MozillaZine

Flash down to a crawl

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 8693
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted May 12th, 2017, 1:54 pm

LoveMyFoxy wrote: But FF won't play Flash without the plugin
Right, I meant Flash related Extensions
#KeepFightingMichael

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am

Post Posted May 12th, 2017, 3:09 pm

Moz has dumped all the other plugins. Time to dump Flash. Does any other open-source company have so little regard for their users? (Meant rhetorically.)

Actually, about 5 years ago there was another plugin that played Flash content...sometimes.
Desktop #1-Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM/FF ESR/Latest TB/Chrome/Opera/Avira A-V/Win firewall
Desktop #2-- XP Pro SP3 32-bit, 4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall...Verizon FIOS wired network

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am

Post Posted May 18th, 2017, 10:43 pm

This has gotten worse. I'm getting double soundtracks in Youtube but only 1 picture, pic then stops, then FF locks up, can't close it in Task Manager, then the entire computer locks up. Do you think I should join the Adobe Flash forum (something like my 25th forum, sigh,) or do you think it's FF?
Desktop #1-Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM/FF ESR/Latest TB/Chrome/Opera/Avira A-V/Win firewall
Desktop #2-- XP Pro SP3 32-bit, 4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall...Verizon FIOS wired network

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37234
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted May 19th, 2017, 3:15 am

Hi LMFxy,
Which extensions are you running?
Have you read "our" KB article?
> http://kb.mozillazine.org/Unresponsive_Script_Warning
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-50.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Happy112

User avatar
 
Posts: 210
Joined: April 15th, 2017, 10:25 am
Location: Never-Never-Land

Post Posted May 19th, 2017, 4:49 am

Hi LoveMyFoxy,

This must be so frustrating for you !
Did you ever get a chance to check out the link I gave you in my first post :

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/warning-unresponsive-script

Joining 25 forums ? Wouldn't you rather narrow that down to this forum (MozillaZine) and then maybe Mozilla's support forum :

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/get-community-support

I sure hope you will get this problem solved soon - fingers crossed, and : Good Luck !

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17118
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 19th, 2017, 9:40 am

I'm getting double soundtracks in Youtube but only 1 picture, pic then stops, then FF locks up, can't close it in Task Manager, then the entire computer locks up. Do you think I should join the Adobe Flash forum (something like my 25th forum, sigh,) or do you think it's FF?

By default, Flash should not even be used at Youtube.
So if you are in fact using Flash at Youtube, you did something to force its use.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am

Post Posted May 19th, 2017, 1:18 pm

Happy112 wrote:Hi LoveMyFoxy,

This must be so frustrating for you !
Did you ever get a chance to check out the link I gave you in my first post :

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/warning-unresponsive-script

Joining 25 forums ? Wouldn't you rather narrow that down to this forum (MozillaZine) and then maybe Mozilla's support forum :

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/get-community-support

I sure hope you will get this problem solved soon - fingers crossed, and : Good Luck !



Yes, I checked out the KB article.

The 25 forums are not for Mozilla, but for other software, electronics, home repair, etc. Wherever I have a problem area, I join a forum to get answers.
Desktop #1-Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM/FF ESR/Latest TB/Chrome/Opera/Avira A-V/Win firewall
Desktop #2-- XP Pro SP3 32-bit, 4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall...Verizon FIOS wired network

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 8693
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted May 19th, 2017, 1:22 pm

Hmm, (with Flash installed) did you ever create a New Test Profile with no Extensions added?
#KeepFightingMichael

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am

Post Posted May 19th, 2017, 2:14 pm

therube wrote:
I'm getting double soundtracks in Youtube but only 1 picture, pic then stops, then FF locks up, can't close it in Task Manager, then the entire computer locks up. Do you think I should join the Adobe Flash forum (something like my 25th forum, sigh,) or do you think it's FF?

By default, Flash should not even be used at Youtube.
So if you are in fact using Flash at Youtube, you did something to force its use.


When I moved my profile from XP to my new Win7 computer recently, I found that with my YT All HTML5 extension, I was getting sound but no picture. It's still happening. Temporarily I switched Flash back on, forgot about it, and then remembered, when Flash started acting crazy


OK, I'm in Safe-Mode now. Flash videos play with no add-ons except the plugin H264Video Codec by Cisco.
The game I'm using for testing--the page is there, and the name of the game, but the page is full of ads and links to a sleazy game site. (I guess this is what FF will look like after v. 56.).

I've forgotten how to list my extensions, but I can start testing by elimination.
Desktop #1-Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM/FF ESR/Latest TB/Chrome/Opera/Avira A-V/Win firewall
Desktop #2-- XP Pro SP3 32-bit, 4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall...Verizon FIOS wired network

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am

Post Posted May 19th, 2017, 2:18 pm

This might both interest and horrify all of you. On the Safe-Mode page in Moz's KB, the first thing they tell you to try, before testing extensions, is to refresh. Could be why we see so many refreshments (pardon the pun) in the forum. It reminds me of the time in the 90's, when, if you called MS for help, they told you first to restore your puter back to factory settings.
Desktop #1-Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM/FF ESR/Latest TB/Chrome/Opera/Avira A-V/Win firewall
Desktop #2-- XP Pro SP3 32-bit, 4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall...Verizon FIOS wired network

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am

Post Posted May 19th, 2017, 2:28 pm

The most important thing for me is that videos play on my pages for work, but I can't test them until one comes along.
Desktop #1-Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM/FF ESR/Latest TB/Chrome/Opera/Avira A-V/Win firewall
Desktop #2-- XP Pro SP3 32-bit, 4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall...Verizon FIOS wired network

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am

Post Posted May 19th, 2017, 3:54 pm

Youtube problem solved. See above.

OK, tested my add-ons by elimination. Flash problem on other sites caused by neither an extension, nor a plug-in.
Can't see test here: https://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/about/
Desktop #1-Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM/FF ESR/Latest TB/Chrome/Opera/Avira A-V/Win firewall
Desktop #2-- XP Pro SP3 32-bit, 4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall...Verizon FIOS wired network

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 21981
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted May 19th, 2017, 7:03 pm

I'm not going to read this whole topic... but I've 'always' removed all Flash using their tool... then I got my Flash from here... just saying...

See the 1. Download the uninstaller for Flash Player ... I just keep it laying around...
https://helpx.adobe.com/flash-player/kb ... ninstaller

I get Flash from the bottom of this link...
https://helpx.adobe.com/flash-player/kb ... ndows.html
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17118
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 19th, 2017, 8:10 pm

(I'm confused, a bit... Anyhow...)

Safe Mode does not disable Flash.
Safe Mode will disable an extension that may be forcing Flash (say, on Youtube).
Safe Mode would not revert Preference settings that may disable certain types of video playback (say HTML5), in which case certain sites (say, on Youtube) in not finding said playback method available (say HTML5) might revert to some other method of displaying media (videos), like with Flash.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am

Post Posted May 19th, 2017, 10:22 pm

mightyglydd wrote:Hmm, (with Flash installed) did you ever create a New Test Profile with no Extensions added?


Just now. Doesn't help.
Desktop #1-Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM/FF ESR/Latest TB/Chrome/Opera/Avira A-V/Win firewall
Desktop #2-- XP Pro SP3 32-bit, 4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall...Verizon FIOS wired network

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: therube and 19 guests