MozillaZine

Anybody know why DuckDuckGo page goes blank?

Discuss various technical topics not related to Mozilla.
FrankSMS
 
Posts: 307
Joined: February 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Post Posted May 26th, 2018, 6:12 pm

Also happens in Chrome so its not a Firefox problem probably. Just wondering if you've noticed this problem. You do a search (it initially is displayed), it loads the results then flashes off and you get a blank screen. Tried clearing cache and cookies to no avail. ??? Not that it was a good search engine.....

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19166
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 27th, 2018, 5:03 am

See if disabling Hardware Acceleration (in FF) helps any?
(Or you could restart FF in Safe Mode.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38455
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted May 27th, 2018, 6:29 am

Seeing as it's also affecting the Chrome browser, this is getting moved to the Tech. forum...
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

FrankSMS
 
Posts: 307
Joined: February 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Post Posted May 27th, 2018, 8:22 am

Hardware Acceleration was already disabled but I tried changing Content Process to 1. It worked after that. I changed it to 2 and it didn't. I changed it back to 1 and its still not working. Checked with Chrome and its working. I suspected it may have something to do with my slower, older computer but I'm not running anything much right now so its not being stressed. A mystery. When I change those things in Options I'm assuming they are implemented without a restart. Hope that's true.

FrankSMS
 
Posts: 307
Joined: February 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Post Posted May 31st, 2018, 7:15 am

I started going through my Add-Ons. As soon as I disabled Adblocker Ultimate it no longer occurred.
If in doubt, check your Add-Ons first. Unless you have a lot it doesn't take long to test.

Noah Werka
 
Posts: 31
Joined: April 25th, 2012, 11:50 am

Post Posted May 31st, 2018, 7:39 am

FF started that after I updated to 60.0.1. Upon middle clicking any link for a new tab from a forum or any random website, it goes blank. Does it for DuckDuck Go too. Reload and everything is ok. Only happens in FF. Might be some kind of bug in FF, but I ain't found no consistency yet.

Noah W

Return to MozillaZine Tech


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests