Grub for recovery?



No, I was getting error on boot that the 'bootmgr' was corrupt... Called MS, for what that was worth, total waste of time, they told he it happens on older systems, this one was 8 yrs old, and I should call the manufacturer.. Yeah, right - like I would get any help on that old of a system. I did not have a Win7 Install disc, only an 'upgrade' disk to upgrade from my Vista when I bought the machine, but even that I could not get to start up or even access, so not sure if they killed that locked partition or just what transpired.

I'm going to just remove the 450W PS I installed years ago when the original one died in the first year. Also the 500gig hard-drive I added seems to be Ok, I still see files when accessed from a 'command prompt., so I'm going to pull it and install in the new machine, even though I really don't need it, its just the way I do housekeeping by keeping all my files, downloads, etc outside of the OS drive. This new system has a 1TB drive, never will come close to filling that LOL

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11760
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted April 15th, 2016, 5:05 am

I looked, even though you're replacing the system, for a fix.
Found this in Ubuntu which I figured, if no help for the old system, could be handy for some other fixes,
Recovery info
Was wondering if the kick out to the software bios would give you a way to circumvent the issue.
I've kept Fedora as a ghost system that never goes on-line for editing other drives in case of errors.

Return to MozillaZine Tech


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest