MozillaZine

Windows 10 17063 and Firefox (no sound)

Discuss various technical topics not related to Mozilla.
rseiler
 
Posts: 87
Joined: July 9th, 2004, 11:49 pm

Post Posted December 19th, 2017, 6:46 pm

Just a heads-up for anyone contemplating installing the latest Win10 Insider: for no apparent reason, Firefox doesn't play sounds in that build. There are multiple reports of this, up to and including Quantum. I also tested ESR.

Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7734
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted December 19th, 2017, 7:07 pm

Dave Townsend wrote:I'd suggest reporting this to Microsoft through the insider hub, if they determine that it is actually a Firefox bug they know how to get hold of us.

rseiler
 
Posts: 87
Joined: July 9th, 2004, 11:49 pm

Post Posted December 19th, 2017, 7:11 pm

Yes, that's been done. They're looking into it.

f1jim
 
Posts: 6
Joined: December 19th, 2017, 11:08 am

Post Posted December 19th, 2017, 10:26 pm

I have three machines all running Windows 17063 and all three have Firefox Quantum. All have no sound. Chrome and Edge both sound great.
Hope they fix it soon. As of 58.b12 it's broken.
f1jim

Cosminn
 
Posts: 34
Joined: September 27th, 2015, 3:47 am

Post Posted December 20th, 2017, 5:28 am

Same here.
I know it's not a Firefox's issue but I'm hoping for a fix in the next Nightly build. MS probably not gonna fix this until after the holidays. :(

rseiler
 
Posts: 87
Joined: July 9th, 2004, 11:49 pm

Post Posted December 20th, 2017, 8:17 am

Windows audio quality guys are getting involved:

https://www.reddit.com/r/Windows10/comm ... o_17063_it

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19702
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted December 20th, 2017, 8:57 am

I'm moving this to Tech since it's not a Firefox issue.
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

rseiler
 
Posts: 87
Joined: July 9th, 2004, 11:49 pm

Post Posted December 20th, 2017, 6:26 pm

The Reddit thread above points to an official response in the Feedback Hub. For anyone who doesn't have that, it reads:

"Windows has several audio volume APIs - IAudioEndpointVolume, IChannelAudioVolume, ISimpleAudioVolume, and IAudioEndpointVolume. These APIs can be used to change the volume and/or mute state of the stream, app, or audio device.

In build 17063 a change was made to these APIs to have them return S_FALSE (1) if the requested change was a no-op.

This broke apps (like Firefox) which request changes (that may be no-ops) and then explicitly check the return value against S_OK (0)."

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43445
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted December 20th, 2017, 6:40 pm

Still no indication when and how this will be fixed though
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

Happy112

User avatar
 
Posts: 485
Joined: April 15th, 2017, 10:25 am
Location: Never-Never-Land

Post Posted December 20th, 2017, 11:11 pm


rseiler
 
Posts: 87
Joined: July 9th, 2004, 11:49 pm

Post Posted December 21st, 2017, 12:30 am

He went on to say: "Not only can you not expect a patch for 17063, I am not 100% convinced the fix will be in the first January flight... but we'll see."

Let's hope it's a case of under-promising and over-delivering, but that's a slim chance given the time of year. I can't even recall the last time they put out a patch for a build--a couple years, I think. Best I recall are some Registry hacks or the like, but it's doubtful that's going to do the trick this time.

Cosminn
 
Posts: 34
Joined: September 27th, 2015, 3:47 am

Post Posted December 21st, 2017, 8:01 am

He also said a workaround/patch from the Mozilla devs could be possible.
https://www.reddit.com/r/Windows10/comm ... t/drk2hf4/

Very plausible. Workaround would be to change https://dxr.mozilla.org/mozilla-central ... wasapi.cpp as follows

hr = stm->audio_stream_volume->SetAllVolumes(channels, volumes);
if (hr != S_OK) {
LOG("could not set the channels volume: %lx", hr);
return CUBEB_ERROR;
}

to

hr = stm->audio_stream_volume->SetAllVolumes(channels, volumes);
if (FAILED(hr)) {
LOG("could not set the channels volume: %lx", hr);
return CUBEB_ERROR;

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43445
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted December 21st, 2017, 1:50 pm

Bad timing for this at Christmas but Mozilla are working on it
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1426719
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

rseiler
 
Posts: 87
Joined: July 9th, 2004, 11:49 pm

Post Posted December 21st, 2017, 8:48 pm

That looks promising. Meanwhile, if someone has a Flash video option on a given site (I guess Youtube is not among them these days), those seem to work for audio!

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27260
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted December 22nd, 2017, 1:35 pm

Note to people coming to this thread from https://www.onmsft.com/news/windows-10-insider-build-17063-breaks-audio-in-firefox

This is not The Mozilla forums as this is support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/

Return to MozillaZine Tech


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests