MozillaZine


Forum Layout

Discuss various technical topics not related to Mozilla.
TheVisitor
 
Posts: 5139
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted January 5th, 2021, 3:27 pm

Not sure when it happened but I think today, possibly after updating my video driver on Intel 630 chipset. The info on the right-side of page grew in width, there is a large blank area to the right of text in all the info boxes. Happens on Chrome/Edge/and Nightly.

Anyone see a change before I go to trouble to downgrade the driver ?

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 44213
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted January 5th, 2021, 3:37 pm

Not seeing that here
Edit: Changed zoom levels up and down still looks normal
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 4591
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted January 5th, 2021, 3:59 pm

Seeing it here in Nightly on Ubuntu 18.04 and I haven't updated any drivers lately, unless you call completely reinstalling the operating system an update.

It did install, and I am using the NVidia driver,
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 5139
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted January 5th, 2021, 4:48 pm

Thanks Maliz , Waltz... not a big deal I guess... just looks odd. Guess I will hold off rolling back the video chipset driver update.

I'm recovering from this damn thing called Covid, have no idea how or where I got it, but me and the wife both got it.. Unfortunately I have spent 9 days in the hospital, got home yesterday but am very weak and tire out easy, also on oxygen. Bleh!

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 44213
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted January 5th, 2021, 5:10 pm

At least you made it out of hospital be careful
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 5139
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted January 5th, 2021, 5:33 pm

malliz wrote:At least you made it out of hospital be careful



Thanks..

morat
 
Posts: 4199
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted January 5th, 2021, 6:24 pm

@TheVisitor

Google changed the input element styling. That's the cause for me.

ENHANCED BY Google
http://www.google.com/cse/static/images/1x/en/branding.png

The width decreases after removing the style attribute using the console.

Code: Select all
document.querySelector("#cse-search-box > div > input[style]").removeAttribute("style");

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 5139
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted January 5th, 2021, 6:28 pm

morat wrote:@TheVisitor

Google changed the input element styling. That's the cause for me.

ENHANCED BY Google
http://www.google.com/cse/static/images/1x/en/branding.png

The width decreases after removing the style attribute using the console.

Code: Select all
document.querySelector("#cse-search-box > div > input[style]").removeAttribute("style");


Thanks... that removal via console is not a permanent solution I suppose. Something we will have to live with as I doubt Google would do anything since our forum software is old at this point and not going to get any updates.

morat
 
Posts: 4199
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted January 5th, 2021, 7:23 pm

@TheVisitor

I added the code to my mozillaZine userscript. You could add a style to your userContent.css file instead.

Try something like:

Code: Select all
/* Firefox userContent.css */

@-moz-document domain("forums.mozillazine.org") {
  #cse-search-box > div > input[style] {
    border: none !important;
    padding: 2px 2px 2px 17px !important;
    height: 15px !important;
    width: 98px !important;
    background: none !important;
  }
}

http://kb.mozillazine.org/UserContent.css

Remember to set the toolkit.legacyUserProfileCustomizations.stylesheets preference to true, then restart.

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 4591
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted January 6th, 2021, 4:00 pm

FWIW, I also see the wider right forum column using SeaMonkey 2.53.5.1.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 12645
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted January 9th, 2021, 8:59 am

Maybe it's this laptop but the extra space is gone.
Do you suppose the code was modified for laptops and small screens and someone threw out the desktops with the bathwater?
Doesn't matter what you say, it's wrong for a toaster to walk around the house and talk to you

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 4591
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted January 9th, 2021, 5:05 pm

Grumpus wrote:Maybe it's this laptop but the extra space is gone.
Do you suppose the code was modified for laptops and small screens and someone threw out the desktops with the bathwater?


Extra space is also gone in my desktop Firefox Nightly on Fedora 33 and the left area is now larger.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 5139
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted January 9th, 2021, 5:59 pm

Right side still too wide here with the Google search box - today's Nightly on Win10

EDIT: just cleared cookies/site data/cache - no change.

morat
 
Posts: 4199
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted January 9th, 2021, 8:24 pm

Here is a screenshot without and with the userscript tweak.

Forum screenshot
http://imgur.com/lYtRppM

Firefox 84.0.2
Windows 7 SP1 32-bit

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 12645
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted January 11th, 2021, 12:34 pm

Appears back to normal on the desktop but it takes a while for the pages to complete very often.
In other words login is successful but the bottom 3 panels, Search, knowledge base and mozillazine community info take a while to complete.
Something which may be relative: googleusercontent IPs appear to show up in the traffic monitor when connecting on-line.
Mostly 35.x.x.x but sometimes 34.x.x.x, These IPs used to be id'd as spammers. and there's usually an indication in dnslytics.
Could be Google based ads and not so much Google metrics coming from the Google cloud system.
Doesn't matter what you say, it's wrong for a toaster to walk around the house and talk to you

Return to MozillaZine Tech


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest