MozillaZine

Problem with site access

Discuss various technical topics not related to Mozilla.
pewe
 
Posts: 223
Joined: December 31st, 2003, 7:58 am

Post Posted May 12th, 2018, 1:26 am

Whenever I try to log in to my mobile banking on my banks web site I get an error where the login page cannot be displayed.

Is it my Firefox (I use Canary) - or is this a problem with Firefox generally.
Can anyone try to get to the login screen from the button on the top right of this page and confirm the result.

https://personal.natwest.com/personal.html

This has been this way for some time -since about 3 updates ago - and any feedback would be appreciated.

TIA

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3578
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted May 12th, 2018, 1:34 am

its redirected to
https://www.nwolb.com/default.aspx?CookieCheck=...
!?

whats "canary"? nightly?

try firefox safe-mode.

do you use some user agent switcher?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/68.0.3427.0 Safari/537.36

pewe
 
Posts: 223
Joined: December 31st, 2003, 7:58 am

Post Posted May 12th, 2018, 4:02 am

Brummelchen wrote:its redirected to
https://www.nwolb.com/default.aspx?CookieCheck=...
!?

whats "canary"? nightly?

try firefox safe-mode.

do you use some user agent switcher?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/68.0.3427.0 Safari/537.36


That is the page that fails with an error "ERR_CONNECTION_RESET".

This is canary
https://www.google.co.uk/chrome/browser/canary.html

I started using that some time ago because I was constantly getting problems with the standard version of Chrome.

I tried the standard version again this morning, and that reaches the page OK and allows me to log in - so it looks like a problem with canary which has been there for some time.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3578
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted May 12th, 2018, 5:32 am

Is it my Firefox (I use Canary)


kidding?
This is a firefox forum...

i am pretty sure you have googled for this error
https://www.google.com/search?q=ERR_CON ... ET+firefox

and read this
https://support.mozilla.org/de/questions/1056868

if you speak about chrome go straight here -> https://support.google.com/chrome/
not our business, sorry.

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123027
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted May 12th, 2018, 6:17 am

Moving to Mozillazine Tech since this is about Chrome, not Firefox

pewe
 
Posts: 223
Joined: December 31st, 2003, 7:58 am

Post Posted May 12th, 2018, 7:46 am

My apologies.

I use both browsers because neither is 100% reliable and I was getting the same problem with Firefox, but that resolved on the last but one update - this morning my brain was not in gear when I posted.

:roll: :roll: #-o #-o #-o

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3578
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted May 12th, 2018, 9:21 am

nevermind

so this issue is showing up in firefox AND chrome?
https://www.webnots.com/fix-err_connect ... le-chrome/

could also be a problem in the connection itself
https://www.en.advertisercommunity.com/ ... 3?nobounce

what i can only tel you that
https://personal.natwest.com/personal.html
LOGIN upper right leads me to
https://www.nwolb.com/default.aspx

is Edge or Internet Explorer having same issue?
Which security software is installed?

tomatoshadow2

User avatar
 
Posts: 291
Joined: May 11th, 2017, 9:52 am

Post Posted May 12th, 2018, 12:01 pm

pewe wrote:My apologies.

I use both browsers because neither is 100% reliable and I was getting the same problem with Firefox, but that resolved on the last but one update - this morning my brain was not in gear when I posted.

:roll: :roll: #-o #-o #-o


No worries, sometimes us longer forum users are put off by people asking questions using Chrome, because it shows myself that Firefox isn't important to them, but you clarified it nicely why you were using Chrome. Sometimes trolls come over here using Chrome to complain about Firefox. What version of Firefox are you using?

Soothsayer
 
Posts: 247
Joined: June 23rd, 2004, 8:24 am

Post Posted May 13th, 2018, 2:28 am

The browser console in Chrome and Firefox (press F12) should give you more details as to the failure.

However, a quick look makes me think it is because https://personal.natwest.com/personal.html uses a Symantec certificate and these are gradually being untrusted by Mozilla and Google due to irregularities with their certificate issuing process.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3578
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted May 13th, 2018, 3:24 am

uses a Symantec certificate and these are gradually being untrusted by Mozilla and Google due to irregularities with their certificate issuing process.

cert for that page is valid. otherwise i should have noticed it. if not valid -> disable ssl scanning in your antivius, same sh*t - another antvirus.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27352
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted May 13th, 2018, 3:12 pm

Soothsayer wrote:However, a quick look makes me think it is because https://personal.natwest.com/personal.html uses a Symantec certificate and these are gradually being untrusted by Mozilla and Google due to irregularities with their certificate issuing process.

For TLS certificates issued by Symantec before June 1st, 2016 then yes.

https://www.mozilla.org/firefox/60.0/releasenotes/
https://blog.mozilla.org/security/2018/03/12/distrust-symantec-tls-certificates/

Return to MozillaZine Tech


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest