MozillaZine

Slow Wi-Fi Download/Upload

Discuss various technical topics not related to Mozilla.
tommyk
 
Posts: 101
Joined: July 7th, 2005, 11:03 am

Post Posted August 6th, 2020, 6:22 am

My PC using wi-fi is very slow with downloads & uploads. My provider uses fiber optics.

I have no virus or spyware.

I did a speed test and got:

Download: 6.39
Upload: 4.25

Terrible!

I did a speed test with my tablet and got much better results:

Download: 26.25
Upload: 37.33

Any help would be appreciated!

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 12569
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted August 6th, 2020, 6:46 am

6.39 what?
26.25 what?

What is your connection, ad hoc, client or hot spot?
Are you always in the same place?
What's the weather like and did you leave your Play Station connected?
Doesn't matter what you say, it's wrong for a toaster to walk around the house and talk to you

tommyk
 
Posts: 101
Joined: July 7th, 2005, 11:03 am

Post Posted August 6th, 2020, 6:50 am

Not sure about connection. I'm using my PC from home, in the same room, the weather is sunny and mild. No other devices being used.

tommyk
 
Posts: 101
Joined: July 7th, 2005, 11:03 am

Post Posted August 6th, 2020, 12:26 pm

This is weird. My download/upload speed goes from bad to decent to good then back again.

Is it my internet provider?

Can anyone offer a suggestion or help?

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 12569
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted August 7th, 2020, 5:14 am

Without knowing your hardware, connection or wifi type it's going to be difficult.
At the same time when other people are on your wifi this can also drop the speeds.
If you wifi is not secured someone could be accessing it.
If you are using a public hot spot it could be part of the issue.
Are you in an apartment where multiple other people are using the same provider?
I could keep asking questions but without answers it will be useless.
Doesn't matter what you say, it's wrong for a toaster to walk around the house and talk to you

tommyk
 
Posts: 101
Joined: July 7th, 2005, 11:03 am

Post Posted August 7th, 2020, 6:34 am

To answer some of your questions:

We have a PC and laptop using wi-fi, nothing "hot wired", usually not being used at the same time but occasionally.

We use the PC and laptop only from our home on a back road

Not using internet from Hot Spot

Single family home

However, I called Tech Support for my provider and after talking to them for some "magical" reason my download/upload speeds are back to where they should be. They have increased dramatically ever since talking to them. Not sure if they did something on there part but PC running perfect!

Weird!

Thanks for getting back to me.

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123085
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted August 7th, 2020, 6:46 am

Moving to Mozillazine Tech

tommyk
 
Posts: 101
Joined: July 7th, 2005, 11:03 am

Post Posted August 7th, 2020, 9:56 am

I think the problem is with my internet provider which is terrible to begin with.

Now I'm running at high download/upload speeds only after talking to their tech support. What or if they did something to make my PC run better is unknown.

Is that possible that my IP can be the problem and not my PC?

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39259
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 8th, 2020, 4:47 am

Yes...of course. But they may/will not tell you exactly what it was.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

tommyk
 
Posts: 101
Joined: July 7th, 2005, 11:03 am

Post Posted August 8th, 2020, 6:39 am

Today the download/upload speed is as good as it's ever been.

I'm thinking it's my IP.

Are there any options I can do to make the speed more consistent?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123693
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted August 8th, 2020, 7:27 am

Are there any options I can do to make the speed more consistent?

If it really is an issue with your ISP your only recourse would be to find a new ISP.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39259
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 8th, 2020, 7:36 am

Hi,
Well, depending on what type of service/plan you are on...
you may be able to upgrade to a higher plan. (More speed but more $$$'s.)
Depends on the # of suppliers that are available in your area.

You said...
"My PC using wi-fi is very slow with downloads & uploads. My provider uses fiber optics."

Have you tried connecting via an ethernet cable...eg; Direct? It's always faster.

How is your fibre connected to your premises?
Direct to a box & the router/modem or by the phone lines?
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

tommyk
 
Posts: 101
Joined: July 7th, 2005, 11:03 am

Post Posted August 8th, 2020, 8:45 am

We expressly wanted wi-fi so we wouldn't have to run cable. As it is the PC is upstairs in an open loft may 20 feet away from the router.

The fiber connection is over the phone line.

The odd thing is that the speeds vary throughout the day. Shouldn't it be more consistent?

Unfortunately we only have the one option for IP which includes cable TV & phone.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39259
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 8th, 2020, 8:59 am

Can you check the speed when you connect the PC/laptop directly via ethernet cable to the router?
Speed can vary for any number of reasons.
Loading of the server, eg; number of users, what they are D/L'ing... etc...

How far away from your premises is the fibre?
(We call it the NODE. Just a large green box where all the optical fibre gets terminated/converted to the phone lines.)
In other words, how long is/are the copper phone lines?
Are they NEW or OLD? Been there for years?

As I do NOT live in the "good 'ol' U.S. of A.", I really can't help.

Wait for someone "more local" who will assist you.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 12569
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted August 8th, 2020, 9:07 am

Some wifi signals are stronger than others at times.
I might see 100% at one time of day and be at the top of the list of available connections and at other times my connection may be second or third on the list.
What is referred to as "Air gap" can affect connections especially when you have some other ISP pushing the strength of their signal.
I actually moved my router closer to my system to cut down on the interference and went from 69% to an average of 91%.
It wouldn't hurt to see if you can find the folder which shows your network connections.
If there is one which doesn't belong, delete it.
Make sure with your ISP the proper ID for your connection so you don't cut yourself off.
See if you can find your settings and copy them somewhere just in case
Doesn't matter what you say, it's wrong for a toaster to walk around the house and talk to you

Return to MozillaZine Tech


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest