MozillaZine

Slow Wi-Fi Download/Upload

Discuss various technical topics not related to Mozilla.
James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27721
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted August 8th, 2020, 2:29 pm

With a phone or tablet you could use a WIFI analyzer app to see the signal strengths and wifi channels overlaps around your residence as there are likely areas that get poor signal and speeds and other areas with good signal and speeds. If you don't want to run ethernet cords you could try powerline adapters if this is a house though this could vary depending on your house wiring.

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 44167
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted August 8th, 2020, 4:14 pm

A lot of problems are caused by poor WIFI routers usually supplied by the ISP. A simple wifi repeater may help
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

tommyk
 
Posts: 101
Joined: July 7th, 2005, 11:03 am

Post Posted August 9th, 2020, 8:56 am

LIMPET: The PC is too far away from the router besides I don't have a cable that long.

The fiber connection runs from a nearby utility pole to our house, maybe 50 feet. The "line" from the box to the router is less than 25 feet.

The phone line age is unknown, decades probably. The fiber optics were run maybe 5 years ago.

Once again speed is up and down from poor to good to excellent!

tommyk
 
Posts: 101
Joined: July 7th, 2005, 11:03 am

Post Posted August 9th, 2020, 9:00 am

Grumpus: The router is less than 20 feet away. The PC is upstairs, a loft, so it's open to the router without any floor.

Not sure about network folder.

tommyk
 
Posts: 101
Joined: July 7th, 2005, 11:03 am

Post Posted August 9th, 2020, 9:01 am

By the way, after talking to my IP tech they said they would send a new router.

Whether that makes a difference is unknown

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39259
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 9th, 2020, 9:30 am

Hi,
The new router will "most probably" fix your problem.
Possibly a much better/stronger WiFi signal.
If speeds are still fluctuating, then replace/re-new the copper phone cable?

It's a "trial & error" situation. Try replacing one item, then put that one back & try another.

(Similar to Firefox' Safe Mode.)

As a test, can you take the laptop downstairs to directly (ethernet cable) connect to the router?
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

tommyk
 
Posts: 101
Joined: July 7th, 2005, 11:03 am

Post Posted August 11th, 2020, 6:18 am

Would a wi-fi booster or extender help with inconsistent download/upload speed?

My PC is less than 20 feet from the router while the laptop is no more than 50 feet at any time.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39259
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 11th, 2020, 7:00 am

LIMPET235 wrote:Hi,
As a test, can you take the laptop downstairs to directly (ethernet cable) connect to the router?


Please try this & see if the speeds vary the same as it does on WiFi.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123693
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted August 11th, 2020, 7:18 am

tommyk wrote:Would a wi-fi booster or extender help with inconsistent download/upload speed?

My PC is less than 20 feet from the router while the laptop is no more than 50 feet at any time.

No, they can’t increase speed, could actually reduce it.

tommyk
 
Posts: 101
Joined: July 7th, 2005, 11:03 am

Post Posted August 11th, 2020, 1:25 pm

Got the new router today. Completely different than the original one. Instead of horizontal it's vertical.

Got 4 out of 5 bars for signal strength compared to 2 or 3 at most with original.

Speed is better.

Did speed test with two different websites (TDS my IP) and Ookla. Ookla showed much higher speed than TDS but both were over 40 for download and upload speeds.

Hopefully this has resolved the problem.

tommyk
 
Posts: 101
Joined: July 7th, 2005, 11:03 am

Post Posted August 14th, 2020, 6:00 am

Signal strength and speed still holding up very well since new router.

All I can think is that it must have been the old router that caused the problem.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39259
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 14th, 2020, 6:24 am

(^) Definitely a "possibility." ;)

As I mentioned, "They" will not tell you what "they" did to increase your speed." (Before the new router was sent & installed.)

Did you ever the take the laptop down stairs & connect it directly to the Router via an ethernet cable?

WiFi is always slower than ethernet cable.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

tommyk
 
Posts: 101
Joined: July 7th, 2005, 11:03 am

Post Posted August 16th, 2020, 6:38 am

Speed is still at upper levels so am happy things "seem" to be resolved.

Haven't connected laptop with ethernet. Just wanted to leave things as they are and hope speed stays high.

Any changes then I may try connecting to ethernet but for now will stay put.

Thanks all!

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123693
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted August 16th, 2020, 8:03 am

OK, but connecting via ethernet cable will have no effect at all on your wifi connection. It's just an alternative connection.

tommyk
 
Posts: 101
Joined: July 7th, 2005, 11:03 am

Post Posted August 17th, 2020, 6:50 am

Understand. I may try at some point but for now everything is running smooth.

Thanks to everyone for helping!

Return to MozillaZine Tech


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests